Shop now Shop Clothing clo_fly_aw15_NA_shoes Shop All Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop Amazon Fire TV Shop now Shop Fire HD 6 Shop Kindle Voyage Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

771
4.7 out of 5 stars
Am-Tech A3 Cutting Mat
Item Package Quantity: 1Size: A3Change
Price:£3.86+Free shipping (Addon item)
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 3 October 2012
I am really pleased with this cutting mat.

It is an excellent size, 450mm x 600mm, and it is 3mm thick.

One side is a marked grid of centimetre squares, 42 x 57, and the other side is blank.

I have purchased several cutting mats over the past few years and this is comparable in quality to the best of them, I use them primarily in my shed and actually screw them to my worktops to provide protection and additional grip.

This item cost just £5.99 delivered which is excellent value considering its size.

Recommended.

UPDATE: I have now purchased two of these mats in total, both from the MarketPlace Seller 'Babz Media'; they were both £5.99 delivered, and arrived in just a few days via recorded delivery. Superb value and service!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
64 of 65 people found the following review helpful
on 12 March 2010
Very pleased with this craft board - its well made - well marked out - good quality item and saves this risk of doing any damage to tables you use for craft work - you can use your craft tools on it without any problems - buy it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
129 of 133 people found the following review helpful
on 21 October 2011
I bought this item to replace my old cutting mat that had become warped and no longer laid flat (mainly because I'd put something hot on it and it was really old).

I used my old one as a writing/cutting mat to protect my desk from scratches, so it was important that the new one would sit flat enough to do the same (plus cutting anything on a warped mat is a real pain). So when it arrived I was disappointed to find that it was all bent out of shape due to the poor packing that was used to ship it in. Fortunately after using a hot hairdryer and some really heavy books I was able to get it to lie flat, however the plastic used for this cutting mat is really soft and as a result there are several large indentations that wont flatten out (the worst one is from the cardboard packaging that was folded under the mat and has created a sizable bump across the right hand side of the mat).

To be honest if you're looking for a cutting mat that is durable and will withstand a lot of use I wouldn't recommend this one as there is no way it will last (soft plastic and a sharp craft knife don't mix).

I would recommend spending a little more money and get a 'West Design Cutting Mat' as it's made from much tougher plastic and it'll last for years (provided you don't put a really hot cup of tea on it, like I did).
55 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
on 6 August 2010
we use this cutting board to cut and shape sugar paste. it has a thickly constructed base and gives the user confidence that a sharp knife would not go through the board and damage the table top.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
on 28 July 2011
If you have a rotary cutter, you have to have one of these. The small size of this one is useful for manoevering and I can cut fabric anywhere easily. I will definitely be buying a large version as well.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
on 1 November 2010
Bought this for a product design course. It proved essential. Works well, heals well and is great value for money.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
on 1 January 2013
Some marks are left after cutting but really strong and good for patchwork. Back side is good for cutting too.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
I first encountered this type of cutting board when working in an art studio as an administrator/manager. I had always used several waste mounting boards in the past but the knife blade would quickly cut through and I was constantly adding and removing a board or two. These are a lot more durable and I have three different sizes currently, one sub-A4, another larger than A4 and this.

The boards have a grid marked out on one side and these allow correct corner angles and cutting to certain sizes where needed. They do not last forever and will need replacement when heavily blade-marked. Although self-repairing in the sense that the cuts in the surface may not be too apparent, if you often cut along a line, the cuts will deepen and widen and, at some point, the blade may skip or jump, a potentially dangerous prospect.

You will need a good 'straight-edge' and a sharp knife for best results.

A lot less expensive now than once they were, there is now no excuse to hold onto one way beyond its usefulness and safety.

It will protect your furniture, carpet and whatever else if you do any cutting with a sharp blade.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 9 November 2012
The A3 footprint of this makes it an ideal size to work with!
The material is strong, durable and grips worktops, tables etc. superbly!
The cutting mat comes with one side printed (rulered grid) but the faces are both equally non-slip so you could use one side until it becomes too degraded before turning the other way.
The mat holds workpieces in place well, allowing for accurate cutting; I've cut/ trimmed many hundreds of pieces on my board (plastic, card and paper) and although the finish is starting to matt the cuts/inscissions seem to "heal up" after each use. The cuts are visible with careful inspection but so far I haven't cut through to the other side; I found that you get a "feel" for the board quite quickly so that you don't over-exert the knife/tool while cutting.
This is an ideal aid for the hobbyist, whether making greetings cards, scratch building scale models, applique or scrap-booking. It's almost like having a spare pair of hands, and saves accidently damaging worktops etc! I don't know whether it would work well with material/fabric.
If you're looking for materials that will work with this you could try styrene sheet Evergreen Styrene Sheet Plain 0.5mm (0.020"),Evergreen Styrene Sheet Plain Assorted - 010", 020", 040" or card 50 SHEETS A4 RECYCLED WHITE CARD 175gsm,CRAFTWORLD 100 SHEETS A4 ASSORTED COLOURED CARD 190gsm
Tools to get the best out of this superb aid would include craft knife set Rolson Tools 62926 36 piece Hobby Knife Set in Clear Plastic Box, compass cutter Jakar Compass Cutter or rotary cutters Silverline 184953 3-in-1 45mm Rotary Cutter Blades
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
on 8 January 2011
when i ordered this i thought is it really gonna be any good? well the answer to that question is YES.

it stays put when using it on my table, which im glad about as i thought it might move about.

its good quality for the money as i have seen these for a lot more money.

i will be ordering another one very soon to leave at my other halfs house for when i do my crafting over there.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 10 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.