Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Brothers have worked it out
Exit Planet Dust was Tom and Ed's first album as The Chemical Brothers, the patenters of Big Beat. Drawing from work by the likes of The Dust Brothers (the Chem's previous name, as a sign of respect to the original American Duo), Big Beats was a hybrid of hiphop scratching and vocals, fuzzy guitars, hosts of acid bleeps, shreaking sirens and good ol' British bass...
Published on 1 Nov 2000

versus
3 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but a tad slow sometimes
I bought this CD on the recommendation of a friend, and was a little disappointed. Aside from the first track, some of it gets a little slow and repetetive.
If you're into this kind of music, check out Vegas by the Crystal Method. It's much better.
Published on 28 Aug 2000


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Brothers have worked it out, 1 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Exit Planet Dust (Audio CD)
Exit Planet Dust was Tom and Ed's first album as The Chemical Brothers, the patenters of Big Beat. Drawing from work by the likes of The Dust Brothers (the Chem's previous name, as a sign of respect to the original American Duo), Big Beats was a hybrid of hiphop scratching and vocals, fuzzy guitars, hosts of acid bleeps, shreaking sirens and good ol' British bass. Beginning with the definitive Big Beats tracks Leave Home and In Dust We Trust, The Bros journey through the oncoming traffic of heavy beats, ear piercing sounds and the sweet vocal talents of Tim Burgess and Beth Orton, in the evil-sounding-but-superb Life is Sweet and slow, downbeat-but-still-bigbeat Alive Alone respectively. This was the birth of the finest form of dance on this planet and a landmark album. -Daniel Murtha
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 19 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Exit Planet Dust (Audio CD)
This albumn is raw but has so many great beats like "chemical beats", "song to the siren", "in dust we trust" and "fucked up beats" that is a must for all chemical brothers and dance lovers. You will be boping to it for ever and it is better than most of todays stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brothers Work it out, 15 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Exit Planet Dust (Audio CD)
This has to be the biggest big beat albums ever. The anthem song Leave home, is just the beginning of a freaky dance scape where they explore all manner of cool sounds. My favourite has to be the mellow No way of knowing if she's ever coming home, I don't know if it's called that but it has to be one of the most beautiful songs ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Their Finest Hour, 14 Jun 2010
By 
This review is from: Exit Planet Dust (Audio CD)
I did write a whole review on this before my pc crashed at the vital moment. I just thought i'd give it the 5 stars it deserves.
Check out their stuff from 94 & 95 when they were known as the Dust Brothers - equally awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great big beat album, 6 July 2014
This review is from: Exit Planet Dust (Audio CD)
Nothing to add to other reviewers! Need this to move from my review queue and there doesn't seem to be another way
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top album, 12 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Exit Planet Dust [VINYL] (Vinyl)
This album is my favourite chemical brothers one and makes a fantastic present for a loved one or anybody for that matter!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Work They Have Done, 28 Oct 2013
This review is from: Exit Planet Dust (Audio CD)
I have played this album over and over again. It was the soundtrack to my getting ready to go raving. Very acid breakbeaty and at the same time solid and sure sounding. I think that this album is a classic and has been made with care and attention. I love the fact that it also has some ethereal chillout vocals and Indie influences thrown in to make it a great late night after party belter.

If you are young and want to know more about the nineties sounds then this is a great introduction to own. If you are old and missed the sound then get it anyway and see what a slamming album this is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars still sounds cool, 11 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Exit Planet Dust (Audio CD)
lost this album [cd] years ago great to have it back .although the not original box and cover which was stipulated the cd was in very good condition for price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars cool, 27 Feb 2011
This review is from: Exit Planet Dust (Audio CD)
Since I was 15 was listening to CHM. This is sort of music, I listened to when I skate. Now when I am a bit bigger 16 yrs later, there still time to listen to the old school ones. Nice one, recomended and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars simply ace, 2 Aug 2014
By 
A. Peacock "Aly" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Exit Planet Dust (Audio CD)
Love this album. An ex nicked it so this was a replacement. Put it on to do my housework as soon as it arrived and ended up dancing with the cat for the duration of the album. Some of their finest tunes. Rave on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Exit Planet Dust
Exit Planet Dust by The Chemical Brothers
Buy MP3 Album£6.89
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews