Customer Reviews


100 Reviews
5 star:
 (74)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply superb!
A dark and moody album where distorted guitar and sax are magically interwoven to produce an all time classic from Bowie. Not at all like Aladdin Sane which has an almost pop feel, nor like Ziggy which is acoustic-based, this album is far more complex and mature.
One of the interesting things about this music is the band - or lack of it! This album was recorded in...
Published on 12 Oct. 2001

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Change of Direction
So what do you do when you've released three classic rock albums in a row? In Bowie's case you don't stick with the tried and tested but move off in another direction. The apocalyptic feel is still there but these songs are more uneasy, more edgy and there's a thudding beat running through the album. There's nothing easy about Diamond Dogs. Songs Like Big Brother and 1984...
Published 10 months ago by Mr. Peter Steward


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply superb!, 12 Oct. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Diamond Dogs (Audio CD)
A dark and moody album where distorted guitar and sax are magically interwoven to produce an all time classic from Bowie. Not at all like Aladdin Sane which has an almost pop feel, nor like Ziggy which is acoustic-based, this album is far more complex and mature.
One of the interesting things about this music is the band - or lack of it! This album was recorded in 1974 just after the spiders had disbanded. Bowie therefore had a far greater input into this album than any previous, one would imagine. Evidence of this is the number of instruments he plays - accompanied by a drummer and occasional pianist and guitarist.
Get this it will grow on you with time and stay with you for ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet thing!, 30 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Diamond Dogs (Audio CD)
Tracks 3 to 5, 'Sweet Thing', 'Candidate' and 'Sweet Thing Reprise' are so astoundingly perfect that the rest of the album is almost an anti-climax, even though everything is at genius level. 'Sweet Thing' fades in beautifully, the shrieking vocal is beyond belief, and the lyrical quality and depth so superior that this could be studied for a degree in English literature. The seedy filth of the drug-run city we all dread is perfectly encapsulated by a wall of sound and introspection of the highest order.
'Is it nice in your snowstorm ... freezing your brain?
Do you think that your face looks the same?
Well then indeed ... it's all I ever wanted ...
It's a street with a deal .. and a face,
It's got claws, it's got me, it's got .... you!'
How do you even begin to give a shade of constructive criticism to that?
On top of this, the man played every instrument himself.
Bowie rises above the limits of human creativity. The level of his talent is beyond ordinary human comprehension.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Future Legend, 17 Oct. 2008
By 
fatsovonchubby (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Diamond Dogs (Audio CD)
Diamond Dogs is my favourite Bowie album. I can't directly measure or directly explain why it comes in first before other greats in the Bowie back catalogue - it just does. The imagination, diversity of style, background unease of a bleak social chaos sprinkled throughout - it all cooks together marvellously to serve up a punchy, fragrant banquet of classics. My only criticism of the album is that it begins to flag a wee bit in in the middle before the final few songs deliver the best of finishes - and I think that one less song could have made it perfect. Nevertheless - DD is a firm favourite.

There's no point echoing the rest of the comments that have preceded mine. Bowie could have disappeared altogether after Aladdin Sane - but he managed to conjure up 3 of his best albums in Diamond Dogs, Young Americans and Station To Station.

Diamond Dogs was daring, different, and for the lack of another D word - absolutely bloody fantastic. There's nothing else quite like it - so give it a try if you don't own it as it's a bargain at today's prices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sex, Lies, And Genocide, 16 Feb. 2000
By 
David (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Diamond Dogs (Audio CD)
Praised by critics and hardcore fans, "Diamond Dogs" represents Bowie's thwarted efforts to translate George Orwell's "1984" into a rock opera. Having sacked The Spiders, Bowie took full helm, writing, arranging, and producing this album. To help him in his task he gathered a new cast of musicians including Mike Garson, who had previously provided some outstanding piano work for the "Aladdin Sane" album.
In "Diamond Dogs", Orwell's bleak, totalitarian Eurasia becomes Hunger City. A debauched, sprawling, post-apocalyptic metropolis populated by sleazy punks, where as Bowie narrates in "Future Legend", '...fleas the size of rats sucked on rats the size of cats'.
The rollicking title track and the anthem like "Rebel Rebel" provided the album with a couple of hit-singles. But it is "Sweet Thing", "Candidate", and "Sweet Thing (Reprise)", which together make up a delightful tripartite tale, telling of the corruption and sexual depravity contained within this decaying urban landscape, that serves as a centrepiece for the album.
As with Winston and Julia in Orwell's novel, the protagonists of "We Are The Dead" are ultimately condemned for their sex crimes: "Dress yourself my urchin one, for I hear them on the rails/Because of all we've seen, because of all we've said/We are the dead" cries a distraught Bowie over Garson's haunting melody.
"Big Brother" paints a rather despairing picture of future society, a society broken and lost, desperately waiting to be claimed by a 'Homo superior', before segueing into the terrifying "Chant Of The Ever Circling Skeletal Family".
The plot is rather under-developed, allowing the listeners to bring in their own meanings. And Bowie's use of Burroughs' cut-up technique leaves the songs feeling somewhat fragmented and incongruous in places. Despite this however, "Diamond Dogs" is a very enjoyable record. It is theatrical, camp, provocative, and disturbing in many ways, and still remains one of Bowie's most creative records to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How can you pick one favourite Bowie album!, 12 Dec. 2000
This review is from: Diamond Dogs (Audio CD)
Yes, it was originally supposed to be for a musical based on 1984. At the end of the day though it stands alone on the strength of the songs. This is, on occasion, my favourite Bowie album - although a great many of his albums have also held that spot. It starts with the spoken Future Legend which Bowie later made the mistake of trying to emulate on the Glass Spider. It sets the tone for one or two fairly dark moments - notably the Sweet Thing/Candidate/Sweet Thing (Reprise) section. This for me is the highlight of the whole album - strong both lyrically and musically. While some of the songs link obviously to the 1984 theme, these fit in feel unlike the rather more obvious 1984 and Big Brother. All in all a strong album which benefits from being listened to as a whole. If you want to hear some interesting cover versions of some of the tracks - try to find the Wedding Present doing Chant of the Ever Circling Skeletal Family or Rickie Lee Jones doing Rebel Rebel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars it grew on me -a lot, 20 Jan. 2012
By 
markr - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Diamond Dogs (Audio CD)
I remember as a teenager hearing this for the first time on the day it was released- I was, and remain, a huge Bowie fan but the first time i heard this album, i didn't warm to it at all. And that's the point really; this is not easy music and it requires several listens to realise just how good it is. And it is very good indeed, containing the quite wonderful Rebel, Rebel, and the outstanding Sweet Thing - one of the best tracks Bowie, or anyone else, ever wrote. There are numerous great tracks though, with 1984, We are the Dead, and Rock 'n' Roll with Me also amongst the standouts.

Here were the first signs of the soul sounds which would form Bowie's next album, Young Americans: Remastered, but in Diamond Dogs they are blended with more conventional rock music to great effect

A wonderful album - well worth the listens if you don't absolutely love it immediately.

Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bowie goes solo, 8 May 2010
This review is from: Diamond Dogs (Audio CD)
After sacking the Spiders this is really Bowie's first solo album since his ill-fated 1967 debut. Despite that, this album has to be in anybody's top 5 Bowie recordings. After being denied permission by Orwell's widow to do a musical rendition of the book 1984 Bowie could have abandoned ship and consigned the demos to the archive. What he in fact did was add his own ideas to the mix to end up with something a lot better. The original concept would have ended up a bland retelling of Orwell's nightmare, but freed from this narrative Bowie excels himself. The album opens with a Stones influenced scene-setter but really takes off with the `Candidate/Sweet Thing/Candidate' triptych which, far from dragging the album down, is surely Bowie's greatest 15 minutes on record. It climaxes with the unforgettable rock'n'roll exclamation "We'll buy some drugs and watch a band, then jump in a river holding hands!"- were it released today Wallmart shoppers would never see it. Side one ends with perhaps his best known riff, `Rebel Rebel'; a top 10 hit knocked off almost as an afterthought. I have never understood why `Rock'n'Roll' with Me, the opener of side two, is so maligned. It's a classic Rock'n'roll anthem which any other artist would have given their back teeth for. `We Are the Dead' though is the true highlight of the album: at once a superficial account of Winston's doomed love affair in the original novel but more tellingly a world-weary account of the rock business and Bowie's thinly veiled contempt for exploitative management. It is here that the true concept behind this concept album becomes apparent - it's not about a dystopian future but about the death of Rock'n'Roll. As if to reinforce this point, the track 1984 hints a Bowie's growing interest in soul music which would later become the focus of his next studio album Young Americans. The closing tracks, `Big Brother' and the `Chant of the Ever Circling Skeletal Family' bring proceeding to a wonderful conclusion leaving the listener thoroughly satisfied. If you add to all this that Bowie plays lead guitar throughout the album and writes, arranges and performs virtually everything you hear, you have to concede that this is undoubtedly among the best albums he ever produced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lets Dance this ain't!, 23 May 2012
By 
Mr. A. Moss (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Diamond Dogs (Audio CD)
Probably the best Bowie / any album of all time.

Bowie laid bare, with all his mythology's crashing into each other. Insanity, drugs and the compete degradation of the soul all compete for the centre of medical attention in a loveless Owellian universe.

Musically and lyrically as potent as anything Bowie has conjured before or since, let Diamond Dogs be the standard by which all other epics are measured.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars End of Bowie's First Golden Era, 2 Sept. 2009
By 
Morten Vindberg (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Diamond Dogs (Audio CD)
Diamond Dogs was the last great album of Bowie's first golden era of what is often referred to as glamrock. This term may give rise to negative associations, which would be deeply unfair in Bowie's case. He stood in the early 1970s for some of the best and most progressive music in this genre.

After the "Diamond Dogs" he radically changed his style with the album "Young Americans" and even though the subsequent, more techno-like albums are highly praised, he never rocked more convincing than on his great early 1970's albums.

Title track is a fine rocker in the style of "Suffragette City" from "Ziggy Stardust" and "Rebel Rebel" has one of the best guitar riffs in rock and roll history. Both numbers were chosen as singles.

The suite "Sweet Thing / Candidate" is another highlight on the album.

More mainstream is the rock ballad "Rock'n Roll With Me", although certainly also one of my personal favorites. The number "1984" was originally conceived as a title number and appears almost as a movie-themed track with its energetic funky riffs.

The record probably works best when heard in its entirety; several tracks don't work very well outside the album context and the album therefore probably cannot be included among Bowie's very best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the Diamond Dogs B*ll*cks! x 2, 13 Aug. 2006
Firstly, it would be a waste of time to give the highlights of this exceptional and timeless classic Bowie album, as it is all brilliant stuff, so this review will concentrate more on disc 2, but what I will say though, is that tracks like: 'Sweet Thing', 'We Are The Dead' and 'Big Brother' for example, may have been a big influence on Goth Music - as this sounds like prototype Goth to me.

Here are the highlights of disc 2, starting off with: '1984/Dodo' with its lush string arrangements to die for and its funky 'Shaft' wah wah guitar sound, plus the 'Dodo' bits which have a great brass section to them. Next up is 'Rebel Rebel (US Single Version)' which was the version that was played live throughout the 70's/80's right up to, and including 1990's 'Sound & Vision' tour. You know, the one with the "la la la la la's" in the chorus, and although different to the original is just as awesome. 'Dodo' is a gem of a tune, that as I have already mentioned has an excellent brass sound to it. 'Alternative Candidate' is completely different to the album version, and again is a gem of a tune that is charmingly smutty and pleased with itself. Finally, we have 'Rebel Rebel (2003)' which is an updated version that sounds very Americanised (but in a good way) that was originally performed in this way on the 2002 'Heathen' tour, and then became the new 'live' version.

'Diamond Dogs' is a Gothic Masterpiece that I cannot recommend highly enough, and this 2-disc 30th Anniversary Edition just adds to the enjoyment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Diamond Dogs
Diamond Dogs by David Bowie
Buy MP3 Album£6.39
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews