Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You must buy this CD!, 5 Mar. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Cryptic Writings (Audio CD)
Being an out and out Metallica fan I knew that the Singer/guitarest of Megadeth used to play with them. So it was only out of sheer interest or intrigue in which I purchased Cryptic Writings. I'm so glad that I did. The opening track 'Trust' provided me with one of the best openings of an album since Metallica's 'Enter Sandman'. And the pace hardly relents. The song writing is top notch( in particular the magnificent 'Mastermind') and this is backed up by the high quality production. There is so much depth and difference in style that keeps you utterly engrossed. From the magnificent heavyness of 'Vortex' to the pop-friendly 'I'll get even' to the slow(ish) 'Use the mam'.Each song is fantastic in its own right and has enough to offer any listener. Wow, that is what really sums up this album. Now all I have to do is get the rest of the Megadeth collection and all you have to do is BUY THIS ALBUM! You will not be dissapointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the more Catchy albums., 30 Aug. 2012
By 
Dave (Todmorden) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cryptic Writings (Audio CD)
This is more of a Pop/Metal album in which you can
pick up the lyrics really quickly and be singing a long to it.
If you're a Thrash fan then I probably wouldn't recommend it but
it's a good album got some really catchy songs She-Wolf, The Disintegrators, A Secret Place..

One of my favourite Megadeth releases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Megadeth at their most compromising but still brilliant stuff!! / The calm before the s***storm!!, 24 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cryptic Writings (Audio CD)
Hardcore thrash and Megadeth fans might grimace at the very uttering of the title of this album, as although this isn't their first foray out of the thrash spectrum ('Countdown' and 'Youthanasia' pretty much went down this road too) it was probably the most radio - friendly yet of their albums and, as with Metallica's 'Black Album' cost Megadeth as much old fans as it did recruit new ones.
This is Megadeth and their most stripped down and, you can almost say most simple, well, as simple as Megadeth can get I suppose - there's nothing here that bothers the bonkers, technical speed metal soloing or riffage of 'Hangar 18' on 'Rust In Piece' for example. But what there is, is a collection of very good songs and that's how in my opinion it should be judged.
'Trust,' 'Almost Honest,' ' Use the Man,' 'She Wolf,' still pop up occasionally on their live setlist and with good reason - they are kick ass songs. There are many other highlights here including the odd foray back to their thrash roots. Mustaine sings more than he sneers on this album as well.
The Pros very much outweigh the Cons and is a much stronger album than 'Youthanasia' and Megadeth's last really great album until 'Endgame.' A good starting point for anyone new to Megadeth or thrash / metal in general as well. A great album if you listen to it on its without comparing to previous efforts.
Narrow minded metal heads : Avoid! Fans of great rock / metal music : Apply!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Decent Album, 2 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cryptic Writings (Audio CD)
Very good Megadeth album, some exceptional tracks which are very overlooked on this album, definately worth picking up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Megadeth still rocking hard in the 90s! ! !, 22 Dec. 2008
By 
This review is from: Cryptic Writings (Audio CD)
This Megadeth is a great deth album hard to define as a genre so will just call it metal. First before we get started i'm a massive fan of both Megadeth & Metallica love all there albums yes even Risk, load, reload, St. anger & The world needs a hero. This album and Risk are Megadeth's most underrated albums along with The world needs a hero all awesome album if you have an open mind. On to this awesome album, for me this was abit of a grower as please forgive me but Mustaines vocals got on my nerves abit but thankfully they grew on me and now I love the album still a couple of weak songs but the great songs kick major arse.

Best songs for me are Trust, Almost Honest, Mastermind, I'll get even, Sin, A Secret Place(love the opening riff), Have Cool, Will Travel(the harmonica is a cool touch to this song). So practically all off it. The musicianship on this album is brilliant as usual with megadeth albums. There's not much really else to be said, except this is an awesome album if you're a megadeth fan this is recommended if you have alot of their albums. Can't wait to see 'em in dublin with priest and testament and their newe album gonna rock. Rock on! ! ! !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly Wonderful, 19 July 2004
This review is from: Cryptic Writings (Audio CD)
I agree with Mr Blonde - this album is faultless.
Who could have thought that Megadeth could excel themselves again?
The album gets off to a very strong start with the classic Trust, one of my all time favourite songs.
It gets better with Almost Honest, and then goes into the album's - and Megadeth's - best song: Use the Man. This song is truly unbelieveable: it starts off slowly with a killer riff and lyrics, the solo is amazing, and the last chorus is unforgettable as the slow riff is transformed into a monster of thrash metal majesty.
After this masterpiece, it was hard to think that the rest of the album could be good. And it isn't good, its phenomenal. Mastermind has great lyrics, Disintegrators has the speed and power of their earlier work, Vortex has the best riff I've ever heard and She-Wolf is just a brilliant song. The other songs aren't bad either - I'll Get Even, Sin, Have Cool Will Travel and FFF are all great heavy metal. A Secret Place is the album's second best song. It starts with a mysterious Indian style riff (which proves Megadeth aren't all distortion) and goes into a unique song that will have you singing along with everyone of Dave Mustaine's groans in the legendary pre-chorus.
Megadeth really do deserve the attention that Metallica are currently receiving.
Have I said enough? The simple truth is I can hear this album enough. It is my favourite album of all time, and I have over 200 albums ranging from blues to hip hop to metal to punk.
Buy this album, then buy Megadeth's Greatest Hits, then buy anything by Minor Threat, Descendents or Pennywise.
P.S. Please visit [...] for more metal mayhem!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Album, 3 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cryptic Writings (Audio CD)
I chose 5 stars because it was an album from the Megadeth era which was awesome. I recommend this band to every thrash metal fan or for that matter every metal fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW, 13 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cryptic Writings (MP3 Download)
Seriously, cant stop listening to this album, although a little less thrash then the others, it still packs a punch so honestly, well recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cryptic Writings......, 15 Aug. 2004
This review is from: Cryptic Writings (Audio CD)
Well, this is probably the second Megadeth album I ever heard, the first being of course "Youthanasia", and from these two my collection grew. But I can still recall the day being asked my favourite song on the album, and trying to find excuse's why each one should be my favourite, and not convining myself with any of the reasons at all!! Since that day I've realised that I can't find an absolute favourite on the album, and although Dave's terrificly powerful but simple riff on Trust, and the double meaning in the words of Almost Honest, added to the simplicity but musicality in the solo to she wolf, I still cannot name an overall favourite! But bringing the album together at the end is a nice clean blast of what Megadeth are all about, metal. Fight For Freedom. In truth, this has to be one of my more favoured Megadeth albums, suitable for all occaisions! [incidentally, Risk may be considered a poor album, but without the sour, the sweet ain't as sweet!..... besides, 'seven' is often overlooked as a great song]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best album Megadeth have done, 16 Oct. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Cryptic Writings (Audio CD)
I consider this album to be the highlight of Megadeth's career. The standard of song writing is excellent, and yet despite the melodic nature of this album, it still retains enough of the heaviness of their previous efforts to sustain interest (something I feel they didn't quite manage with their subsequent "Risk" album). There is only one weak track here ("Mastermind"), and I'd have liked to have seen a few more fast tracks (like "The Disintegrators" -- my pick for best track on the album), but neither points are serious enough to reduce this from a 5 star rating. It's an essential part of any metal collection. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cryptic Writings
Cryptic Writings by Megadeth
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews