Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Lovely Surprise
First off all, let's get the past out of the way. This is no I Should Coco..if you are looking to the past for an idea of the sound, you can't go far wrong with Moving and Late In The Day. The album sees Supergrass in a far more adult view of life, with songs taking on a more evolved feel. The opening track Tales Of Endurance (Parts 4,5 & 6) has an almost Beatles White...
Published on 21 Sept. 2005 by Ms. Tze-ching Ong

versus
7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 5 albums, 11 years in & the grass are young and free no more
It had to happen sometime. Right from the moment their era-defining debut broke loose in '95, it was crystal clear these boys had soaked up the influences of many a heavy duty rock 'name' of the '60's and '70's. Latter day Beatles; Deep Purple; Zeppelin; Hendrix, they can always be traced somewhere in the Supergrass sound. And every one of those acts, at some stage,...
Published on 1 Sept. 2005 by Danny Neill


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Lovely Surprise, 21 Sept. 2005
By 
This review is from: Road To Rouen (Audio CD)
First off all, let's get the past out of the way. This is no I Should Coco..if you are looking to the past for an idea of the sound, you can't go far wrong with Moving and Late In The Day. The album sees Supergrass in a far more adult view of life, with songs taking on a more evolved feel. The opening track Tales Of Endurance (Parts 4,5 & 6) has an almost Beatles White album feel, with the group going from one style to another all within one track. The first single St Petersburg was again an interesting choice of single, as it clearly represents the feel of the album, but lacks that instant feel that commercial radio craves. The key tracks after this are Roxy and Road To Rouen (which cranks up the album briefly). Don't get me wrong, I like this album alot..it's just if you want the short punchy singles of the past, then this won't be for you. If you want a complete album, then don't think twice...by this album...you will enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Different Slant, Same Quality and Craft, 22 Aug. 2005
This review is from: Road To Rouen (Audio CD)
You can never judge an album from one listen, and I purposefully wanted to give 'Road to Rouen' that little longer to exact its influence given all the advanced comments about it being Supergrass 'in different packaging'. First and foremost, this is a wonderfully executed album, its melody simply roars out from the first chord and finishes tenderly with the excellent 'Fin'.
Its certainly not what we have come to expect from the 'Grass' but then, is that necessarily a bad thing? 'Don't Believe the Truth' is a vast improvement on recent fayre for Oasis, but it still seems to be pleading for the quality of yesteryear and 'Definitely Maybe'. The same can be said for X&Y, which plays far too safe in the light of 'Rush of Blood to the Head'. This is where the four lads from Oxford gain real credit. They are not afraid to break the mould even if it is to the cost of Parlophone's pockets. They have arguably written some of their deepest and best stuff in recent years 'Eon' and 'Evening of the Day' to name but two, and have gone largely unheralded. They are paying for simply having lasted the pace for a decade, which is no longer acceptable in these modern times where NME are as quick to forget you once your third album sales have levelled off.
This album has balance, creativity, poignancy and a remarkable freshness and the fact it only just scrapes past 30 minutes is an irrelevance in my opinion. If you have nine tracks as wonderfully crafted as this why try to strangle the album and upset the flow. After all, its only with the demise of vinyl that we have become accustomed to albums touching an hour. 'Roxy' is the standout track, but 'Tales of Endurance' and 'Road to Rouen' itself run it close.
Sadly, it is almost an inevitability that this album will not have the commercial impact of 'I Should Coco' or 'In It for the Money'. Nor will it score well with fans of the earlier Supergrass material. However, sounding like a blend of Thin Lizzy, The Beatles and Floyd this album doesn't need mass approval. It simply demands it every time you are lucky enough to partake in its 35 minute journey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very much underrated - 5,5 stars, 27 Nov. 2005
This review is from: Road To Rouen (Audio CD)
This is classical rock music in the tradition of the beatles, Lennon solo and the Who ('coffee in the pot' is typical the Who humour), that's to mention a few. All new music nowadays is getting less and less innovative and going back all the time to the great bands in the 60's and 70's. Does that mean it is annoying that it already been done before? NO... Or is it in anyway possible to be great music then? Yes. It is beautifully produced and the arrangements are perfectly done. There is a lot of hard work in here. Although it is a bit short - road to rouen the song could be made easily 5 minutes longer - every second of music on this album is very much enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Armageddon coming down, 28 Jun. 2005
This review is from: Road To Rouen (Audio CD)
I'm not going to mention how much certain tracks sound like previous Supergrass songs as a band sounding like itself is to be expected, but I reckon the boys have been listening to a lot (by which I mean A LOT) of group and solo Beatles albums since Life On Other Planets.
Tales Of Endurance (Parts 4, 5 and 6)
Starts off like a slow acoustic overture-sounding piece (making me think "concept album?"), moves into a second (part 5?) short jazzy piece, then morphs into a slow bluesy rocker with a killer riff. (What is that riff? It really reminds me of something, but I can't bring it to mind). Nice. Very nice.
St. Petersburg
Piano, acoustic guitar, jazzy drums. Builds up in to a sweeping ballad with a hint of strings. I can see this being a single (and a hit). It's incredibly infectious, immediately catchy, and I can't stop singing it. Lovely stuff. Perfect pop like this is the reason why I reckon Supergrass are the best band of the last decade or more. Quite simply, no one else is this good.
Sad Girl
This is a bit of a grower. Very, very Beatles sounding (White Album era). I didn't notice anything special about this song on first listen, but on second listen it gets in under the psyche and, sure enough, it's another pop masterpiece.
Roxy
The longest track on the album. Classic Supergrass catchy chorus. Unusual tempo changes (did someone mention The Beatles?) and Gaz singing very sweetly before it goes off into an extended jam with strings, bass and synthy swirls prominent in the mix, before building into a late Beatles psychedelic breakdown a-la A Day In The Life. Will be killer live.
Coffee In The Pot
The shortest track on the album. An instrumental latin dance swing number interspersed with the lads singing "Oi!". Lovely, slightly out of tune, guitar sound. Finishes far too soon. My second favourite after St. Petersburg. If this doesn't end up being used as the theme tune for a British TV show (maybe it already is?) I'll be very surprised.
Road To Rouen
The title track is a straight-out rocker. Yet another killer riff with a funky baseline. Definitely meant to be played and appreciated in its fullness live.
Kick In The Teeth
Begins with a killer riff that sounds like the near cousin of Day Tripper. Catchy as all hell and another one that will have the crowd jumping when it's played live.
Low C
An acoustic number with infectious almost honky-tonk piano. Sounds like something John Lennon and George Harrison might have done together after they'd gone solo (what a shame that never happened). Poppy, catchy tune. Sweet.
Fin
Gorgeous Spanish-sounding guitar intro and an also a Lennonesque song. Lovely.
Overall the album is a departure from previous efforts with the lads being adventurous and experimental without losing that essential Supergrass ear for a catchy tune with a great hook. There's only a couple of real rockers, but those that do rock will become live favourites, I'm sure. The pop tunes, especially St. Petersburg, are up to their usual very high standard. If oasis can make a career out of ripping-off The Beatles then I reckon a brilliantly original band like Supergrass have earned the right to pay tribute (by re-interpretation) to the fab four. Great album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, brilliant, superb, 13 Aug. 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Road To Rouen (Audio CD)
I wasn't to sure when I first listened to this record, as is it slightly different to their previous stuff - mainly not as poppy as their more famous tracks from 'I Should Coco' and 'Supergrass', which may disappoint those with only a passing interest in Supergrass, but also not as dark/crunchy as 'In It For The Money'.

