Customer Reviews


509 Reviews
5 star:
 (255)
4 star:
 (88)
3 star:
 (56)
2 star:
 (43)
1 star:
 (67)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not immediately appealing but grows on you
This is not the kind of CD where you listen to it first time and are blown away. This is the kind of CD that you listen to again and again, and gradually more and more of the tracks appeal to you, until you just think, "Hey, this is actually a really good album." Almost all of the tracks have at least one part which you remember even after it has stopped...
Published on 19 Jan 2006 by Bill Morris

versus
11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's Not Live!
Bought this CD believing it to be a live album i.e. Tour Edition, but it's not. It's simply the standard album (X&Y) with the promo video's and some extra's. Having seen this tour myself, I was hoping that I could finally enjoy it a second time in my own home! If you've got X&Y, you don't need this.
Published on 8 Mar 2007 by A. Harris


‹ Previous | 148 49 50 51 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new benchmark, 19 Aug 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: X&Y (Audio CD)
YOU MUST READ THIS!!
I first bought this album knowing it would be good, thankfully my prayers were answered.
Every and i mean EVERY song on this album is incredible.
White Shadows - amazing driving song
Fix you - true mood music
Low - another great song.
I know there are people that cannot get into the album, some of my friends included and i see their point. You need to LISTEN to it first, it is not S Club 7, in that you cant pick it up and instantly be excited (if you like that sort of thing) it takes a few days of caressing your ears then it moves in for the kill.
And for those who dont want to take the time to listen, please dont put down somehting you dont understand! Just realise that one day you may have the intelligence to appreciate good music, till then enjoy So Solid crew, Rachel Stevens and the body rockers, for they have as much depth as a shot glass!
From the day i bought this is has not left my CD player in my car (admittedly i have a 6 disc changer). Brilliant stuff Coldplay, lets hope we see another!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 63 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars YAWNARAMA!, 26 July 2005
This review is from: X&Y (Audio CD)
You get the impression that Coldplay are one of those bands that most people like just because everyone else likes them. In other words, a pop band & and not the most exciting pop band in the world either. Rock/Pop for people with disposable incomes i.e. that just buy music because it's there shoved down their throats. People that don't really have a passion for music or any tastes of their own.

I bought Parachutes on the strength of 'Trouble' which I actually quite liked but I don't think I managed to make it through the whole CD once! Dreary, dull, miserable nonsense. The soundtrack to queuing for a bus in the rain, having your house burgled or finding out that a relative or dear friend has just snuffed it! It should have come with a free pack of cutthroat razors but it would have been the cause of the biggest mass suicide in the history of all things! That's not to say that the music & lyrics here are depressing. It's because the whole concept is so pretentious & dull. Musically this is like watching paint dry & a really horrible couloured paint at that!!

X&Y treads much the same ground. About as innovative as pot noodle & packing the same amount of nutritional content. I'm really struggling to find anything positive to say about this ............... No. It's no good :-( I can't really think of anything! About as exciting as a holiday in Eastbourne & as forward thinking as the Bush administration's foreign policies. My advice is forget the hype, listen first & honestly make up your own mind. Then if you still think it's worth buying get your ears cleaned out & take a course in personal taste. God awful rubbish that wouldn't even be worth downloading let alone buying! The only reason I've bothered with this scathing review is to try & get the point across that Coldplay are really not much cop at all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you like U2......, 29 Jun 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: X&Y (Audio CD)
Excellent album, with a number of tracks reminiscent of early U2 (when they were good!). You can almsot see The Edge on stage....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 2 Sep 2005
This review is from: X&Y (Audio CD)
This album is amazing- the ambience it creates is so atmospheric and relaxing. "Fix You" is brilliant BUY IT NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Listen and judge for yourself, 6 Jun 2005
By 
Ms. L. poole (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: X&Y (Audio CD)
I think this is Coldplays finest album to date, yep i know others have knocked it but listen and make your own mind up about it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best, 31 Jan 2006
By 
S. Haugh "haughsc" (Salisbury) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: X&Y (Audio CD)
This album has become one of the best for me. Its got everything and really gets your emotions working overtime. Top drawer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 33 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Have your fingernails pulled out instead. Less painful., 11 Nov 2005
By 
Nick Cassidy (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: X&Y (Audio CD)
Earjarrinsickmakinwhinginwhinincraptalkinoverratednevergivinborin...Coldplay. Why does anyone buy this complete and utter drivel?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic as usual, 28 May 2006
By 
Ian (Geordieland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: X&Y (Audio CD)
If you loike there other records then you will love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IN MY ALL-TIME TOP 10!!!, 7 Jun 2005
By 
A.S.M. 75 (EDISON, NEW JERSEY) - See all my reviews
This review is from: X&Y (Audio CD)
Simply put, the first album that has brought me to tears! Chris Martin's vocals are the strongest yet and the band sounds like a band full of chemistry. This is a great record you can listen to from beginning to end and enjoy all the tracks. My only disappointment is that they decided to add a newer version of "Talk". The original version was nothing short of ear candy and I hope that they will issue it as a b-side somewhere along the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worse than racism..., 4 Mar 2008
By 
Ben J. Johnson "Jokei" (On the sofa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: X&Y (Audio CD)
I can try and qualify this, but that title line is only half in jest. I'm gonna set it out in points and yes, I do realise one mans meat is anothers poison.

1) This is generally lowering the standards of artistry in music, such mundane sub-Buckley drivel is not acceptable, insidious mess that has no emotional impact.

2) Chris Martin, technically is an awful, atonal singer, he quite possibly has more in common with Dustin Hoffman in Rain Man than anyone else to have ever picked up a microphone.

3) Kids today would rather buy Playstation or Xbox games than music, anyone question that perhaps, maybe, just maybe it's because sanitised pap like this is turning them off of it? Honestly, I'd rather never hear music again than suffer this.

4) The majority of the reviews of this album (especially on here) seem to be from people with little or no interest in music. ie: they're not buying anything different - you know, the odd little records, with 1 or 2 articulate, passionate reviews. The last review I read was from a tabloid reader for gods sake. Seemingly, in conclusion the people that "like" this buy it to listen to to stop the roaring silence in their heads when not occupied with something.

6) Again, Chris Martin is a terrible specimen of humanity and should not be endorsed with any money. To be signed to a major record label, with a questionable moral history and then complain about "wars" and "starving children" seems a little rich to say the least... To the very best of my knowledge writing "no more war" on his hand at an awards ceremony, has not yet actually stopped any wars or realistically raised awareness of them - nothing but a glib attempt at self-promotion. Perhaps donating the profits from the next album to help clear up landmines, might make a difference, but when your Primrose Hill residence needs gold plating bi-annualy don't expect it any time soon.

7) In summation, this is a foul, cancerous record (as are all the others), that is generally lowering the standards for others.

You should all be ashamed of yourselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 148 49 50 51 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

X & Y
X & Y by Coldplay
Buy MP3 Album£3.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews