Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Subscribe and Save Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars53
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 DownloadChange
Price:£7.89
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 November 2010
Listening to the anger tinged nonchalance of Terry Hall's unique voice transports me back to a time of deep dissatisfaction, unrest and uncertainity. It also evokes memories of youthful rebellion and the sense of outrage at what the future held for a young working class Northen lad. The Specials, more than any of the other SKA/Two Tone bands of the time, signified far more than a mere revival in Mod fashion and music and, unlike a number of their milder mannered contemporaries, their appeal crossed the boundaries of the rigid teenage-tribal loyalties that populated Thatchers 80's . Punks, Skins, Soul Boys and New Romantics could all find something within their sound that resonated.Everybody loved the Specials.They took a firm Anti Racist and Political stance and spoke directly to, and clearly for, the marginalised and disenfranchised of all our communities. The kick from the brilliant sound that resulted from the fusion of white working class poetry and pumping ska has not diminished in the years that have passed since the Specials ripped a hole for themselves in the fabric of 80's music with their landmark eponymous 1979 breakthrough album. Its no surprise, given these days of austerity and unrest, that the band (sadly minus the estranged founder member and main songwriter Jerry Dammers) are in a period of resurgence.

The music is as raw,relevant and rebel rousing now as it was back in the early 80's and I would urge anyone, who may have maybe caught a recent sight and sound of the Specials but wants to find out more, to start right here with this classy collection. Five Stars.
0Comment11 of 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 15 April 2008
The Specials (or The Special AKA as they were known occasionally) were arguably the most influential band of the late 70s/early 80s. Formed in 1977, two years prior to Thatcher's government, it was the bands ability to mix diverse musical styles (ska, punk, reggae, rockabilly) and turn them into something immesely enjoyable which endeared them to their legions of fans, couple this together with a message of racial harmony and anti-establishment sentiments and you are just scraping the surface of the power this band had.
The Specials were the brainchild of Jerry Dammers, who formed his own record label and managed to recruit other, like minded bands (such as Madness, The Beat, The Bodysnatchers, The Selecter) with a view to forming a 'collective' of musicians, all with something to say to the youth of Thatcher's Britain. Hence, 'Two Tone' was born.
This album puts together the obligatory singles and tracks from the first three Specials albums (Specials, More Specials and In The Studio) together with a DVD of videos for singles and footage of live performances. If, like me, you are an avid fan then this is only worth buying for the (as far as I am aware) otherwise unavailable DVD as I have all the other tracks on the digitally remastered albums, but for this price the DVD on it's own is a bargain.
If you are interested in The Specials and want to grab a cross section of their work then this is a great starting point and it does contain a number of album tracks which deserve to be heard (e.g. Nite Klub, Blank Expression, Stereotypes etc.)
All in all a fantastic cross section of The Specials' work and a great way to brush up before the hugely anticipated tour in the autumn of 2008 with all the original band members(fingers crossed that it goes ahead).
Buy It!
22 comments39 of 41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2008
Comprising an excellent greatest hits collection with a dvd of live performances and promo videos, this compilation is essential. Unless you're a big fan or completist this package contains everything you could want from The Specials' enduring legacy. Much of their music still sounds vital and contemporary. Along with The Beat's recent 2 cd compilation, You Just Can't Beat It (and maybe The Selecter's greatest hits), you have a capsule history of the late 70s/early 80s ska revival. Recommended.
22 comments7 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2015
The Specials, also known as The Special AKA, are an English 2 Tone and ska revival band formed in 1977 in Coventry.[1] Their music combines a "danceable ska and rocksteady beat with punk's energy and attitude", and had a "more focused and informed political and social stance" than other ska groups. The band wore mod-style "1960s period rude boy outfits (pork pie hats, tonic and mohair suits, and loafers)."[2] In 1980, the song "Too Much Too Young", the lead track on their The Special AKA Live! EP, reached number one in the UK.[3] In 1981, the unemployment-themed single "Ghost Town" also hit number one in the UK Singles Chart.[1]

After seven consecutive UK Top 10 singles between 1979 and 1981, several members of the group abruptly left to form the Fun Boy Three.[1] Continuing on as "The Special AKA" (a name they used frequently on earlier Specials releases), a substantially revised Specials line-up issued new material through 1984, including the top 10 UK hit single "Free Nelson Mandela". Afterwards, founder and songwriter Jerry Dammers dissolved the band and pursued political activism.[4]
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2015
I first saw The Specials singing this in The General Wolfe in Coventry, and I last saw The Specials at The Ricoh Stadium in Coventry and The Specials are as good today as they were in 1979. This song is a classic - and is much about Coventry today as it was back in 1979, update you Specials music and save your Vinyl 12" for best! By : 2 Tone Terry
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2013
Bought it when I realised my vinyl 'Specials' had disappeared some time in the last 10 years! Really pleased with it and the extra DVD was a real bonus. I would have put 'You're Wondering Now' on it instead of one of the Special AKA tracks, but that's just me being picky. Money well-spent!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2009
The Specials are one of those bands that I didn't appreciate at the time. Some of these songs were recorded 30 years ago but they sound as good now as they ever did. As with a lot of best of collections, there are a few lame tracks on here, but it is still worth buying for classics like 'Gangsters', 'Man at C&A', 'Do Nothing', 'Ghost Town' and 'Friday Night/Saturday Morning'. For those of us old enough to remember the late 70s and early 80s, these tracks really evoke those times. The mix of guitars with brass and organ gives a sound that is distinctively that of The Specials.
0Comment2 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2013
Who could ask for more? I was looking for a CD to replace my old records & this has great variety & a DVD. As I live in Australia I wasnt exposed to clips of the ska era so this is just awesome for me
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2012
A great reminder of years gone by, so much of what was created at that time remains relevant today. An excellent trip down memory lane and thoroughly recommended to all - young and old!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2013
Cant say anymore than its The Specials....music of my youth, the time of my life....still stands up today. If you dont like The Specials maybe need see a doctor?
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.