However, this is simply the best album I have listened to in the last couple of years. It's complete, accomplished, with beautiful tracks, beautiful voice, everything just seems to fit together beautifully. I think it is their best album yet by far and, as another reviewer points out, is far superior to a lot of catchy, shallow, guitar music which is currently popular. Not that I'm having a dig at other bands - I like that music too - just here you have an album with depth, layers of sound and instruments, and just great songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars road to victory, 17 Aug. 2005
This review is from: Road To Rouen (Audio CD)
When I first listened to the album, I found it to be a bit of a let down. However, as I listened to it again and again I have found that even though it only has 9 songs; they are all to a high quality. It is rare these days that I will listen to an album from start to finish without skipping any songs, but this album does not have any filler in my view.
Hope they continue to release music well in to the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well up to standard., 19 Dec. 2006
By 
Mr. I. P. Moore "Ian PM" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Road To Rouen (Audio CD)
I'm a big fan of Supergrass. They seem to be one of those bands that 'just get on with it', and quietly make interesting, well written varied albums. There is one track which they succumb to their 'wacky' sense of humour, but overall it's a lovely record. Along with Blur, they seem to be one of the few bands that have consistently produced good albums, rather than focusing on singles. It also grows on you with every listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars nice surprise, 4 Feb. 2008
By 
Ms. C. Jones (newcastle, united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Road To Rouen (Audio CD)
this album was such a nice surprise, its so much more accomplished than most of the sg's earlier albums.
if your expecting an album like i should coco then you will be sadly mistaken. it had so much melody and you can tell how much the band have grown, released in 2005 its a few year old now, but always my album of choice to listen to. 'kick in the teeth' is my personal fav and def one to listen to. their new album due in march will def be worth the wait! buy this if your a supergrass fan but im sure if you are you will already have it, also if you like suede or some of the earlier hothouse flowers albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grown up but still Supergrass!, 29 July 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Road To Rouen (Audio CD)
This album is absolutely brilliant. As a big fan of all their previous material I have been waiting for the new Supergrass album for some time and I am most definately not disappointed.
The album starts of with the excellent Tales of Endurance pts 4,5&6 which reminds me in the beginning of Pink Floyd's 'Wish you Were Here' and at the end of 'Trampled Underfoot' by Led Zeppelin.
From this superb start the album moves solidly throughout. All the songs are brilliant and I would be hard pressed to choose a favorite.
The only slightly disappointing aspect is that the album is quite short, perhaps if Tales of Endurance pts 1,2&3 had been included then there would have been an even more epic opening to a lengthier record.
Still 5 stars though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A piece of art, 24 Mar. 2013
By 
Freidun Taravosh (Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Road To Rouen (Audio CD)
Peice of art, handicrafted, artful, not hectic or overblown fancy smanschy, it'a just an album of solid structure and quality, and while not all of the song proppel into top notch cathchies, and is not as eneregetic and stomping as their previous album life on other planets it its a strong container of solid, aware and very well structured music, not every song is a frantic party full of energic flow. but getting through these carefully put arrangments, and to hook yourself onto these solid grooves leaves you with so much more, it's such a rewarding album, while at the same time it can just as well linger softley unoticed in the background, while still in it climbs of everywhere, it's diffrent, but at times even touch epic quality.
it's a top notch album alright, I have now come to this conclussion.
well awaited, and well apreciated, and warm and nice little record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Road To Rouen
Road To Rouen by Supergrass
Buy MP3 Album£4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews