Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The sounds of Thatchers Britain still resonates
Listening to the anger tinged nonchalance of Terry Hall's unique voice transports me back to a time of deep dissatisfaction, unrest and uncertainity. It also evokes memories of youthful rebellion and the sense of outrage at what the future held for a young working class Northen lad. The Specials, more than any of the other SKA/Two Tone bands of the time, signified far...
Published on 25 Nov 2010 by Brian

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The special bits are really special
The Specials are one of those bands that I didn't appreciate at the time. Some of these songs were recorded 30 years ago but they sound as good now as they ever did. As with a lot of best of collections, there are a few lame tracks on here, but it is still worth buying for classics like 'Gangsters', 'Man at C&A', 'Do Nothing', 'Ghost Town' and 'Friday Night/Saturday...
Published on 13 Aug 2009 by E. A. Banks


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The sounds of Thatchers Britain still resonates, 25 Nov 2010
Listening to the anger tinged nonchalance of Terry Hall's unique voice transports me back to a time of deep dissatisfaction, unrest and uncertainity. It also evokes memories of youthful rebellion and the sense of outrage at what the future held for a young working class Northen lad. The Specials, more than any of the other SKA/Two Tone bands of the time, signified far more than a mere revival in Mod fashion and music and, unlike a number of their milder mannered contemporaries, their appeal crossed the boundaries of the rigid teenage-tribal loyalties that populated Thatchers 80's . Punks, Skins, Soul Boys and New Romantics could all find something within their sound that resonated.Everybody loved the Specials.They took a firm Anti Racist and Political stance and spoke directly to, and clearly for, the marginalised and disenfranchised of all our communities. The kick from the brilliant sound that resulted from the fusion of white working class poetry and pumping ska has not diminished in the years that have passed since the Specials ripped a hole for themselves in the fabric of 80's music with their landmark eponymous 1979 breakthrough album. Its no surprise, given these days of austerity and unrest, that the band (sadly minus the estranged founder member and main songwriter Jerry Dammers) are in a period of resurgence.

The music is as raw,relevant and rebel rousing now as it was back in the early 80's and I would urge anyone, who may have maybe caught a recent sight and sound of the Specials but wants to find out more, to start right here with this classy collection. Five Stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Listening, 15 April 2008
By 
Jimbo "Jimbo L" (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
The Specials (or The Special AKA as they were known occasionally) were arguably the most influential band of the late 70s/early 80s. Formed in 1977, two years prior to Thatcher's government, it was the bands ability to mix diverse musical styles (ska, punk, reggae, rockabilly) and turn them into something immesely enjoyable which endeared them to their legions of fans, couple this together with a message of racial harmony and anti-establishment sentiments and you are just scraping the surface of the power this band had.
The Specials were the brainchild of Jerry Dammers, who formed his own record label and managed to recruit other, like minded bands (such as Madness, The Beat, The Bodysnatchers, The Selecter) with a view to forming a 'collective' of musicians, all with something to say to the youth of Thatcher's Britain. Hence, 'Two Tone' was born.
This album puts together the obligatory singles and tracks from the first three Specials albums (Specials, More Specials and In The Studio) together with a DVD of videos for singles and footage of live performances. If, like me, you are an avid fan then this is only worth buying for the (as far as I am aware) otherwise unavailable DVD as I have all the other tracks on the digitally remastered albums, but for this price the DVD on it's own is a bargain.
If you are interested in The Specials and want to grab a cross section of their work then this is a great starting point and it does contain a number of album tracks which deserve to be heard (e.g. Nite Klub, Blank Expression, Stereotypes etc.)
All in all a fantastic cross section of The Specials' work and a great way to brush up before the hugely anticipated tour in the autumn of 2008 with all the original band members(fingers crossed that it goes ahead).
Buy It!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Compilation, 13 Jun 2008
By 
Comprising an excellent greatest hits collection with a dvd of live performances and promo videos, this compilation is essential. Unless you're a big fan or completist this package contains everything you could want from The Specials' enduring legacy. Much of their music still sounds vital and contemporary. Along with The Beat's recent 2 cd compilation, You Just Can't Beat It (and maybe The Selecter's greatest hits), you have a capsule history of the late 70s/early 80s ska revival. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sooper cd, 6 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good CD.
It comes with a DVD, which I did not know about..
Bonus.
Thanks for sorting out @ quick supply
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars & a bonus DVD, 20 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Who could ask for more? I was looking for a CD to replace my old records & this has great variety & a DVD. As I live in Australia I wasnt exposed to clips of the ska era so this is just awesome for me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says, 25 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought it when I realised my vinyl 'Specials' had disappeared some time in the last 10 years! Really pleased with it and the extra DVD was a real bonus. I would have put 'You're Wondering Now' on it instead of one of the Special AKA tracks, but that's just me being picky. Money well-spent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 30 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have loved The Specials for many years...probably 30+. Ha! Ha! The album is permanently in my car. A good CD to drive to work to, and back from.,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 13 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very pleased with the purchase, delivery, and product. All round great and I would recommend this product to others. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars special, 4 Mar 2013
By 
C. Ives "Chives" (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of The Specials (MP3 Download)
great compilation with all the hits. Good sound quality. blooming good value for money at the price, costs less than getting 4 singles
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Back in time, 27 Feb 2013
This review is from: The Best Of The Specials (MP3 Download)
Just like I remember, I heard a song on the radio and just had to buy the album. Makes you really feel old ha ha, but be warned your be dancing around the room.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Best Of The Specials
The Best Of The Specials by The Specials
Buy MP3 Album£4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews