Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Haunting Soundtrack
This album is the soundtrack to an amazing documentary made with footage from the apollo space missions. The music worked perfectly and powerfully in the documentary, but also works as an album too.
The first half is less musical - though it provides wonderful atmosphere and mood. The second half has some truly haunting moments in my opinion.
I would strongly...
Published on 14 May 2005 by Stephen Moore

versus
2 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enos how to write a good piece!!
There aren't many musical artists which boast a CV such as Brian Eno's - Producing with the likes of 'Roxy Music' and 'U2' to name but a few and putting into account that he is still relevant today. 'Apollo' is a brave soundtrack attempt but sounds slightly dated and lacks any masterful backbone. However,it would not be out of place for a surgeon to chill-out to in the...
Published on 12 Mar. 2012 by DiscJockey


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Haunting Soundtrack, 14 May 2005
This review is from: Apollo (Audio CD)
This album is the soundtrack to an amazing documentary made with footage from the apollo space missions. The music worked perfectly and powerfully in the documentary, but also works as an album too.
The first half is less musical - though it provides wonderful atmosphere and mood. The second half has some truly haunting moments in my opinion.
I would strongly reccomed this album if you have a taste for mood and ambience.
Similarly I would strongly reccomend the documentary, which is called 'For all Mankind'
A nice companion album to this one is Roger Eno's 'Voices'. Roger is Brian's brother and his album holds the remaining tracks used on the documentary, which are not featured on this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An ambient masterpiece, 19 Mar. 2003
In some ways, Apollo reminds me of the soundtrack to ‘2001’. They’re certainly not similar in musical style, but what brings them together is their dense and pervasive atmosphere. They both exude an astonishing range of moods – fear, triumph, beauty, mystery – all coming from the dark recesses of the universe but ending up resonating deep inside a personal inner space.
Whereas Stanley Kubrick used existing music to such perfection to accompany the free and fictional exploration of Jupiter and beyond in ‘2001’, so Brian Eno crafted a haunting and beautiful space odyssey of his own to accompany the film of the NASA lunar missions.
The eclectic, electronic mix acts as a kind of aural planetarium, taking us on a cosmic tour where harmonious melodies sit next to tuneless soundscapes. Tracks such as The Secret Place and Matta show us deep, dark and menacing outer space, eerie and disturbing, where low rumbles are interspersed with industrial-like noises and wild animalistic sounds. The moon here is less a friendly and comforting neighbour and more an alien and inhospitable cold lump of rock.
It all adds up to bring home the terrifying insignificance and solitude of earth. Should we somehow lose our moorings and go floating – slowly, helplessly – off into the vast depths, it would be a far from pleasant experience.
But then it gently shifts to warmer tones as you drift along the dark side of the moon, weightless and free from apprehension. So far (and yet still so near) from civilisation and sensory overload that your thoughts can turn inwards to meditation and maybe even some slight comprehension. Well, maybe not, but it’s a wonderfully pleasant journey nonetheless.
And then you can lie on the moon’s surface gazing up without fear at the stars to the rich and tranquil twangs of Silver Morning, Deep Blue Day and Weightless. Alien, synthesiser-driven sounds give way, possibly somewhat jarringly, to more human sounding guitars, but the seams are quickly forgotten. Such tracks make you think of all that’s right in the universe, perhaps as you cast a fond glance back to the mother planet and reminisce about all the good times you’ve had.
It is, however, the transcendent beauty of An Ending (Ascent) that caps off the album, perhaps the closest you can get to a musical epiphany and a truly celestial track. Famous from its use in films such as ‘Traffic’ and ‘28 Days Later’, it’s the shining Orion of an already sparkling album. In its entirety, a deeply moving experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars EERIE AND BEUTIFUL, 5 Jun. 2001
By A Customer
Everybody must of heard at least one track from this album, the beutiful track 'An Ending(Ascent)' has been used for the soundtrack of the televised N.S.P.C.C appeal advertisment for the last couple of years. It must be one of the most beutiful pieces of electronic music ever written and never fails to send shivers down my spine. And they say that Synthesiser music has no emotion,nonsense.I first heard this track and other numbers from this C.D. in a film on Sky called 'For all Mankind' an epic documentury about NASA's moonlandings and 'An Ending' has featured on many advertisments and programmes Space and non Space related ever since. There are other realy good tracks on this C.D.too.Silver Morning,Deep Blue Day,Weightless and Always returning where Brian Collaborates with old chum Daniel Laonis(the two went on to produce U2's Joshua Tree together)and brother Roger also stick out in my mind. And the other experemental pieces are very imaginative and very Eno. So if you have been ummming and arrring and wondering where that beutiful music on the N.S.P.C.C.advert is from thn this is the album. But remember to make a donation to the appeal too, it's a good cause.A nice album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ambient Classic, 17 May 2004
By 
Christopher Hunter "cjhunter2001uk" (Farnham UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This is one of Eno's best ambient works. Originally scored for a film of the Apollo mission the record consists of 'atmosphere' tracks such as 'Under Stars' and more structured pieces of music which have country influences (using steel guitar) to reflect the astronauts choice of listening material taken with them on some of the missions.
You will probably recognise some of the tracks as they tend to crop up on several film scores as well as documentaries and adverts. 'Ascent (an ending)' was recently used by the NSPCC for a fund raising campaign.
The record is rewarding listening being both relaxing and also rather unsettling at times such as in the track 'matta' where the proximity to death and risk comes through the music. It does accomplish it's task of reflecting the vastness of space in contrast to the humble backgrounds of many of the participants very well.
Being a film soundtrack this is not a seamless ambient experience but as a soundtrack which doesn't age and you will return to again and again you can't go much wrong!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An ambient masterpiece, 17 April 2003
In some ways, Apollo reminds me of the soundtrack to '2001'. They're certainly not similar in musical style, but what brings them together is their dense and pervasive atmosphere. They both exude an astonishing range of moods - fear, triumph, beauty, mystery - all coming from the dark recesses of the universe but ending up resonating deep inside a personal inner space.
Whereas Stanley Kubrick used existing music to such perfection to accompany the free and fictional exploration of Jupiter and beyond in '2001', so Brian Eno crafted a haunting and beautiful space odyssey of his own to accompany the film of the NASA lunar missions.
The eclectic, electronic mix acts as a kind of aural planetarium, taking us on a cosmic tour where harmonious melodies sit next to tuneless soundscapes. Tracks such as The Secret Place and Matta show us deep, dark and menacing outer space, eerie and disturbing, where low rumbles are interspersed with industrial-like noises and wild animalistic sounds. The moon here is less a friendly and comforting neighbour and more an alien and inhospitable cold lump of rock.
It is, however, the transcendent beauty of An Ending (Ascent) that caps off the album, perhaps the closest you can get to a musical epiphany and a truly celestial track. Famous from its use in films such as 'Traffic' and '28 Days Later', it's the shining Orion of an already sparkling album. In its entirety, a deeply moving experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 17 Nov. 1999
By A Customer
I originally heard this music when watching the actual film of Apollo missions for which it was written. I have yet to hear music that so evokes the strangeness and wonder of space - only Kubrick's choice of classical music for 2001 comes close. However, the music is great on its own - you know, late night, lights off, glass of wine and your eyes closed. Roger Eno and Daniel Lanois also contribute to Eno's seemingly effortless ability to generate sounds and sensations that are memorable without any reverting to standard 'song writing' techniques. This album sits effortlessly beside his other ambient classics
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's Good Music...., 20 Feb. 2011
This review is from: Apollo (Audio CD)
Perhaps I have this all wrong, but when reading the many reviews of this album on Amazon I feel as though people feel they have to justufy theit choice in some way. Look at how many start with "I bought this because...." or variations of that phrase. And then go on to read those that talk a bout being "transported to another plane (sic)".

