Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An album and a half (in more ways than one)
This is a double CD pack containing Coldplay's recent album - Viva La Vida or Death and All His Friends - and their even more recent EP - Prospekt's March. I have written more in depth reviews of the albums on their respective pages, but I can first say that they are excellent, and that the price that this product is currently listed at makes it a bargain. Added to that,...
Published on 18 Dec 2008 by Robbie Swale

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A very good CD from Coldplay.
This was bought as a present for a family member, who enjoys listening to Coldplay. They seem to be pleased with this CD!
Published 3 months ago by M. R. Cook


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An album and a half (in more ways than one), 18 Dec 2008
By 
Robbie Swale - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Viva la Vida or Death and All His Friends/Prospekt's March (Audio CD)
This is a double CD pack containing Coldplay's recent album - Viva La Vida or Death and All His Friends - and their even more recent EP - Prospekt's March. I have written more in depth reviews of the albums on their respective pages, but I can first say that they are excellent, and that the price that this product is currently listed at makes it a bargain. Added to that, given the close relationship between the two CDs, it would seem strange to me to buy one without the other - particularly (given that I'm writing this at Christmas time) if you are buying this as a gift.

I see Viva La Vida as an album as Coldplay's most progressive. It doesn't sound much like any of their other albums, and seems to draw on a variety of influences. I quite want to write that it doesn't have as many obvious piano or guitar `songs' on it as previous albums, but that would seem to ignore the first two singles - Violet Hill and the epic and brilliant title track Viva La Vida, as well as Lovers In Japan, which is one of my favourites here, and to a lesser extent Lost. In addition to that there is a feeling of experimentation - at least for Coldplay - there are songs tucked away at the ends of other songs, big changes between the first and second halves of songs, a beauty of an instrumental opener (see further down), and an absolutely majestic closing track, which is reminds me somehow of what would happen if Coldplay tried to write a song like I Am The Resurrection.

Prospekt's March is an EP of songs that Coldplay thought either weren't ready for the album or didn't fit with it. Plus a couple of `remixes' thrown in. The remixes are there to pad out the EP, really, and don't add much - Jay Z's rapping is easily forgettable (although I like rhyming Jesus/Judas with Caesar/Brutus) and I couldn't tell you what's different about the new version of Lovers in Japan. But Glass of Water is almost single-worthy, Now My Feet Won't Touch The Ground is a closer very much in the vein of the magic Til Kingdom Come (on X&Y) and Life In Technicolor ii is the potential single of the album. It is great as an instrumental on Viva La Vida, but brilliant here.

All in all, I am clearly a Coldplay fan, and clearly a fan of both the album and the EP. The deal to buy them together seems good, and I would suggest that everyone who has the album should also have the EP. If only for Life In Technicolor ii.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life In Technicolour., 6 Jan 2009
By 
Flickering Ember "I need a break and I wanna ... (Once Upon A Long Ago.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Viva la Vida or Death and All His Friends/Prospekt's March (Audio CD)
This album is classic Coldplay with a twist, and this deluxe edition is even better as of course it includes a whole extra disc packed with music which sounds like the first disc, so more classic Coldplay with a twist.

There are the same melancholy, slightly ambient, distant, dreamy vocals with introspective sensations, but with more upbeat and semi-electronica instrumentals added.

Most people will already have heard Violet Hill, which even people who don't like Coldplay have taken to. It is the highlight of the first disc. The entire album is of the same high standard, as expected of the band. Every song seems to flow effortlessly into the next, and it's both easy to listen to and to relax to, but can also be an album which demands your attention and focus and which you find yourself listening to intensely and being stimulated by.

As for the Prospekts March EP, Life In Technicolour is the most commercial sounding, rocky piece, and it's not what you'd probably expect from Coldplay as it's less sedate than most of their music. Still great though and a favourite track on this disc. Postcards From Far Away is a great intermission between the aforementioned opening track and the next track Glass Of Water, which opens with vocals immediately; Postcards is a modern classical piano instrumental, the only criticism of which is its brevity. Glass Of Water is a brilliant track, very Coldplay-esque and one which should have been included in the main release.

The strings which feature strongly in rainy Day and a little less so in Prospekts March/Poppyfields add a great point of interest to the album and sound very different and unique. Lost+ is another strong track with elements of Give Peace A Chance by John Lennon with the rhythmic hand-clapping, and has Jay-Z adding a rap. In fact, I almost feel that this second EP should have been the main release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A worthy purchase, 29 Oct 2009
By 
S. P. MARLEY (Blackpool) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Viva la Vida or Death and All His Friends/Prospekt's March (Audio CD)
On the strength of being a Coldplay fan (since X&Y) and the exposure as a single of Viva La Vida, I made the decision to buy this double CD album, and I have been royally rewarded - it is really good.

Right from the impressive opening instrumental track Life in Technicolor, your ears will be treated to some excellent music, and also some decent lyrics for those of you that like to delve into the deeper meanings of songs.

My favorites, aside from the title track on Disc 1, are Lost and Glass of Water (a stunning track). The only small gripe is the lack of lyrics to accompany the CD's, all you get are arty pictures. Overall though, well done Coldplay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's coldplay so it's not likely to be bad is it?, 8 Jun 2010
By 
C. Clements - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Viva la Vida or Death and All His Friends/Prospekt's March (Audio CD)
No it's not bad. In fact it's very good. From the very first track Life in Technicolor right to the last chord of Death and All his friends there's not a bad tune amongst them. Personal favs of mine are the title track and Lovers in Japan/Reign of Lovers.

The double ablum on offer is remarkable value for a couple of extra pound you get another album into the deal so I would recommend that over the single album.

Being critical however, and I know I awarded this 4 Stars, I still prefer earlier albums Parachutes and X & Y which is their finest work in my humble opionion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing short of brilliant!, 31 May 2010
This review is from: Viva la Vida or Death and All His Friends/Prospekt's March (Audio CD)
Yes, put quite simply the album 'Viva La Vida' is absolutely brilliant and people who say otherwise have quite obviously not listened to it. Given that you get the latest EP 'Prospekt's March' in with the album for no extra is a total no-brainer! I purchased both of these on release, each for the full price and they are without doubt easily worth every penny. So the fact that you get both for the price of one is awesome. The video to 'Life in technicolor ii' is fantastic. If you haven't seen it, go and check it out. It's my favourite music video. :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Coldplay - Viva la Vida & Propekts March, 6 Feb 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Viva la Vida or Death and All His Friends/Prospekt's March (Audio CD)
Brilliant, fantastic, wonderful - if you are a fan of Coldplay you'll agree!

Glad I waited to buy Vida so got both Vida and Propekts March for about £1 more than buying each singly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 7/10, 17 Jan 2009
By 
K. Plumb (Torquay, Devon, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Viva la Vida or Death and All His Friends/Prospekt's March (Audio CD)
I recently bought this item as i wanted both CDs. The first CD is predominantly better however Prospekts March EP does 2 or 3 great Coldplay songs like Life in Technicolor ii, Lost+ etc. Viva La Vida also has some very good songs but also has more songs then the 2nd CD. However some of the songs do seem out of place and not Coldplay 'Greats' but overall for under £9 i think true coldplay fans would be impressed. Those who have always disliked coldplay and want to see if they've changed particuarly, dont waste your time because coldplay carry on doing what their best at.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!!, 6 Nov 2009
By 
This review is from: Viva la Vida or Death and All His Friends/Prospekt's March (Audio CD)
Although surprised it came in a soft cover, I assumed it would be a hard cd cover. The contents were fab!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 17 Mar 2014
By 
Sergio Horta (Gaia, Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Viva la Vida or Death and All His Friends/Prospekt's March (Audio CD)
For all Coldplay's fans, this is a must have. Great edition, and a great album, one of their best. Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The best Coldplay record so far., 6 Mar 2014
By 
Asgeir Notvik "asgeirn" (Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Viva la Vida or Death and All His Friends/Prospekt's March (Audio CD)
I really like the way Chris Martin is singing on this album, using in general a far more darker pitch than his usual falsetto voice.

also, the songs found on these two records are in my book better compositions than most of the songs found on their previous albums, especially when you look at their records summarized.

Violet Hill features a cool bridge that reminds me of one of Norway's finest; Kaizers Orchestra.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews