Customer Reviews


86 Reviews
5 star:
 (62)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply superb!
A dark and moody album where distorted guitar and sax are magically interwoven to produce an all time classic from Bowie. Not at all like Aladdin Sane which has an almost pop feel, nor like Ziggy which is acoustic-based, this album is far more complex and mature.
One of the interesting things about this music is the band - or lack of it! This album was recorded in...
Published on 12 Oct 2001

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Change of Direction
So what do you do when you've released three classic rock albums in a row? In Bowie's case you don't stick with the tried and tested but move off in another direction. The apocalyptic feel is still there but these songs are more uneasy, more edgy and there's a thudding beat running through the album. There's nothing easy about Diamond Dogs. Songs Like Big Brother and 1984...
Published 3 months ago by Mr. Peter Steward


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply superb!, 12 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Diamond Dogs (Audio CD)
A dark and moody album where distorted guitar and sax are magically interwoven to produce an all time classic from Bowie. Not at all like Aladdin Sane which has an almost pop feel, nor like Ziggy which is acoustic-based, this album is far more complex and mature.
One of the interesting things about this music is the band - or lack of it! This album was recorded in 1974 just after the spiders had disbanded. Bowie therefore had a far greater input into this album than any previous, one would imagine. Evidence of this is the number of instruments he plays - accompanied by a drummer and occasional pianist and guitarist.
Get this it will grow on you with time and stay with you for ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How can you pick one favourite Bowie album!, 12 Dec 2000
This review is from: Diamond Dogs (Audio CD)
Yes, it was originally supposed to be for a musical based on 1984. At the end of the day though it stands alone on the strength of the songs. This is, on occasion, my favourite Bowie album - although a great many of his albums have also held that spot. It starts with the spoken Future Legend which Bowie later made the mistake of trying to emulate on the Glass Spider. It sets the tone for one or two fairly dark moments - notably the Sweet Thing/Candidate/Sweet Thing (Reprise) section. This for me is the highlight of the whole album - strong both lyrically and musically. While some of the songs link obviously to the 1984 theme, these fit in feel unlike the rather more obvious 1984 and Big Brother. All in all a strong album which benefits from being listened to as a whole. If you want to hear some interesting cover versions of some of the tracks - try to find the Wedding Present doing Chant of the Ever Circling Skeletal Family or Rickie Lee Jones doing Rebel Rebel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sex, Lies, And Genocide, 16 Feb 2000
By 
David (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Diamond Dogs (Audio CD)
Praised by critics and hardcore fans, "Diamond Dogs" represents Bowie's thwarted efforts to translate George Orwell's "1984" into a rock opera. Having sacked The Spiders, Bowie took full helm, writing, arranging, and producing this album. To help him in his task he gathered a new cast of musicians including Mike Garson, who had previously provided some outstanding piano work for the "Aladdin Sane" album.
In "Diamond Dogs", Orwell's bleak, totalitarian Eurasia becomes Hunger City. A debauched, sprawling, post-apocalyptic metropolis populated by sleazy punks, where as Bowie narrates in "Future Legend", '...fleas the size of rats sucked on rats the size of cats'.
The rollicking title track and the anthem like "Rebel Rebel" provided the album with a couple of hit-singles. But it is "Sweet Thing", "Candidate", and "Sweet Thing (Reprise)", which together make up a delightful tripartite tale, telling of the corruption and sexual depravity contained within this decaying urban landscape, that serves as a centrepiece for the album.
As with Winston and Julia in Orwell's novel, the protagonists of "We Are The Dead" are ultimately condemned for their sex crimes: "Dress yourself my urchin one, for I hear them on the rails/Because of all we've seen, because of all we've said/We are the dead" cries a distraught Bowie over Garson's haunting melody.
"Big Brother" paints a rather despairing picture of future society, a society broken and lost, desperately waiting to be claimed by a 'Homo superior', before segueing into the terrifying "Chant Of The Ever Circling Skeletal Family".
The plot is rather under-developed, allowing the listeners to bring in their own meanings. And Bowie's use of Burroughs' cut-up technique leaves the songs feeling somewhat fragmented and incongruous in places. Despite this however, "Diamond Dogs" is a very enjoyable record. It is theatrical, camp, provocative, and disturbing in many ways, and still remains one of Bowie's most creative records to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lets Dance this ain't!, 23 May 2012
By 
Mr. A. Moss (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Diamond Dogs (Audio CD)
Probably the best Bowie / any album of all time.

Bowie laid bare, with all his mythology's crashing into each other. Insanity, drugs and the compete degradation of the soul all compete for the centre of medical attention in a loveless Owellian universe.

Musically and lyrically as potent as anything Bowie has conjured before or since, let Diamond Dogs be the standard by which all other epics are measured.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet thing!, 30 Jan 2012
This review is from: Diamond Dogs (Audio CD)
Tracks 3 to 5, 'Sweet Thing', 'Candidate' and 'Sweet Thing Reprise' are so astoundingly perfect that the rest of the album is almost an anti-climax, even though everything is at genius level. 'Sweet Thing' fades in beautifully, the shrieking vocal is beyond belief, and the lyrical quality and depth so superior that this could be studied for a degree in English literature. The seedy filth of the drug-run city we all dread is perfectly encapsulated by a wall of sound and introspection of the highest order.
'Is it nice in your snowstorm ... freezing your brain?
Do you think that your face looks the same?
Well then indeed ... it's all I ever wanted ...
It's a street with a deal .. and a face,
It's got claws, it's got me, it's got .... you!'
How do you even begin to give a shade of constructive criticism to that?
On top of this, the man played every instrument himself.
Bowie rises above the limits of human creativity. The level of his talent is beyond ordinary human comprehension.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars it grew on me -a lot, 20 Jan 2012
By 
markr - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Diamond Dogs (Audio CD)
I remember as a teenager hearing this for the first time on the day it was released- I was, and remain, a huge Bowie fan but the first time i heard this album, i didn't warm to it at all. And that's the point really; this is not easy music and it requires several listens to realise just how good it is. And it is very good indeed, containing the quite wonderful Rebel, Rebel, and the outstanding Sweet Thing - one of the best tracks Bowie, or anyone else, ever wrote. There are numerous great tracks though, with 1984, We are the Dead, and Rock 'n' Roll with Me also amongst the standouts.

Here were the first signs of the soul sounds which would form Bowie's next album, Young Americans: Remastered, but in Diamond Dogs they are blended with more conventional rock music to great effect

A wonderful album - well worth the listens if you don't absolutely love it immediately.

Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Future Legend, 17 Oct 2008
By 
fatsovonchubby (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Diamond Dogs (Audio CD)
Diamond Dogs is my favourite Bowie album. I can't directly measure or directly explain why it comes in first before other greats in the Bowie back catalogue - it just does. The imagination, diversity of style, background unease of a bleak social chaos sprinkled throughout - it all cooks together marvellously to serve up a punchy, fragrant banquet of classics. My only criticism of the album is that it begins to flag a wee bit in in the middle before the final few songs deliver the best of finishes - and I think that one less song could have made it perfect. Nevertheless - DD is a firm favourite.

There's no point echoing the rest of the comments that have preceded mine. Bowie could have disappeared altogether after Aladdin Sane - but he managed to conjure up 3 of his best albums in Diamond Dogs, Young Americans and Station To Station.

Diamond Dogs was daring, different, and for the lack of another D word - absolutely bloody fantastic. There's nothing else quite like it - so give it a try if you don't own it as it's a bargain at today's prices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great to hear again, 5 Jun 2005
By 
Gavin Wilson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Diamond Dogs (Audio CD)
I confess I'm not the world's greatest Bowie fan. (Perhaps mine was a reaction against being surrounded by Bowie fanatics at school.) But I recognise that 70s albums such as ZIGGY STARTDUST and ALADDIN SANE are five-star masterpieces which I'm proud to own and play.
Ignoring PIN-UPS, which we always regarded as a bit of a detour in the Bowie story, DIAMOND DOGS was Bowie's first post-Ronson LP. For those of us who saw Bowie perform 'Starman' etc on 'Top of the Pops' and the 'Whistle Test', Mick Ronson appeared to be an integral part of Bowie's life -- not quite Lennon and McCartney, but something close. Without Ronson to duet with on many a chorus, Bowie's stage act (if nothing else) seemed vulnerable. There were Ronson fans at school who almost willed Bowie to fail without Ronson.
So on DIAMOND DOGS, it is left to Bowie to play nearly all the guitar parts. And he does a great job.
The only problem with this album -- and the reason I regard it as a slight decline from the magnificent ALADDIN SANE -- is that it is too varied. 'Rebel Rebel' is a great single, but its Stones-like theme jars with the rest of the album. '1984' takes its orchestral cue from The Temptations' 'Papa Was a Rolling Stone' -- a theme not reprised again until 1977's I ROBOT by the Alan Parsons Project. 'Rock N Roll With Me' is Bowie trying to sound like Dylan and the Band.
Bowie has always been a genius of style, with a keen eye to fashions not yet on the horizon. Back in 1973, the 1984 of George Orwell seemed an aeon away, particularly for his many teenage fans. To us, '1984' was just an English set text and therefore automatically very, very dull. Bowie's added slant of an urban future plagued by marauding mutant dogs was ... well, interesting ... but it didn't seem to spawn many imitators, in terms of clothes, make-up etc in the same way as ALADDIN SANE had. I suspect the drug abuse that led to the Thin White Duke appearance in DAVID LIVE gave many fans cause for second thoughts about unthinking imitation of their hero. That this particular vision was a vaguely depressing one didn't help its uptake.
My personal feeling is that Bowie barely put a foot wrong in the 1970s. Following albums such as STATION TO STATION, LOW and HEROES are also classics, and well worth buying. What amazes me is that Bowie is still a cult figure in 2005, despite the fact that in the quarter-century since 1980, his CDs have been a very mixed bag. Most have been, at best, mediocre.
Get this one, and enjoy it for its variety.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the Diamond Dogs B*ll*cks! x 2, 13 Aug 2006
Firstly, it would be a waste of time to give the highlights of this exceptional and timeless classic Bowie album, as it is all brilliant stuff, so this review will concentrate more on disc 2, but what I will say though, is that tracks like: 'Sweet Thing', 'We Are The Dead' and 'Big Brother' for example, may have been a big influence on Goth Music - as this sounds like prototype Goth to me.

Here are the highlights of disc 2, starting off with: '1984/Dodo' with its lush string arrangements to die for and its funky 'Shaft' wah wah guitar sound, plus the 'Dodo' bits which have a great brass section to them. Next up is 'Rebel Rebel (US Single Version)' which was the version that was played live throughout the 70's/80's right up to, and including 1990's 'Sound & Vision' tour. You know, the one with the "la la la la la's" in the chorus, and although different to the original is just as awesome. 'Dodo' is a gem of a tune, that as I have already mentioned has an excellent brass sound to it. 'Alternative Candidate' is completely different to the album version, and again is a gem of a tune that is charmingly smutty and pleased with itself. Finally, we have 'Rebel Rebel (2003)' which is an updated version that sounds very Americanised (but in a good way) that was originally performed in this way on the 2002 'Heathen' tour, and then became the new 'live' version.

'Diamond Dogs' is a Gothic Masterpiece that I cannot recommend highly enough, and this 2-disc 30th Anniversary Edition just adds to the enjoyment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Halloween Jack's a real cool cat..., 23 Nov 2002
By 
Milt Ingarfield "milt_fm" (Arbroath, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Diamond Dogs (Audio CD)
What began life as a soundtrack to musical called 1984 ended up being this nightmare where the world is destroyed and mutants run across the landscape, only in the world of David Bowie could you end up with this!

With Bowie's backing band the Spiders from Mars having been dispensed with after the 1973 tour, the artist sets about playing and recording most of the songs here on his own playing the guitar part on "Rebel Rebel" himself.

The lyrics to this album are quite strange in construction I don't know if he used the "William S.Burroughs" method of cutting up the words and re-arranging them afterwards to make something new or not but it sure sounds like to me, not that this is a bad thing you understand it sometimes gives you surreal results.

The re-mastering of this futuristic nightmare brings even more of "Bowies" vision to life to amuse and entertain the listener,with the clearer sound of this version allowing you to hear a lot more of what's going on.

This album was so far a head of the pack they still haven't caught up, with 1984 giving us a sneak preview of what was to come next in the "Bowie" world of tunes. An essential purchase for the causal or serious follower of the mans music...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Diamond Dogs
Diamond Dogs by David Bowie
Buy MP3 Album5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews