Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fred Astaire Why didn't they clone him?
I know I am prejudiced and anything that Fred did is such a joy to me but I have to say that this compilation provided hours of pleasure. The quality of the recording is quite good considering that some of it was made almost a century ago!Some people feel that he should have stuck to the dancing but I love that wistful and whimsical sound.
If you are a fan then this...
Published on 8 Jun 2010 by Iris O'Sullivan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars the finest Fred Astaire although i think that Ginger Rodgers was ...
the finest Fred Astaire although i think that Ginger Rodgers was missing in some of the songs ie The Piccolino.
Published 2 months ago by PATRICIA GOLDBERG


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fred Astaire Why didn't they clone him?, 8 Jun 2010
By 
This review is from: Dancing Cheek to Cheek: His 56 Finest 1926-1952 (Audio CD)
I know I am prejudiced and anything that Fred did is such a joy to me but I have to say that this compilation provided hours of pleasure. The quality of the recording is quite good considering that some of it was made almost a century ago!Some people feel that he should have stuck to the dancing but I love that wistful and whimsical sound.
If you are a fan then this is for you.If not, perhaps you should have a look at some of his films first and then purchase!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Too Much of a Good Thing, 17 Jun 2013
By 
Mr. C. Morris "Watchman" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dancing Cheek to Cheek: His 56 Finest 1926-1952 (Audio CD)
Nothing really wrong with this compilation and there are a lot of tracks here. But as with the Noel Coward Retrospective compilation, something about it makes me not want to play it. It's a bit too thorough, a bit too relentless somehow. It doesn't have that cosy, warm feel to it, it's so comprehensive that you feel like you're scrolling down someone's Wikipedia entry. Sometimes, less is more.

Some great songs here, but the Fascinating Rhythm with Adele Astaire really is a bit grating, and the version of The Continental that closes Disc 2 seems to be taken from his later years. After a while, Disc 1 seemed to be just one song after another, it didn't build a mood or a narrative.

This CD has got it all on - save Needle in a Haystack from The Gay Divorcee, recently covered in the VW advert featuring a tall girl unlucky in love - but I prefer Fred as a sherry or glass of port rather than knocking one after another back all evening!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fred - something special!, 4 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dancing Cheek to Cheek: His 56 Finest 1926-1952 (Audio CD)
Not a great voice but somehow Fred does something special with any song. And then you think of him dancing. He was very special!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Oooh I'm in Heaven, 13 Oct 2011
This review is from: Dancing Cheek to Cheek: His 56 Finest 1926-1952 (Audio CD)
These are the original recordings & not the tracks or lyrics I am accustomed to, however the discs contain a mine of songs unknown to me which I'm sure will lift my spirits on those melancholy nights.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good, 21 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dancing Cheek to Cheek: His 56 Finest 1926-1952 (Audio CD)
there are a lot of tracks that get your feet tapping away,happy times of past films and music good price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All you could wish for, 17 Aug 2009
By 
S. Scrivener (Southampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dancing Cheek to Cheek: His 56 Finest 1926-1952 (Audio CD)
I bought this cd for my 8 year old Son who loves Fred Astaire films and who is a talented dancer. He has danced to it so much already and it is also great to listen to while cooking and dining. I would highly recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still wonderful to hear, 10 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dancing Cheek to Cheek: His 56 Finest 1926-1952 (Audio CD)
How I loved Fred Astaire films when I was a child (and we didn't have colour TV so no-one knew whether they were in Technicolor either) this brings it all back and I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hypnotic Fred Astaire., 4 Dec 2011
By 
Mr. A. H. Blyth "Alec Blyth" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dancing Cheek to Cheek: His 56 Finest 1926-1952 (Audio CD)
If you are already a fan, this albums for you. Authentic sounds rather than the more polished recent and "modern" recordings. At 16 pence a track, this is a bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FRED'S FINEST WILL GET YOUR FEET TAPPING, 15 Nov 2011
By 
D. H. Rose "Rosey" (NW England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dancing Cheek to Cheek: His 56 Finest 1926-1952 (Audio CD)
Just a delightful selection of Fred Astaire's hits! With me it was watching "Hooray To Hollywood" from The Proms that did it! All those tunes from films I used to watch on Sunday afternoons! They are all on this CD! Well worth the money, each song is short but sweet and you can hear EVERY word! When did clear diction go out of fashion?
No point in going through every song, just buy the CD and listen! You're quickly transported to a past world where everything was a lot simpler, and a lot easier to listen to!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Fabulous Fred Astaire, 29 Sep 2011
By 
Mike L (Norwich, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dancing Cheek to Cheek: His 56 Finest 1926-1952 (Audio CD)
This is a wonderful compilation with excellent natural sounding transfers by Nat Crick - worth spending a few more pounds to get this over the bargain priced AVID compilation The Essential Collection. And it has 'Night and Day'!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dancing Cheek to Cheek: His 56 Finest 1926-1952
Dancing Cheek to Cheek: His 56 Finest 1926-1952 by Fred Astaire (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews