Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tina Turner - Simply The Best
Simply The Best Of Tina Turner... and it is just that. Because although it contains many of the best hits, it omits many loved and essential songs, but it picks the best, intertwines it with the new and is almost full as it contain 18 tracks. So we get some of the very early, to the very latest new songs for the compilation.
The cover has an iconic image of Tina, the...
Published on 29 Feb 2008 by F. Hearn

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Cd arrived on time however after playing this it was ...
Cd arrived on time however after playing this it was jumping and there was lots of scratches on the cd.
Published 18 days ago by Jodie Selves


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tina Turner - Simply The Best, 29 Feb 2008
By 
F. Hearn "Frannii" (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Simply The Best (Audio CD)
Simply The Best Of Tina Turner... and it is just that. Because although it contains many of the best hits, it omits many loved and essential songs, but it picks the best, intertwines it with the new and is almost full as it contain 18 tracks. So we get some of the very early, to the very latest new songs for the compilation.
The cover has an iconic image of Tina, the booklet has a few nice photos and the back page features a four album Discography. The songs themselves are great, although the 90's Version of `Nutbush City Limits' is questionable, definitely not a patch on the original or the 1993 Soundtrack Version which is on a par with the original. It brings together a few songs previously not available on any Tina albums such as `It Takes Two' A Duet With Rod Stewart, We Don't Need Another Hero' from the Mad Max Soundtrack and the Classic `River Deep, Mountain High' which has never appeared on any Tina Solo record. In addition as I previously mentioned we get three new tracks for the album, which are really great songs, that compliment the older material. However some people feel disappointed that 'One Of The Living' from the Mad Max Soundtrack does not appear here. A Nice Package, good for casual listeners and a must for fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Best of Queen Tina's Second Reign, 7 Aug 2012
By 
Nicholas Casley (Plymouth, Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Simply The Best (Audio CD)
This seventy-five minute collection includes many of her best songs from the 1980s. Using different producers - Dan Hartman, Terry Britten, Heaven 17, & Rupert Hine among them - produced refreshingly different styles.

But the CD almost completely ignores her first golden period. Admittedly there is the Phil Spector-produced `River Deep-Mountain High', but the sound quality is not brilliant, despite it supposedly being remastered. (The sound quality of the rest of the CD is excellent.) But there are none of the Ike & Tina Turner songs from the 1960s nor any of her covers of songs written by members of the Rolling Stones, the Who, or Led Zeppelin. And, alas, we only get the 1990s dull version of `Nutbush City Limits'.

The final tracks on this set are - or, rather, were - new on its release. Unfortunately, they are disappointing compared to the big hits that went before, and so the album ends making a mockery of the CD's title.

The live version of `Addicted to Love' is excellent, but the duet `It Takes Two' with Rod Stewart is bland and overproduced.

Overall, then, a decent set highlighting Turner's dramatic and singing abilities; (in another age she would have made an excellent opera singer.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'MANY OF THE 'LADY'S' BEST KNOWN RECORDINGS ON-BOARD', 11 Jun 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Simply The Best (Audio CD)
Born 'Anna Mae Bullock' back in 39' starting her music career in the mid-fifties as a singer
with the 'Ike Turners Kings of Rhythm' group, in 1960 introducing herself to the World as
'Tina Turner' singing in the 'Ike and Tina Turner Revue' during the sixties of course the
Hits started coming with songs such as - 'River Deep Mountain High' -'Proud Mary' and
'Nutbush City Limit's' ( The first and third of which are featured 'solo' on this album.
As we know after many troubled years she and 'Ike' divorced, 'Tina' then concentrating on
establishing a Solo career., her first Solo effort Charting at number '6' (U.K) late 83' she
was now on her way, though she never actually had a U.K number One she did achieve
a long list of Hits including around Ten Top-Ten successes including songs such as --
'What's Love Got To Do With It' (Chart '3' 1984) 'We Don't Need Another Hero' from the
film 'Thunderdome' (Chart '3' 1986) 'The Best' (Chart '5' 1989 and again '9' 2010)
'I Don't Wanna Lose You' (Chart '8' 1989) and 'It Takes Two' sung with 'Rod Stewart'
(Chart '5' 1990)
I have listed her Top Ten successes that appear on this album, she did have a couple more,
of course she had many other 'lower-order' Hits, surprisingly her number 'Private Dancer' also
on-board only Charted at number '26' back in '84'
There are several worthy cover versions of famous numbers included within the 18 - Track
album, of course among the numbers not included are well known Hits such as 'I Don't Wanna
Fight' and 'Goldeneye' both Top Ten entries for Tina.
This a great reflection of 'Tina's' Solo career......of course many will remember her scantily dressed
stage performances during the 80's and 90's.
All in All certainly one of the Great Entertainers of our time, her music, definitely 'Collectable'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tina at her Best, 5 Dec 2005
This review is from: Simply The Best (Audio CD)
Quite simply the Best solo Tina Turner collection ever.All of her hits from the 80's plus some.
If you're a fan of Tina during her period with Ike, though, you might want to look for another.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Title Says It All!, 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Simply The Best (Audio CD)
I have followed and admired the works of Tina Turner since I was a child, and her works NEVER get old. Here, the compilation is of some of her best work - some with Ike and the Ikettes - but more when she was an artist on her own. There are some songs not included that I wish were - Acid Queen from 'Tommy,' Under My Thumb and Let's Spend the Night Together (in her homage to the Rolling Stones). After hearing the album, you somehow wish she were still singing, but now - after 50 years on the stage - you can still enjoy Tina at her best...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vintage, 7 Oct 2011
By 
Paulo MS (Worcester, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Simply The Best (Audio CD)
This is a great album - Tina at her best. Full of energy - a real memory tripper! Recommended to old and new fans alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's Tina..., 28 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Simply The Best (MP3 Download)
...what more needs to be said. Great collection. Get it and sing along. Somehow this reminds me of my mum and dad in the living room at new years eve...my dad impersonating Tina's dancing...wicked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent quality of delivery and sound, 6 Feb 2012
This review is from: Simply The Best (Audio CD)
Quick to recieve, perfect quality and sound is amazing. you will not be disapointed with this album whether you are old or young
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely the best, 16 Mar 2012
By 
Mrs. L. J. Gray (Hertfordshire, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Simply The Best (Audio CD)
Great album, Tina at her beat just like the title says. Must have CD even if it's the only Tina Turner album you buy.Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing album 5*, 7 Jan 2012
By 
This review is from: Simply The Best (Audio CD)
Brilliant songs, and loads of them. Reminds me of when I was little having this CD (well, cassette!) playing in the car!! Love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Simply The Best
Simply The Best by Tina Turner
Buy MP3 Album£4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews