Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Rock Guitar Standard Setter
Robin Trower took a lot of stick in the 70s as a so called Hendix clone - I even remember getting a dozy letter published in the hallowed(?) Melody Maker in 1975, fighting his corner, bless - but he was always much better than that. After a 40 year plus career - he first made his mark with Procol Harum - this album remains his high water mark. Blasting off with Day of the...
Published on 8 Jan 2011 by Dash Riprock

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars CD to replace Vinyl
Some good tracks.
Had it on vinyl and liked it enough to repalce it with a CD eventually (after about ten years).
Published 17 months ago by n mills


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Rock Guitar Standard Setter, 8 Jan 2011
By 
This review is from: Bridge of Sighs (Audio CD)
Robin Trower took a lot of stick in the 70s as a so called Hendix clone - I even remember getting a dozy letter published in the hallowed(?) Melody Maker in 1975, fighting his corner, bless - but he was always much better than that. After a 40 year plus career - he first made his mark with Procol Harum - this album remains his high water mark. Blasting off with Day of the Eagle (still a staple he plays in his live sets to this day), it moves through the moody title track to the wistful In This Place, where RT duels with bassist Jim Dewar's outstanding bluesy vocals (what an underrated and classy singer he was). Too Rolling Stoned (another perennial live classic) is the worthy centrepiece of the album, leading into a sensational finish with Lady Love (melodic, almost singles material, perish the thought!) and Little Bit of Sympathy, a suitably raucous album closer. Trower's fretwork is about feel, not flash, and his solos are from the heart. There's no risk in buying this one - and make sure you catch him live whilst you can. Essential listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Trower expanded, 5 Oct 2007
By 
A. Rickett (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bridge of Sighs (Audio CD)
Bridge of Sighs is probably Robin Trower's most consistent album originally released in '74. Blues, funk and a heavy Hendrix influence featuring James Dewars rich vocals. The bonus tracks are from BBC sessions from John Peel and have livened the studio versions from this album and the later release For Earth Below. Well worth updating previous CD releases and a good place to start for the uninitiated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quintessential rock/blues guitar pyrotechnics., 24 May 2009
By 
Alan Garwood (Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bridge of Sighs (Audio CD)
This album is a classic. Trower's keening and exhuberant guitar work defines the proceedings. There are powerful vocals and relentless driving bass and drums. Stand out track is Too Rolling Stoned". The opening section is full tilt raunch with big skirling chords. This segues into a long blues-drenched closing sequence dominated by field holler guitar phrases. All of the remaining tracks motor along to good effect with some great rock playing. This release is augmented by an interesting selection of recordings made for the John Peel radio show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great throughout, 11 Mar 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bridge of Sighs (Audio CD)
Not only a great album thats consistantly good but even the bonus tracks (which are often fairly duff) are excellent.
Really tastefull chilled bluesy stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lesser known rock/blues classic!, 23 Sep 2001
By A Customer
for those of you who love the rock/blues genre but have not yet discovered the criminally under-rated robin trower,buy this classic record asap!! day of the eagle kicks off at a frantic pace dragging the listener straight in to the album,the songs cleverly arranged,slower tempo ending leads superbly into the atmospheric title track and in this place.the fool and me is a real romp and is followed by the 'jam like'maybe slightly bloated too rolling stoned.the classy/ethereal about to begin brings the best out of james dewars vocals.lady love is a real toe tapper with a simple but addictive riff,and the album is brought to a superb close with the quite brilliant little bit of sympathy.throughout the album,trowers guitar work matches anything done by messrs clapton,page,hendrix and is worthy of much wider acclaim.overall a MUST buy!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The grasshopper becomes, The master., 27 Mar 2007
By 
G. G. Saunders "Rock Dr." (West Sussex .UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
What an album this turned out to be. young Robin leaves Procul Harum and with a suitcase full of dreams and his trusty `strat` forms a band named after himself. This the second album is so far removed from his time with the Proculs you`d never believe its the same guy. Let loose with his own ideas ,the band record a amazing Blues rock masterpiece! brooding ,rockin, chuggin,driftin,loud and quiet. Its all here a master guitarist in total control.. check out the live section as the bonus. wonderous!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb recording, superb pressing, 14 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This album shows exactly what can be done with old master tapes and commitment. Clarity, depth, low noise, a quality pressing, and to top it off the music itself is superbly played by a guitarist and band at the top of their respective games. Vinyl is indeed reborn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Album but needs EQ Corrections, 20 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bridge of Sighs (Audio CD)
I bought this album in 1974 when it came out and always loved it so I thought I'd buy the CD version. I'm enjoying all the magic, urgency and panache all over again. Great stuff. Unfortunately the bottom end isn't there! Overall the sound is limp. So I imported the tracks into Sonar X2, added a chunk of bottom and, a tad of mids and all is now well. Re-burned a CD of this. I can now hear the kick drum! So: highly recommended if you haven't heard it before but beware, whoever engineered it for release on CD did a very bad job in my opinion. Contact me if you want a copy of the corrected 'oomph' version!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterclass in guitar playing, 12 Oct 2011
This review is from: Bridge of Sighs (Audio CD)
I heard this album when it first came out and never bought it! I have now downloaded the MP3 version and will never tire of Robin Trower`s superb guitar playing. I loved Hendrix and this man just seemed to take a version of Hendrix a stage further. His songs are melodic, not too brash and easy to listen to. I shall be adding to my collection most of his other albums as this is one sound I can`t get enough of! This album in particular does not have one bad track on it in my opinion and I can`t resist playing it over and over again. This was and is true musicianship taking control. Excellent album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bridge Of Sighs, 6 Oct 2009
This review is from: Bridge of Sighs (Audio CD)
Well worth the money and wait. Really pleased could still get it. I feel it's the best album Robin Trower Band ever did. Unfortunately not able to buy Trower of Power anywhere. This was on vinyl. Really pleased with speed of delivery and purchase shop. 10 out of 10 honest x Jess
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bridge Of Sighs
Bridge Of Sighs by Robin Trower
Buy MP3 Album3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews