Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Lovely Surprise
First off all, let's get the past out of the way. This is no I Should Coco..if you are looking to the past for an idea of the sound, you can't go far wrong with Moving and Late In The Day. The album sees Supergrass in a far more adult view of life, with songs taking on a more evolved feel. The opening track Tales Of Endurance (Parts 4,5 & 6) has an almost Beatles White...
Published on 21 Sept. 2005 by Ms. Tze-ching Ong

versus
7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 5 albums, 11 years in & the grass are young and free no more
It had to happen sometime. Right from the moment their era-defining debut broke loose in '95, it was crystal clear these boys had soaked up the influences of many a heavy duty rock 'name' of the '60's and '70's. Latter day Beatles; Deep Purple; Zeppelin; Hendrix, they can always be traced somewhere in the Supergrass sound. And every one of those acts, at some stage,...
Published on 1 Sept. 2005 by Danny Neill


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Soft but nice, 1 May 2006
By 
Paul Gosden (Derbyshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Road To Rouen (Audio CD)
Someone lent me this and I liked it so much I bought it. There's a lot of this kind of soft indie stuff around but this is the best example I've ever heard ; beautifully played and produced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 19 July 2011
By 
Mr. G. Baker - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Road To Rouen (Audio CD)
I think this is a fantastic album and well worth a purchase. The styles change throughout the album and the last two tracks are superb. Give it a go
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Class Act, 22 Aug. 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Road To Rouen (Audio CD)
There is no doubting the quality of Supergrass and they have slowly evolved over the course of the previous four albums. Just how far they have come since "I Should Coco" is now apparent with their fifth release, "Road To Rouen".

I find this album still typically Supergrass in many ways, they have an unmistakeable sound, but it is also quite different to their early material. The first three tracks are excellent but then the rest of the album is almost in danger of tailing off into mediocrity, but is saved by the superb production and the fact that although Supergrass have a lot of influences apparent in their music, they still manage to sound very original. Overall, I think this is a decent offering,but I fear that they may have just passed their best which would be a great pity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fave Music, 7 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Road To Rouen (Audio CD)
I purchased this cd as part of my son's Christmas present for which he seemed very pleased. AS it's not particularly my kind of music I can't say much more than that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great but too thin!, 13 Aug. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Road To Rouen (Audio CD)
I love this album. All the songs (except coffee in the pot which feels slightly pointless) are all exceptional. The only problem i have with it is the quantity. 9 songs really isn't a great effort especially when one of them is barely a minute long!! they might as well have called it an EP!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good., 1 April 2007
This review is from: Road To Rouen (Audio CD)
In short, this not the album that will win them awards like "I Should Coco", but that does'nt matter one bit, because if your a fan of "Supergrass" you'll love it (as long as you don't expect your favourite band to play the same jumpy tunes all the time) and if your a somewhat casual fan, you'll love it too.

Can't wait for the next one, out soon? - looks like it 2007 without a doubt - now theres a band who cares about how long their fans have to wait!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars road to ruined, 2 Sept. 2006
This review is from: Road To Rouen (Audio CD)
having read the other reviews i decided to give it a go and order said cd. having listened to it a few times over now it will have to be designated to the oh dear made a mistake cupboard! very different to the previous albums which is not always a bad thing but this just doesant get going and just sort of drifts along in the back ground with out grabbing your attention !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Big Disappointment, 15 Aug. 2005
This review is from: Road To Rouen (Audio CD)
I love Supergrass. And I'm not just talking about the early stuff. Alright is alright, but there are some truly stunning tracks on the two albums prior to Road to Rouen. Eon and Faraway are amongst my favourites, so when I heard this new album was more 'grown-up', I couldn't wait to hear it.
Unfortunately it's a big disappointment. St Petersberg is a fine track, as is Roxy (by far the best song on the album), but the dire title track sounds like a Yes b side played by Level 42, Coffee in the Pot is pure filler and would usually be found as track 3 on a CD single.
Tales of Endurance starts promisingly, but never really gets going while the last three tracks shuffle off into ignominity and before you know it the album is finished.
I hope the same can't be said of Supergrass - they have produced some brilliant music, and I hope they will again. Perhaps the fact that this album is only 30 minutes long and took 2 years to make lends weight to the suspicion that the band are having trouble putting good songs together. Whatever the problem is, I'm sure they'll sort it out and fans will look back on this album as the one turkey any great band can be forgiven..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not sure..............., 18 Aug. 2005
This review is from: Road To Rouen (Audio CD)
bearing in mind ive only heard the album once.......im a HUGE supergrass fan but i must say im a little dissapointed with it...especially as i havn't read a bad review yet! I think it may grow on me, but never as a 'supergrass album'......i would take it to work with me and listen to it while i work and stuff but im afaid i would be picking the other albums to play first.....i know they wanted to "grow up" but im not too sure about this. I DONT want another 'alright' or 'pumping on your stereo' either but songs like 'caught by the fuzz', 'going out' 'richard III' 'in it for the money' 'late in the day' 'seen the light'.....to name but a few are just class songs and i really dont see many/any songs of this calibre on this album....i also feel it sounds a little over produced at times and i hear far too many influences on there work at times also......im just a little dissapointed because i love supergrass because of the 'supergrass sound' and this album just doesnt have it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Older, and mature, 20 Sept. 2005
By 
FR "F!" (Roma, Italy) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Road To Rouen (Audio CD)
I love this album. I'm quite a fan of Supegrass, I didn't like ANYTHING from them, but I think this one contains fantastic songs. It deserves a big success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Road To Rouen
Road To Rouen by Supergrass
Buy MP3 Album£4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews