Customer Reviews


104 Reviews
5 star:
 (77)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cold Genius
Most people who purchase this (expensive) box set are going to be hard core long term Bowie fanatics of which there are undoubtably millions around the planet. What can be said about the original album? not a lot really that hasnt been said time and time again and i cant imagine many people will be buying this boxset that doesnt already own at least one copy of STS. The...
Published on 27 Sep 2010 by Winslow Alan

versus
116 of 127 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a review exactly - but here's what you get
Since the Amazon product details are not yet listed (at the time of writing), I've listed below what you get in the deluxe box. Before that though, a couple of comments.

Station to Station is to my mind Bowie's masterpiece. The title itself is a pun; the track of the same name opens with white noise and chuffing noises like a radio tuning (station to station)...
Published on 8 July 2010 by Mr. T. Anderson


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cold Genius, 27 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Most people who purchase this (expensive) box set are going to be hard core long term Bowie fanatics of which there are undoubtably millions around the planet. What can be said about the original album? not a lot really that hasnt been said time and time again and i cant imagine many people will be buying this boxset that doesnt already own at least one copy of STS. The remastering and remixing on the DVD disc is superb and although there is very little happening in the rear channels the overall effect is simply stunning. The clarity took my breath away. The packaging is very well done and the extras that are included took me back to my youth when id collect anything and everything from newspaper cuttings to huge posters on my bedroom wall of the man. The cds are inserted inside the respective vinyl album sleeves of both the Original album and the live show from the tour of 76. This isnt something id expected and wouldve much prefered the cds to have their own case or even cardboard sleeve as it means constantly manhandling both album covers and pulling the cds out of their tight little pockets inside the gatefold cover which will over time cause wear and tear on the card. I wont be getting my Turntable out of the loft to play the vinyl either and wouldve preffered a box set that didnt include them at a cheaper price but as a long term collector i can understand many oldies will want a vinyl copy included.
Station to Station was Bowie at his best. Coke addled with delusions of superpower he embraced his demons and came out as the Cold Genius that became the Thin White Duke. The tour that is included here literally changed my idea of what a rockstar could be when i saw him perform in London in 76 and to have a crystal clear full recording of the show albeit a different performance had me dancing around my living room as if i was back at Wembley, Its a fantastic recording of a fantastic tour.
Memories come in expensive packages nowadays,just how much anyone is prepared to pay is a hard one to guess and i wouldnt have payed out this amount for some of the albums Mr Bowie has released over the years no matter how shiny and sparkly they tried to make the boxes look....Station to Station Ultimate fan boxset? yeah on reflection its worth paying out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


60 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Such is the stuff from where dreams are woven, 27 Sep 2010
This review is from: Station To Station (Audio CD)
OK, here's a review from someone who's actually heard the release.

CD1 is the original album remastered. And what an excellent job has been done. I have the original 1991 Rykodisc era Sound+Vision release and this tops even that. Not only are all the instruments clear as a bell, the bass is more prominent, which really brings the music alive.

CD2 and 3 are Bowie's March 1976 Nassau Coliseum concert. Long term fans have long cherished bootlegs of this night - the band is far less cabaret than Bowie's 1974 outing and less cold and brittle than the instrumental-dominated 1978 Stage incarnation.

The concert has a good mix of Station to Station tracks - of which the title track, Stay and Word on a Wing are masterful - and older hits. Some of the recordings are a little ropey - Life on Mars and Five Years are (superior) bootleg quality and the mix on the 2nd half of the concert is somewhat unbalanced - cymbals dominate, you can only hear one guitar for a lot of the time, the piano is very quiet and the bass just a low rumbling. Whilst Jean Genie and TVC15 suffer most from this - both sound thin and even weedy during choruses and solos - Changes, Diamond Dogs and Queen Bitch are by contrast hugely entertaining - and Panic in Detroit is positively furious.

The packaging is great. A Cameron Crewe essay puts the album in context, followed by a detailed chronology of the preparation and execution of the album. Three CD sized postcards complete the box.

Station to Station has always been a masterpiece - a satisfying and consistent yet diverse collection of powerfully realised signature tunes. This set puts Bowie's mid-70s journey into context, gives us his most satisfying live album to date and reinforces his mastery of both art and entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Bowie, 16 Feb 2000
By 
David (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Station To Station (Audio CD)
After Ziggy Stardust, and Aladdin Sane, after the theatricality of "Diamond Dogs", and the plastic-soul of "Young Americans" there came perhaps Bowie's most haunting persona, The Thin White Duke, and this is his record.
At time of recording Bowie was in the depths of a serious cocaine addiction. It is said that he now remembers very little of the recording of "Station To Station". But once you have heard this album you will not forget it easily.
The title track is a ten minute epic in which Bowie's vocal range travels in leaps and bounds. Meet The Thin White Duke himself and gasp in awe as he screams: 'It's not the side effects of the cocaine/I'm thinking that it must be love'.
"Word On A Wing" sees Bowie at his most poignant as he pleads for grace in a desperate search for God. Shiver as he croons his way through the best version of "Wild Is The Wind" ever recorded.
This CD not important, it is *essential*! No collection should be without it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In this age of grand illusion ..., 17 Aug 2008
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Although Station to Station contains only six songs, they are the most memorable that Bowie ever recorded. The fast-paced title track Station to Station falls in a genre of journey songs - emphatically not the familiar rock road song - like Kraftwerk's 1977 track Europa Endloss on Trans Europa Express that creates the impression of a train ride with constantly changing scenery.

In the disco era, the French singer Patrick Juvet recorded a 14-minute long suite I Love America on his Got A Feeling album that was a musical tour through the United States. Closer to Bowie's style was the hypnotic I Travel with its propulsive rhythm by Simple Minds.

The tempo slows down somewhat for the melodic Golden Years with its catchy hooks, poetic lyrics, appealing rhythm and soulful tonality. What a gem of a song! Next comes another masterpiece, this time a devotional one. Word on a Wing is a sublime ballad with an enchanting tune and lyrics expressing spiritual yearning that match any poem in the English literature on this theme. The vocal arrangement is spectacular on many levels, including subtle segments and soaring sections.

There is some similarity in literary technique here with the Ben Jonson poem To Celia that was set to music as Drink to me Only with Thine Eyes and recorded by artists as diverse as Kathleen Ferrier and Swans. The similarity lies in the ambiguity; parts of both compositions contain phrasing that seems to deal with romantic love but the overall tone is clearly spiritual.

TVC15 is a powerful uptempo number in a sort of proto-disco style whilst Stay's nervous guitar-driven rhythmic texture and tempo shifts place it firmly in the rock tradition. Then follows the theme song of the 1957 movie Wild Is the Wind, written by Dimitri Tiomkin & Ned Washington, originally recorded by Johnny Mathis and later covered by Nina Simone on her album Wild Is the Wind. As a melodious ballad with a wistful air, it perfectly complements Word on a Wing.

The enhanced album has live versions of Word on a Wing where Bowie sings with a blocked nose (a cold or what, hmmm?) and Stay, both recorded on the 1976 Station To Station tour. They are both beautiful and appealing in their slightly different arrangements and vocal delivery. In my opinion Station is Bowie's best album, surpassing even the influential The Rise And Fall Of Ziggy Stardust in song quality and emotional depth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the return of the thin white genius, 13 Jan 2012
By 
markr - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Station To Station (Audio CD)
Quite simple magnificent - if i could give 10 stars I would! From the crunching bass notes and insistent piano of the opening to Station to Station to the last notes of the haunting, emotional and beautiful Wild is the Wind, this is the work a master at his peak. For many this is Bowie's best album, and I would find it hard to argue against that although there are a good few other contenders for that title.

There are no filler tracks here - everything is an absolute gem, from the guitar based funk of Stay, through the disco soul of Golden Years, to the mesmerising Word on a Wing.

If you don't have this in your collection, or haven't yet updated from vinyl, then you really must buy this now. You won't regret it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


116 of 127 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a review exactly - but here's what you get, 8 July 2010
By 
Mr. T. Anderson "onlyconnect" - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Since the Amazon product details are not yet listed (at the time of writing), I've listed below what you get in the deluxe box. Before that though, a couple of comments.

Station to Station is to my mind Bowie's masterpiece. The title itself is a pun; the track of the same name opens with white noise and chuffing noises like a radio tuning (station to station) or a train (station to station). That theme of transition runs throughout - "transition, transmission" says the hilarious TVC15. The guitar work from Earl Slick is frenetic and fantastic; the ballads Word on a Wing and Wild is the Wind, originally at the close of each side, are heartfelt and moving.

The album is now combined with a widely bootlegged concert from the same period which is also superb, a more powerful performance than any of the previous official live albums.

No problem with the music then; but if like me you are more interested in the music than the memorabilia, you have to ask why this very expensive box is the only way to get the DVD with high resolution stereo and a new 5.1 surround mix of this classic album?

Personally I can live without the vinyl and the fan club replicas, but I'd certainly like the surround mix. I'm afraid it does feel like exploitation.

Three stars, first because this is written pre-release, and second because of the expense.

The box contains:

Album sized box with lift off lid

CD 1: 2010 transfer of Station To Station from the original stereo analogue master

CD 2: Station To Station 1985 CD master

CD 3: Station To Station single edits five track EP containing Golden Years, TVC15, Stay, Word On A Wing and Station To Station

CDs 4 & 5: Live Nassau Coliseum '76

DVD containing the following...

Station To Station (original analogue master, 96kHz/24bit LPCM stereo)
Station To Station (new Harry Maslin 5.1 surround sound mix in DTS 96/24 and Dolby Digital)
Station To Station (original analogue master, LPCM stereo)
Station To Station (new Harry Maslin stereo mix, 48kHz/24bit LPCM stereo)

12" heavyweight vinyl of Station To Station from the original stereo analogue master in replica sleeve

2 x 12" heavyweight vinyl of Live Nassau Coliseum '76 in gatefold sleeve

24-page booklet with sleevenotes by Cameron Crowe and chronology by Kevin Cann and also including...

- Previously unpublished Steve Shapiro photo
- Geoff MacCormack photos
- Andrew Kent live Nassau photos

Replica David Bowie On Stage 1976 press kit folder containing the following...

- Replica Nassau ticket from night of the show
- Replica backstage pass
- Replica A4 biog
- Replica band line-up
- 3 x 10x8" press shots

Replica 1976 Fan Club Folder containing the following...

- Replica fan club membership card
- Fan club certificate
- 2 small collector cards
- 2 A4 photo cards
- Replica 4-page biography
- 2 badges
- 6 panel folded Steve Shapiro photo poster of Bowie kneeling
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bowie's Best, 3 Jun 2004
By 
This review is from: Station To Station (Audio CD)
Being David Bowie can't be the easiest job in the world, especially if you can't even remember recording your best record. In my opinion, this is exactly what Station to Station represents: Bowie's finest hour.
Despite consisting of just 6 tracks, each is a standout. Station to Station is a real monster of a song; great intro, and after 6 minutes the song kicks off into a strangely uplifting train ride with some real grinding guitar flying through the right speaker channel. If Station to Station is a heavy night out, then Golden Years is it's hangover cure. Next we have 'Word on a Wing', containing great musicianship and piano work. The line "Lord, my breath lies like a word on a wing", is particularly memorable.'TVC15' is an oddball song which comes off really well and is probably my favourite song, with its endless repetition of "Oh my TVC15, oh oh, TVC15". 'Stay' is a real funk rocker, with the falsetto chorus being the highlight ("Stay, that's what I meant to say"). The final track, 'Wild is the Wind', on the first listen, sounds like the worst song in the world. However, given repeated listening, like the rest of the album, the track flourishes, it grows on you; and as the crooning vocal creeps under your skin, it becomes like a new family member- irreplacable.
This album is not an instant classic, it demands attention and the patient listener is highly rewarded. This cd epitomises the phrase 'quality not quantity'. In all, if I only ever recommend one item, it would be this, my favourite album ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bowie fan? Make sure you buy this!, 15 Oct 2010
By 
Like most Bowie fans I have been somewhat disappointed to see how poorly EMI have treated the re-issue phase of the back catalogue since they took over in 1997. By 1999 we had all the albums remastered minus the impressive S+V bonus tracks and sadly in very boring packaging.

Since then there have been far too many missed opportunities by EMI to make more of the Bowie cannon. Is it any wonder they have the nick name E(very) M(istake) I(maginable)?

However likie the Space Oddity re-issue of 2009 EMI have got it just about spot on with the STATIONTOSTATION deluxe edition. I know many fans have complained about the price but for what you get I find this supurb value. The one aspect that makes this a special re-issue is the inclusion of the classic Nassau gig from March 23rd 1976. For many years Bowie fans have owned various versions on scratchy bootlegs and now, for the first time the show is here in full and cleaned up. It is brilliant!

If you are a casual Bowie fan than perhaps you will prefer the standard 3CD edition. However, if Bowie is in your top 5 of all time artists than may I suggest this box set a must for your collection.

People will always whine about what is and isn't included in re-issue packages but for now we should just enjoy what we do have. In closing my only reason for not giving this set 5 stars was the lack of out-take material of which the sleeve notes even mention 3 out-takes that for some reason failed to appear in this set. Otherwise a sublime effort from Bowie and EMI.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Less is more., 17 Oct 2008
By 
fatsovonchubby (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Station To Station (Audio CD)
Station To Station, as many reviewers have pointed out, is a fairly short album in terms of the number of songs that are recorded on it. However - the album still clocks in at a decent length. And song for song, it's a very strong line up. Bowie's vocals are great throughout - and each tune engages the listener accordingly (even the cover of Wild is the Wind - not many male artists could pull that off with so much repressed emotion).

STS is a great listen - and I for one would rather have 6 strong songs than 11 or 12 that have been padded out (heresy it may sound but I think Aladdin Sane and Diamond Dogs are guilty of this - only by one track but it illustrates how less can sometimes be more).

But it's the mystique behind the album, the relentless progression of Bowie musically, if not socially - that grips you as you listen. Tales of him not being able to remember anything of it's recording are littered about the web - but who cares whether or not he does? If I were able to come up with an album of this quality - delivering vocals of this standard - I wouldn't care what edge of reality my life was on at that particular moment.

Diamond Dogs (despite my comment above), Young Americans and Station to Station are all singular entities, and somewhat unique - but all three contain some of Bowies most ambitious and, IMHO, best work. 5 stars, easy.

Ps The story of Iggy Pop's acid dream influencing TVC-15 is always going to bring a smile, regardless of the amount of truth in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Transitional Classic, 29 Aug 2003
By 
L. Davidson (Belfast, N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Station To Station (Audio CD)
Like many of Bowie's albums this collection could be described as a "crossroads" record.A bridge between the soulful "Young Americans" and the wonderfully innovative "Low". Every song on "Station to Station" is uniquely original; the long , brooding title track gives way to the mellifluous "Golden Years", which is similar to the "Young Americans" sound and it would have been the best song on that album had it been included on it . "Word on a Wing" is another polished classic with a spiritual , gospel feel to it. The final three songs are somewhat manic, especially TVC15. "Stay" is a raw edged ,soulful number , but the epic and truly wonderful "Wild is the Wind" is the albums highlight with an awesome vocal from the Thin White Duke which verges on the deranged and which sets the hairs on the back of my neck on edge every time I hear it. Definitely one of my favourite Bowie albums , right up there with "Low", which followed shortly afterwards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Station To Station
Station To Station by David Bowie
Buy MP3 Album£6.19
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews