Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing strange about this album ...
Fantastic. A great mix of rock and more soulful songs, with lyrics sometimes coming from a fantasy world. Ed Harcourt has a wonderfully, original voice, especially in the softer more romantic songs. I know its going back in time a bit, but if you liked Stackridge (remember them?), Colin Blunstone, mixed in with a little Elvis Costello and Calexico, then you will love...
Published on 7 Oct 2004 by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars STRANGERS
It is always odd when the title of an album reflects so accurately the content and the feeling it engenders. This is the case with "Strangers". I'd like it if we started out as strangers and ended up as friends, but it is not to be. Again well delivered, well produced, nicely written but a tad sterile overall. It doesn't get into your bones or your mind and runs...
Published 19 months ago by goatsrant


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing strange about this album ..., 7 Oct 2004
This review is from: Strangers (Audio CD)
Fantastic. A great mix of rock and more soulful songs, with lyrics sometimes coming from a fantasy world. Ed Harcourt has a wonderfully, original voice, especially in the softer more romantic songs. I know its going back in time a bit, but if you liked Stackridge (remember them?), Colin Blunstone, mixed in with a little Elvis Costello and Calexico, then you will love this album. Favourite songs have to be "Born in the 70's" (next single I believe)and Little Black Dress. Buy this and enjoy. Can't wait til the next album. Thanks Ed for cheering up my life!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In a league of his own.....??, 13 Jun 2005
By 
A. Reddish "ajreddish" (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Strangers (Audio CD)
Having heard about Ed's music from a few friends and seeing the usual articles in the musical press about 'Strangers', I was slightly put off from buying this album for some reason. However, a few weeks ago I bought the album in my local record store out of curiosity, and wow, what an album this is. Well done curiousity!
Right from the slighly above-norm tempo of 'The Storm is Coming', the musical arrangement makes a play for your throat, grabbing it and not letting go for around forty-five minutes of high-class music. Highlights for me (and on an album as great as this, these really are highlights) are the title-track 'Strangers', 'The Trapdoor', 'Music Box' and 'Open Book', although all tracks could have made it.
People usually find it within themselves to compare the artist's sound to similar sounds, but I can't as it seems pretty unique as far as i'm concerned.
Congratulations Ed, you should be very proud of this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unrecognised brilliance., 8 Dec 2006
This review is from: Strangers (Audio CD)
If there was any justice in the world, this would be a huge hit album, and Ed Harcourt would be a big star. He is undoubtedly an outstanding, but largely unrecognised, singer/songwriter, and this album is by far his best to date, with songs ranging in style from the stirring 'Let Love Not Weigh You Down' to the sublime, affecting 'This One's For You'.

Ed's lyrics are beautifully eloquent, almost poetic, and often reveal a personal vulnerability, as, for example, when he sings "I'll wear you on my arm like a brand new scar".

Other wonderful gems on the album are 'Strangers', 'Born in the Seventies', 'Loneliness', and 'Music Box'.

This has been my favourite CD for the last 18 months (while other, newer ones I have liked have come and gone).

I'm happy to nominate this as one of the best albums ever made!

Please give this a try - it's time that Ed got the recognition that he deserves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Captivating and comforting, 17 Sep 2004
By 
R. Banks (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Strangers (Audio CD)
'Strangers' confirms Ed Harcourt as one of the UK's most talented songwriters. It's a record that should be treasured, with 'This One's For You' as its centrepiece. Alternating between delicate and dramatic, Ed's songs take you by the hand through a tunnel of new love. Heart-warming and life-affirming stuff on the whole. Several tracks at the end of the album aren't quite as impressive as the likes of 'The Storm Is Coming', 'Born In The 70s' and 'Let Love Not Weigh You Down' but this is but a small criticism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 22 Sep 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Strangers (Audio CD)
Great cd. Ed Harcourt has a wide ranging voice, from rock to soft, gentle romantic and his instrument playing is a treat. A real eclectic mix of styles - Elvis Costello/Stackridge/Colin Blunstone all rolled into one. As well as some great rock sounds. This is purely a personal opinion. Try it - you'll love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars His very best, 20 Nov 2006
By 
This review is from: Strangers (Audio CD)
The fourth album from Harcourt is in my opinion, the most accomplished album out, although it is easy to apply that to any of his releases.

Probably the best album to start with, it moves smoothly through some distorted rock, drunken ballads to rolling classical guitar harmonys dipicting childhood fantasies with ease, each song sounding ernest and full of thought, obviously a deep thinking musician and lyricist.

Ed's voice, with its customry rousing high pitch and romantic accent lends itself to most of the tracks perfectly, and its a profound experience that you probably wont allow yourself to be torn away from. Expect to play around 3-5 times at first hearing...

Hard to find fault with it really, its just an absolute gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ed comes through again, 7 Oct 2004
This review is from: Strangers (Audio CD)
An amazing talent puts together another amazing album.
I've listened to Strangers in it's entirety about 10 times thus far, and each time it has gotten deeper under my skin. Harcourt's melodies and lyrics earn him a place in the Singer/Songwriters Hall of Fame. I do not think comparisons to Nick Drake and Tom Waits are accurate (although, both are great artists). Ed has a style of his own, and is a matter of time before he gets the recognition he deserves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars STRANGERS, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Strangers (Audio CD)
It is always odd when the title of an album reflects so accurately the content and the feeling it engenders. This is the case with "Strangers". I'd like it if we started out as strangers and ended up as friends, but it is not to be. Again well delivered, well produced, nicely written but a tad sterile overall. It doesn't get into your bones or your mind and runs the risk of being viewed as muzak. There is a beast in there somewhere but at the moment it sure doesn't seem to be straining at the leash to get out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful, matured songwriting, 22 Sep 2004
This review is from: Strangers (Audio CD)
Ed's songwriting has matured significantly since Here Be Monsters. Strangers is a great album with numerous highlights - in fact there's only one song here, Loneliness, which I feel could have been dropped and wouldn't have mattered to the album as a whole. As the album progresses, each song develops nicely in a seperate direction from the last; lyrically, musically and emotionally. Highlights are The Storm Is Coming, This One's For You, Let Love Not Weigh Me Down and Kids (in short, most of the album).
Given his age, Ed's talent for catchy hooks, beautiful melodies and affecting lyrics is immense. This music has a quiet dignity - you'll find no pretension here.
Definitely recommended. See him live too - a really down to earth performer, and his shows are fabulously atmospheric (hammond organ, bottle of red wine etc).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 29 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Strangers (Audio CD)
Talented singer/songwriter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Strangers [Explicit]
Strangers [Explicit] by Ed Harcourt
Buy MP3 Album£9.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews