Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jay-Z: Reasonable Doubt, 25 April 2003
This review is from: Reasonable Doubt (Audio CD)
Like a lot of people I heard "Izzo (H.O.V.A)" and "Girls, Girls, Girls" and they just didn't appeal to me. Then I saw an interview with Jay-Z on MTV and they played a snippet of the video for "Dead Presidents" and I was suprised by how much I liked it. When I saw the price of the CD, I had no problem paying out for it.
I'm under no illusions that the best tracks on the album are "Can't Knock the Hustle","Dead Presidents" and "Ain't no.." with Foxxy Brown, but I made the error of basically listening to these three tracks on loop on the first four months of having this album. It was only when I listened to the entire album that I began to appreciate how good the CD actually is. In my opinion tracks 1 through 9 are all brilliant then perhaps it slows down a bit but comes back in a big way for the brilliant "Regrets".
I can't say anything that hasn't been said, even if you don't like Jay-Z's current persona you will enjoy this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They say he turned pop, but before that happened..., 8 April 2004
This review is from: Reasonable Doubt (Audio CD)
Reasonable Doubt is the only Jay-Z album i own so i cannot say judge on whether he turned pop, but this album certainly is NOT pop. It is one of the smoothest and well put together albums in rap history. Jigga sounds great with the late Biggie Smalls on Brooklyn's Finest and combines well with Mary J. on Can't Knock The Hustle. Whether he turned pop on our a$$es or not, there's no argueing this album is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars jay-z's finest hour, 19 Mar 2005
This review is from: Reasonable Doubt (Audio CD)
ironically like nas, jay-z produced his best on debut. His rapping is better then on any of his later albums, 22-twos shows lyrical genius. Sadly i dont know who is responsible for most of the production (premier does a good job on d'evils), but it is in some ways the beats that make the album. BIG puts in a great performance on brooklins finest, can i live and bring it on are other killer tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Album that keeps Jay-Z amongst the greats...., 23 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Reasonable Doubt (Audio CD)
You either love or hate Jay-Z. Anyone who heard his pathetic In My Lifetime Volume 1 will revile him. But if you heard this first, you will adore this MC. Hard narratives, phenomenal beats (check Premier on "D'evils", Clark Kent on "Brooklyn's Finest") puts this near the top and demonstrate why Jay-Z is still allowed to exist in the rap world. Had he not produced this gem, Volume 3 might never have been thought of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The jigga man at his best, 31 July 2004
This review is from: Reasonable Doubt (Audio CD)
There is no denying that this album is fantastic from the first track to the last. There is not 1 bad track on it. Even if you don't like what Jay-z has turned into at the moment 'pop', if you like hip hop the chances are you will like this album. Since i bought this CD it's spent most of its time in my stereo and is up there with even nas' debut 'illmatic'.
The beats on this album are the best i had heard for a while, especially with all this commercial rubbish coming out at the moment. His ryhmes also match the great beats. My favourtie tracks on this cd are 'Brooklyns finest', which features the late Biggie Smalls and 'D'Evils'.
If you are planning on buying a Jay-Z album and are unsure which one to buy, purchase this one straight away, you will not regret it! Even if you dont like Jay-Z, this album is totally different to all of his later music and should not dissapoint any hip hop fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reasonable Doubt - Class beyond doubt, 31 May 2003
This review is from: Reasonable Doubt (Audio CD)
Being a Jigga fan since '96, this is, in my opinion, the classic Jay-Z album. From all of his releases, I feel that this highlights Jay-Z's finest years, and broke barriers, at least for Mr Carter. His finest works are on here, with the likes of Mary J. Blige and The Notorious B.I.G, and although some rapper's first album's are very gritty and raw, this is smooth, crisp and well produced - an asset to Jay-Z and Roc-a-fella records.
The very gangsta look portrayed in the pinstripe suits and silk scarves Jay-Z wears are backed up by such hard tracks as "Brooklyn's Finest" (with Biggie contributing beautifully to this) and the original "Friend or Foe", yet combined with the more smooth, even emotional "Can I Live" and "D'evils". Other more up-beat tracks include his first single, "Ain't No Ni**a", featuring none other than Foxxy Brown, and 22 Two's, an spot of Jigga genius combined with a little hint of the old-school, with A Tribe Called Quest line. Finally, the starting track, "Can't Knock The Hustle" cannot be passed over - with Mary's voice in the chorus and backing through the song, and with Jay-Z's sharp lyrics, this album is a winner. Jay-Z has "the Godfather flow", and is the "Michael Corleone of the microphone"!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For getting into Jay Z, 18 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reasonable Doubt (MP3 Download)
I love this album, if you want to start looking at his back catalogue, here's a great place to start. "Regrets" is one of my favourite songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Re-living my youth, 17 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reasonable Doubt (Audio CD)
I brought this to replace a recorded tape that had been made for me back in the day. Great album, really enjoyed listening loud & just letting go!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This IS the vibe, 20 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reasonable Doubt (Audio CD)
Never mind talking about being friends with the rich n mighty and bragging about money and lifestyle. This was when the young J was lean and hungry. The rhymes are tight and relevant and the production and samples are to damn soulful to bare. Premier League hip hop that don't stop. What happened to you maan!
Biggs, Mary and Foxy also come to the party and they tear the sonovabi*ch up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 13 Jun 2013
This review is from: Reasonable Doubt (Audio CD)
I skip Brooklyn's finest all because I've overlistened to it over the years..... Other than that, u wouldn't skip any of the tracks on this album. I love biggie and Pac but IMHO, best rap album ever made is reasonable doubt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews