Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This IS Music!
What a great album, well worth the money!...and the wait.
Opener the raw "this is music" is such a confident song bursting with energy will be an eye-opener to fans who got into the verve around the Urban Hymns time.
"Slide Away" and "Lucky Man" follow, reminding us of the loss to the british music scene. Then perhaps the greatest single of the nineties...
Published on 10 Nov. 2004 by jono2023

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars verve
this was a classic case of I bought the album because I liked one track but found the album verrrrryy repetitive and a quite dull I plated it a few times then gave it away pants
Published 19 months ago by adrian dring


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This IS Music!, 10 Nov. 2004
What a great album, well worth the money!...and the wait.
Opener the raw "this is music" is such a confident song bursting with energy will be an eye-opener to fans who got into the verve around the Urban Hymns time.
"Slide Away" and "Lucky Man" follow, reminding us of the loss to the british music scene. Then perhaps the greatest single of the nineties "History", what more is their to say, just such a fine quality and haunting song.
Older songs fit really well with the later material (I'm sure they've mixed Richards vocals louder in the old ones too!).
Then the previoulsy unreleased "This could be my moment" ..WOW ...it is such a strong song, so joyous and triumphant and a bit "pop" too (still better than almost everything Ashcroft has produced solo though) and "Monte Carlo" is the just icing on a cake that leaves you thinking "if only they hadn't split..." Come on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Brilliance, 2 Nov. 2004
By A Customer
This album is most certainly worth purchasing - especially if you're curious to learn more about a band that could have gone on to achieve so much more.
If you liked Urban Hymns, this 'best of' collection will introduce you to some of The Verve's more undiscovered (and unappreciated) earlier work of the 90's. This Is Music, On Your Own and History are all excellent singles from their 1995 album A Northern Soul, while Slide Away and Blue offer a more raw taste of music from their debut album A Storm In Heaven.
All In The Mind, Gravity Grave and She's A Superstar are all early efforts between 92-93 and are vastly different - but not necessarily worse - than the more popular offerings such as Bitter Sweet Symphony and The Drugs Don't Work.
The Verve were a true British rock band that made music the way it was supposed to be made. If you appreciate good music, you'll certainly appreciate this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mesmeric, awe inspiring - stunning!, 2 Nov. 2004
"History has a place for us...it may take 3 albums but we will get there" (Richard Ashcroft).
This album cements the claim made by lead singer Richard Ashcroft at the start of The Verve's journey into the music business. It drips with genius from every track and shows why, in 1998, the world of music lost one of the most influential and pioneering bands in history!
The remixes of songs such as "This Is Music", "She's A Superstar" and "Gravity Grave" really highlight the overall power of the tracks and the unique quality of Richard Ashcroft's voice. The new tracks, "This Could Be My Moment" and "Monte Carlo" are a rare treat and leave me panting for more...alas it's over.
Mesmeric, awe-inspiring - BUY THIS ALBUM!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars one of the most refined and prominent acts the POP world ever saw, worth hearing for 'Monte Carlo' alone, 9 April 2013
By 
Freidun Taravosh (Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The set features songs from all the years above mentioned and all in all it works with a consistently good flow throughout. the songs or videos in case you have the dvd are not in chronological order here.
But I do not think this creates any problems. The set of songs provide the listener with a good variety of songs, and and the final impression lingers with the listener in the end be is all solid and I mean this.

There are a few "single only tracks" from the early days that are not as refined as the later recordings. which means the set of songs takes some turns here and there, but everything doesn't loose direction on the whole.

In the mix we have quite a few different type of tracks some of which was never in an album context prior to the release of this album such as the single only tracks - the sombrely swirly and jangly "she's a superstar" and the slightly oddly leaping gravity grave Slide Away on the other hand is a song from the groups freely flowing debut and album it is a song really lives up to it's title yet is kept in places by a rolling beat and bass line.

The above mentioned aren't the easiest accessible of the Verve's output - yet they contribute to the amazing palette that is the literally plentiful wander/wondering sound of the verve which is wonderful on the whole. This set of songs gives you a bit of everything and it is in fact a perfect blend between that exquisite well rounded,multilayered concerted sound and that drifting laid-back and slightly eccentric sound regardless of which style you favour the most.

All three of the classic Verve LP's are very ample affairs. They are plentiful and layered all the way. This is Music is a little different. It retains that wholesomeness yet takes on a more direct approach. Mind you this does not make this collection a bad listening, quite the contrary. Listening to the songs now one after another, I am conviced "This is Music" can open more people's ears to the sound of Verve. The songs strum together fine, this set of song will go down well both with the kind listener who wants the music to surround him totally and the one who takes a more causal, laid back attitude towards listening to music. This is Music 92-98 in it's full scope is one of those records that can please both camps. The most striking so called "Brit Pop" hits are here like "Bitter Sweet Symphony "On Your Own", "Sonnet" and "Lucky Man". Gripping orchestrated flowing balladry is also evident in History while drifting Psych is evident on tracks like "Blue" and "Slide Away". The amazing variety doesn't stop there "This is Music" also contains all out rock with the title track which also hits a high mark for the social commentary - and there is more to this collection than that.

This album is not only an album of hits collected this far it also provides the listener with two unique tracks previously unissued - I wil now comment these one by one:

"Monte Carlo" brings the concerted multilayered swaying to well rounded perfection, while dealing with a lyrical theme that crosses the wandering wondering with the call to stop the dreaming to get something meaningful out of life. "Monte Carlo" bends twirls and swirls but never looses the consistent flow and the gripping groove.
It's got growth and a sophisticated atmosphere. I think it's a perfect tune and it's cool how it rounds up the set cause it sums up everything that's capturing with the Verve sound in one tune. Moreover "Monte Carlo" clocks at the generous length of 4:58, it's brilliant and capturing indeed - the track is never boasting about it maintaining t a cool breezy, laid-back feel throughout The arrangement provides both the perfect bookend to the whole set, and it is an amazing tune in it's own right (the song also has some touches quite similar to Airs moon safari buried in the texture - neat!).
"This Could Be My Moment":

Another special treat is is a surprisingly upbeat jangle twang that also hits new heights called "This Could Be My Moment" This might sound odd but it is by no means Verve gone lightweight - the wholesomeness characteristic of the group is evident here too - although the usual wandering atmosphere is being filtered through an amazing Get up and Go for it mood. It's got a jangle it's got great hooks and it's happy and it's got enthusiasm. I think quite Byrdesque with some unique fuzzy Verve edge to it - seems like a good warm up tune.

The final say: To put it short - It's A Timeless Sound This is Music can work as a good introduction to the band but it's also a great album in it's own right. The major benefits are: that it's easily accessible and it still succeeds in presenting the complete variety of this prominent act.

Favourite track: Monte Carlo(!) This track ranks among the best this band ever did - dare I say best? The track Monte Carlo is not to be found on any other album, it's therefore unique and perfectly in place in this context.

Notes on the DVD:
A far as the dvd production is concerned the sound is crystal clear - the menu system could be more convenient the dvd separates the unique audio tracks in different menus separate from the set of music videos and the audio tracks can't be played in the c.d. player - which came as a surprise and a disappointment to me. I might get the CD version also soon - some songs are edited in lenght on the dvd to contribute to the more direct approach mentioned above.

To sum up: I think This is Music works as a good introduction to the band but it's also a great album in it's own right it's easily accessible and it has good variety yet maintains a consistent flow as a whole at the same time.

Favourite track: Monte Carlo(!) This track ranks among the best this band ever did - if not the best it is not to be found on any other album (and by the way is perfectly placed here)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Only for new Verve fans! Where are the b-sides - live songs?, 17 Nov. 2004
By 
Oasisboy (Lantana, Texas , U.S.A.) - See all my reviews
This album is probably only appealing to those new fans or to those casual fans who enjoyed Urban Hymns.
This could have been so much better for those of us who already own their albums. I mean they could have released a limited edition version with a bonus cd with b-sides (such as the Cure) or a cd with live tracks (such as Blur).
This album is suppose to include some b-sides and to my surprise "Never wanna see you cry" is not included, which in my opinion is probably the best B-side the Verve ever made. This song sounds very similar to Drugs Don't Work (including lots of strings arrangements) or they could have included Bitter Sweet Symphony remixed by James Lavelle who creates a totally new "trip hop" song (think about mixing Portishead with the Verve).
Instead of these great B-sides we get 2 "new tracks" (This could be my moment and Monte Carlo) which honestly sound like demos that dont go anywhere. I was expecting new production on these songs (string arrangements or new vocals) but sadly nothing new was added to these "demos" from the Urban Hymns sessions.
How about including a cd with live songs? I would love to have live versions of Bitter Sweet Symphony, History, Drugs Don't Work, etc. This would have been amazing for those hardcore Verve fans like me. I am still hoping that one day we will get a proper live cd or DVD. My suggestion would be their last concert in their hometown of Wigan, England ... this concert was amazing...
Like I said before, this cd is to give an introduction to those new fans of the Verve. I just hope one day they reunite and create another masterpiece as Urban Hymns. Until then, enjoy the legacy of the Verve 92-98.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great service from Zoverstocks, 27 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another great price from Zoverstocks. They always deliver! Love The Verve but couldn't see myself buying all their albums, so this seems like a good compromise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars music, 17 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great c.d. great songs ,very enjoyable,love all the songs,i'd reccomend this c.d. to everyone,make great xmas present,all my family love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant album!, 19 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A brilliant album and in good working condition. All the best songs from the verve. Defiantly a well worthy buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 21 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I brought this CD as a gift for my brother-in-law who is a big fan of this group and he loved the album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brill, 22 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brill price brill cd received very quick thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews