Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
176
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 February 2000
After Ziggy Stardust, and Aladdin Sane, after the theatricality of "Diamond Dogs", and the plastic-soul of "Young Americans" there came perhaps Bowie's most haunting persona, The Thin White Duke, and this is his record.
At time of recording Bowie was in the depths of a serious cocaine addiction. It is said that he now remembers very little of the recording of "Station To Station". But once you have heard this album you will not forget it easily.
The title track is a ten minute epic in which Bowie's vocal range travels in leaps and bounds. Meet The Thin White Duke himself and gasp in awe as he screams: 'It's not the side effects of the cocaine/I'm thinking that it must be love'.
"Word On A Wing" sees Bowie at his most poignant as he pleads for grace in a desperate search for God. Shiver as he croons his way through the best version of "Wild Is The Wind" ever recorded.
This CD not important, it is *essential*! No collection should be without it.
0Comment| 41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2010
OK, here's a review from someone who's actually heard the release.

CD1 is the original album remastered. And what an excellent job has been done. I have the original 1991 Rykodisc era Sound+Vision release and this tops even that. Not only are all the instruments clear as a bell, the bass is more prominent, which really brings the music alive.

CD2 and 3 are Bowie's March 1976 Nassau Coliseum concert. Long term fans have long cherished bootlegs of this night - the band is far less cabaret than Bowie's 1974 outing and less cold and brittle than the instrumental-dominated 1978 Stage incarnation.

The concert has a good mix of Station to Station tracks - of which the title track, Stay and Word on a Wing are masterful - and older hits. Some of the recordings are a little ropey - Life on Mars and Five Years are (superior) bootleg quality and the mix on the 2nd half of the concert is somewhat unbalanced - cymbals dominate, you can only hear one guitar for a lot of the time, the piano is very quiet and the bass just a low rumbling. Whilst Jean Genie and TVC15 suffer most from this - both sound thin and even weedy during choruses and solos - Changes, Diamond Dogs and Queen Bitch are by contrast hugely entertaining - and Panic in Detroit is positively furious.

The packaging is great. A Cameron Crewe essay puts the album in context, followed by a detailed chronology of the preparation and execution of the album. Three CD sized postcards complete the box.

Station to Station has always been a masterpiece - a satisfying and consistent yet diverse collection of powerfully realised signature tunes. This set puts Bowie's mid-70s journey into context, gives us his most satisfying live album to date and reinforces his mastery of both art and entertainment.
1313 comments| 74 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Since the Amazon product details are not yet listed (at the time of writing), I've listed below what you get in the deluxe box. Before that though, a couple of comments.

Station to Station is to my mind Bowie's masterpiece. The title itself is a pun; the track of the same name opens with white noise and chuffing noises like a radio tuning (station to station) or a train (station to station). That theme of transition runs throughout - "transition, transmission" says the hilarious TVC15. The guitar work from Earl Slick is frenetic and fantastic; the ballads Word on a Wing and Wild is the Wind, originally at the close of each side, are heartfelt and moving.

The album is now combined with a widely bootlegged concert from the same period which is also superb, a more powerful performance than any of the previous official live albums.

No problem with the music then; but if like me you are more interested in the music than the memorabilia, you have to ask why this very expensive box is the only way to get the DVD with high resolution stereo and a new 5.1 surround mix of this classic album?

Personally I can live without the vinyl and the fan club replicas, but I'd certainly like the surround mix. I'm afraid it does feel like exploitation.

Three stars, first because this is written pre-release, and second because of the expense.

The box contains:

Album sized box with lift off lid

CD 1: 2010 transfer of Station To Station from the original stereo analogue master

CD 2: Station To Station 1985 CD master

CD 3: Station To Station single edits five track EP containing Golden Years, TVC15, Stay, Word On A Wing and Station To Station

CDs 4 & 5: Live Nassau Coliseum '76

DVD containing the following...

Station To Station (original analogue master, 96kHz/24bit LPCM stereo)
Station To Station (new Harry Maslin 5.1 surround sound mix in DTS 96/24 and Dolby Digital)
Station To Station (original analogue master, LPCM stereo)
Station To Station (new Harry Maslin stereo mix, 48kHz/24bit LPCM stereo)

12" heavyweight vinyl of Station To Station from the original stereo analogue master in replica sleeve

2 x 12" heavyweight vinyl of Live Nassau Coliseum '76 in gatefold sleeve

24-page booklet with sleevenotes by Cameron Crowe and chronology by Kevin Cann and also including...

- Previously unpublished Steve Shapiro photo
- Geoff MacCormack photos
- Andrew Kent live Nassau photos

Replica David Bowie On Stage 1976 press kit folder containing the following...

- Replica Nassau ticket from night of the show
- Replica backstage pass
- Replica A4 biog
- Replica band line-up
- 3 x 10x8" press shots

Replica 1976 Fan Club Folder containing the following...

- Replica fan club membership card
- Fan club certificate
- 2 small collector cards
- 2 A4 photo cards
- Replica 4-page biography
- 2 badges
- 6 panel folded Steve Shapiro photo poster of Bowie kneeling
2929 comments| 119 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2010
Most people who purchase this (expensive) box set are going to be hard core long term Bowie fanatics of which there are undoubtably millions around the planet. What can be said about the original album? not a lot really that hasnt been said time and time again and i cant imagine many people will be buying this boxset that doesnt already own at least one copy of STS. The remastering and remixing on the DVD disc is superb and although there is very little happening in the rear channels the overall effect is simply stunning. The clarity took my breath away. The packaging is very well done and the extras that are included took me back to my youth when id collect anything and everything from newspaper cuttings to huge posters on my bedroom wall of the man. The cds are inserted inside the respective vinyl album sleeves of both the Original album and the live show from the tour of 76. This isnt something id expected and wouldve much prefered the cds to have their own case or even cardboard sleeve as it means constantly manhandling both album covers and pulling the cds out of their tight little pockets inside the gatefold cover which will over time cause wear and tear on the card. I wont be getting my Turntable out of the loft to play the vinyl either and wouldve preffered a box set that didnt include them at a cheaper price but as a long term collector i can understand many oldies will want a vinyl copy included.
Station to Station was Bowie at his best. Coke addled with delusions of superpower he embraced his demons and came out as the Cold Genius that became the Thin White Duke. The tour that is included here literally changed my idea of what a rockstar could be when i saw him perform in London in 76 and to have a crystal clear full recording of the show albeit a different performance had me dancing around my living room as if i was back at Wembley, Its a fantastic recording of a fantastic tour.
Memories come in expensive packages nowadays,just how much anyone is prepared to pay is a hard one to guess and i wouldnt have payed out this amount for some of the albums Mr Bowie has released over the years no matter how shiny and sparkly they tried to make the boxes look....Station to Station Ultimate fan boxset? yeah on reflection its worth paying out.
11 comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 17 March 2015
A review of the 2010 Super Deluxe Edition...

Things were going along smashingly for David Bowie fans in 2010 when this super deluxe box set for one of the great artist's best albums was released. The reissue campaign of his classic albums which began with "Ziggy Stardust" was in full swing with "Aladdin Sane", "Diamond Dogs" and "Young Americans" all being given the expanded 2 disc treatment. To top it off Ziggy was reissued on SACD and Young Americans as a dvd album with both remixed into 5.1 surround sound to mark their 30th anniversary. The two live albums from the 70's were also afforded the deluxe treatment with expanded editions, surround mixes and bonus tracks. Fans then eagerly looked down the catalogue list at what was ahead and "Station To Station" loomed large. It's the start of the next stage in Bowie's experimentation with sound and the use of the studio as an instrument in it's own right so there must've been some goodies in the vault. How wrong we were.

As fantastic as this top shelf box set is (5 x cd's,1 x dvd and 3 vinyl records) there is nothing from the archives apart from a couple of 7" single edits and a previously unreleased (but heavily bootlegged) live concert recording. Unlike the other expanded editions which contained a second disc of single only releases, demos, outtakes, live tracks etc. Station To Station's bonus disc is an ep of single edits. There is a third cd that has a copy of the album's original RCA Records cd release which some fans claim is the definitive digital edition. The real attraction of this set to most fans is the high resolution audio only dvd, featuring a flat transfer of the album's original stereo mix and new mixes in both 5.1 and stereo created by the albums original producer Harry Maslin. Hearing this album in hi-res dts audio is a revelation and whilst there's not much going on in the 5.1 mix as far as surround activity is concerned, the wider soundstage more than makes up for a lack of gimmicky panning. Any prospective purchasers of this set should be aware that the dvd has NO visual content apart from menus and song title graphics.

The next major component are the vinyl records. There's a reproduction of the original album presented as a gatefold sleeve with the 3cd's and dvd in slots inside the cover and a nice heavyweight vinyl copy of the album's original analogue master. The other set is the widely bootlegged double album of Live At Nassau Coliseum 1976 getting an official release making it a part of the official Bowie catalogue. This is also a gatefold sleeve with the 2 cd's of the show inside the cover.

Rounding out the box set bonus bits is a large selection of reproduced promotional materials and fan club memorabilia topped off with a nice soft cover lp sized booklet containing an essay and timeline. When it's was initially released this was a premium level price point set and now that it is no longer available has only increased in price. It was expensive in 2010, it's overpriced for what you get at time of writing. With such a high quality set that the Station To Station boxset is you would think that the next logical step would be Bowie's classic "Berlin" trilogy of albums. Unfortunately the music label responsible for these reissues, EMI, went bust and has since been divided between two of the remaining major labels, Warner Music who now have the Bowie catalogue and Universal which scored The Beatles catalogue. Warner have stopped the Bowie reissue campaign and have gone back to the 70's albums with new 40th anniversary editions for (the retitled) Space Oddity, Ziggy and Aladdin Sane. I guess we'll have to wait until the big 40 for deluxe editions of Low, "Heroes" and Lodger.

"Don't Let Me Hear You Say Life's Taking You Nowhere Angel...."
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2004
Being David Bowie can't be the easiest job in the world, especially if you can't even remember recording your best record. In my opinion, this is exactly what Station to Station represents: Bowie's finest hour.
Despite consisting of just 6 tracks, each is a standout. Station to Station is a real monster of a song; great intro, and after 6 minutes the song kicks off into a strangely uplifting train ride with some real grinding guitar flying through the right speaker channel. If Station to Station is a heavy night out, then Golden Years is it's hangover cure. Next we have 'Word on a Wing', containing great musicianship and piano work. The line "Lord, my breath lies like a word on a wing", is particularly memorable.'TVC15' is an oddball song which comes off really well and is probably my favourite song, with its endless repetition of "Oh my TVC15, oh oh, TVC15". 'Stay' is a real funk rocker, with the falsetto chorus being the highlight ("Stay, that's what I meant to say"). The final track, 'Wild is the Wind', on the first listen, sounds like the worst song in the world. However, given repeated listening, like the rest of the album, the track flourishes, it grows on you; and as the crooning vocal creeps under your skin, it becomes like a new family member- irreplacable.
This album is not an instant classic, it demands attention and the patient listener is highly rewarded. This cd epitomises the phrase 'quality not quantity'. In all, if I only ever recommend one item, it would be this, my favourite album ever.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2016
This album for me is just a staggering piece of work. The title track, even having heard it hundreds of times, stops me in my tracks and I just absorb every fabulous morsel of it. No song ever has had quite the impact of this track - it just taps into every receptor within me. I would want this track playing at my funeral, such is the importance of it to me, but I reckon all my mourners (all 2 of them and then some bums on seats) would wonder what the hell was going on, especially with the train noises at the beginning (it's not like I have employment history with Midland Mainline). This track is just one of my favourite things that ever came about.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2014
There are some fans who say Bowie was at his best between 1971 - 1976. Others cite the Berlin Trilogy. And there are those that love Bowie's 80s commercialism. For me, 'Station to Station' is the perfect antidote to the drug infested years spent stateside that covered the Diamond Dogs tour ('David Live'); Young Americans; The Man Who Fell To Earth (film) and this album sub-titled by many as 'The Return of the Thin White Duke.'

This particular box set remaster contains the analogue remaster of the original album mix, and the live show that was for several years only available as a bootleg. Bowie has often commented that he rarely remembers even recording 'Station to Station.' The fact that the album contained incredible songs is absolutely amazing if his true state of mind is anything to go by. At the same time as the recording sessions, Bowie appeared on 'Soul Train' singing the hit single from 'Station to Station' - the brilliant 'Golden Years.'

'Golden Years' was very much a last ditched attempt at getting Bowie a combined UK / US smash following the success in the states of 'Fame.' The problem was that the Young American sessions still yielded a possible follow-up in 'Can You Hear Me' (considered by many Bowie aficionados as his very best vocal performance). In the states, all eyes centred on 'Can You Hear Me' and I know that back at Bedford Place, London, the UK HQ of RCA Records, the green light was given for the release as the third and final single from the Young American sessions. Suddenly, news filtered through that Bowie was back in the studio and 'Golden Years' had been demoed as a potential dance-floor soul classic. The dilemma was real. Two hits on their hands - the solution... to place them back to back as a single in both the US and UK!!!!

The sessions continued for 'Station to Station' haunted by the film Bowie was involved with at the time (The Man Who Fell To Earth) and his cocaine addition. The result is truly reflected on this box set edition - the full remastered studio album and the best live show Bowie ever put together.

Each track stands up - for me, personal favourites are 'Stay', 'Word on a Wing' and 'Wild Is The Wind.' need I say more?

This really is vintage "Bowie" - blazing away from the excesses of the states and off to Berlin via France to save his own skin. In the meantime, under the headphones, us fans listened to 'Station to Station' and cried!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2016
I was a little bothered an old friend would disappoint, but it doesn't.My favourite track was always Wild is the Wind and now I've found I like Word on a WIng almost as much. I'd had the vinyl album since the 1970s when it was widely thought to be Bowie's sound track for The Man Who Fell to Earth (was there really a 10 year gap between the two releases?)
So it's that exquisite melancholy that the Late White Duke did so well that still either speaks to you or doesn't. Well, it still whispers quite loudly in my ear, I'm delighted to say.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2010
There was to have originally been just a 4-disc Special Edition, but now we get the choice of a 5CD+1DVD+3LP Super Deluxe Limited Edition or this 3CD Special instead. No doubt this will please some, but deeply frustrate and annoy others. I suspect that any fans who are prepared to shell out for the Super Deluxe will also order the Special for easy day-to-day use.

I'll settle for this 3CD set. The music on it speaks for itself - you only have to view the tracklist to see what I mean. The Nassau Coliseum Concert is a triumphant showcase of Bowie's musical career up to this point in '76. An essential purchase!
22 comments| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99
£7.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)