As a fan of this music I don't fele there has to be a reason for my viewpoint other than the fact that it's good music (well, to ME anyway). Does it transport me? No, not really. Do I play it so it goes on the background while I do things? Sometimes, but not always. Do I sometimes put it on simply to listen to it? Yes, often.

I won't even ue the "Amb..." word, because that term has long been highjacked by works that don't have half the beauty of this one.

I recommend this CD because the music is evocative - but of what... well, that's up to you. Of course we all know it's connected with the Apollo missions, but to be honest that's never in my mind while playing it. I tend to build my own relationship with the sounds, and I can assure you this works well away from it's stated intentions.

Minimalism was in full flow by the time this music was made. Synthesizers were relatively new, and Eno was cutting new territory with these sedate, thoughtful pieces. However, it's fascinating to experence how you interact with them, they set a tone. As someone else noted, there are moments of joy, exuburation, beauty and fear. But then this is a suite of music about the unknown, and it has to contain all these things.

But I need no excuse for liking it. And for those that find it "boring" because nothing much is going on.... well, minimalism isn't really for them, so that's fair enough. This music needs time, and it needs you to sit still and actually listen (which is contrary to what you'd expect, because the stripped down nature of the compositions suggest there isn't enough going on to hold interest).

Apart from anything else this CD has a place in the history of the development of western music - so quit dreaming, and get on the beam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As close to perfection as one can get through music, 14 Feb. 2003
Like other reviewers, I spent a long time tracking down the amazing sequence of chords that I later found to be "Ascent, An Ending". I first heard them used at a planetarium during the middle 80's. I was immediately hooked.
To listen to this piece played in complete darkness is probably, if you are sensitive to such things, as close to perfection as it is possible to reach through music.
You'll either find the experience boring or absolutely uplifting; either way, it won't do you any harm. Give it a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happily floating in space., 15 Dec. 2005
By 
Elliot Davies "ahttt" (Liverpool, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Apollo (Audio CD)
I remember when I first got this album. I knew it was ambience, so I decided to listen to it in bed, bathed in total darkness. Well, I wouldn't recommend it. I was absolutely terrified. Sheer terror, as alien noises filled the room playing on the imagination and providing me with some horrific imagery. Really unnerving, this is definately an album that should only be enjoyed in a state of conciousness.
When actually awake, it's beautiful. You can happily drift away, feeling just like you're floating in space. Of course, the unnerving soundscapes remain (Matta), but they serve to provide balance. The rest is pure beauty. An Ending (Ascent) is one of the greatest pieces of ambient music ever produced, instantly recognisable. Deep Blue Day is equally renowned, it soundtracked Renton diving into a toilet in Trainspotting. However, my personal favourite moment is the beautiful steel guitar solo from Daniel Lanois in A Silver Morning.
Well recommended, this music will last forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly Beautiful, 24 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apollo (Audio CD)
I think of ambient music as something that you feel like you've been waiting for your whole life. This album is simply stunning whilst seeming simplistic, but you know it's far from simplistic. Special mention goes to 'An Ending (Ascent)', which will probably bring you to tears.

Eno is a genius, and I'll without doubt be purchasing more of his material in future. You can lose yourself in an album like this, and that's certainly not a bad thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Apollo
Apollo by Brian Eno
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews