Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
24
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£5.49
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 November 2000
Exit Planet Dust was Tom and Ed's first album as The Chemical Brothers, the patenters of Big Beat. Drawing from work by the likes of The Dust Brothers (the Chem's previous name, as a sign of respect to the original American Duo), Big Beats was a hybrid of hiphop scratching and vocals, fuzzy guitars, hosts of acid bleeps, shreaking sirens and good ol' British bass. Beginning with the definitive Big Beats tracks Leave Home and In Dust We Trust, The Bros journey through the oncoming traffic of heavy beats, ear piercing sounds and the sweet vocal talents of Tim Burgess and Beth Orton, in the evil-sounding-but-superb Life is Sweet and slow, downbeat-but-still-bigbeat Alive Alone respectively. This was the birth of the finest form of dance on this planet and a landmark album. -Daniel Murtha
11 comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2000
This albumn is raw but has so many great beats like "chemical beats", "song to the siren", "in dust we trust" and "fucked up beats" that is a must for all chemical brothers and dance lovers. You will be boping to it for ever and it is better than most of todays stuff.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2014
Love this album. An ex nicked it so this was a replacement. Put it on to do my housework as soon as it arrived and ended up dancing with the cat for the duration of the album. Some of their finest tunes. Rave on.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 1999
This has to be the biggest big beat albums ever. The anthem song Leave home, is just the beginning of a freaky dance scape where they explore all manner of cool sounds. My favourite has to be the mellow No way of knowing if she's ever coming home, I don't know if it's called that but it has to be one of the most beautiful songs ever.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2016
Always been a bit of a head scratch why The Chemical Brothers are so successful. First the name...does anyone want any more chemicals? And then there's the music: a cross between a scrape in a hospital car park and a donkey being dropped into pet food factory.

I don't know, takes all sorts to make a world...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2013
The Most pioneering sound of its time! This album was a game changer for me as it sounded so fresh. With acid, tech breaks, indie touches and filthy sounds which slam right in your face. It is a well rounded well thought through album also, as it changes and slows getting more chilled at the end. This is a really great album for late nights when altered or after parties it is simply wonderful. I have played this album over and over again. It was the soundtrack to my getting ready to go raving. Very acid breakbeaty and at the same time solid and sure sound. I think that this album is a classic and has been made with real care and attention. I love the fact that it also has some ethereal chillout vocals which soothe your soul when you are coming down. This is one of the best great late night cd's.

If you are young and want to know more about the nineties sounds then this is a great introduction. If you are old and missed the sounds of then a little then get it anyway and see what you think.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2010
I did write a whole review on this before my pc crashed at the vital moment. I just thought i'd give it the 5 stars it deserves.
Check out their stuff from 94 & 95 when they were known as the Dust Brothers - equally awesome.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2006
Took me a while to buy this, ten years after its release. I thought the beats would be quite dated,which is kind of true,but then it was recorded 12 years ago. It starts off with a stomper ,`Leave Home`. which i first heard 10 years ago, and its a great start. `In Dust We Trust` is ok, has some interesting scratchy sounds. `Song to the Siren` is great,consisting of a whiny female vocal which may sound bad but is good.the next track`3 little birdies down beats` is repetitive but energetic, `fup beats` is kind self explanatory,`chemical beats` is slightly annoying after a while, tracks 7& 8 are slightly dull. `Life is Sweet` is possibly the best track. track 10 is weird, the album finishes with `Arrive Alone` with vocals by beth orton. Possibly the most normal track on the cd. Overall a very dark and disturbing album, unlike anything else out in 1995. i give it 4 stars cos i think tracks 1,3,5 and 11 are worth buying it for. Its not as good as `dig your own hole` but for a debut its good. the beats are slightly dated but are certainly different. Might be a bit weird for some, but if you like messed up beats to be cranked up loud this is for you.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2011
Since I was 15 was listening to CHM. This is sort of music, I listened to when I skate. Now when I am a bit bigger 16 yrs later, there still time to listen to the old school ones. Nice one, recomended and enjoy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2013
lost this album [cd] years ago great to have it back .although the not original box and cover which was stipulated the cd was in very good condition for price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£4.99
£6.99
£5.99
£5.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)