Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Iggy, 10 Feb 2002
This review is from: New Values (Audio CD)
In my opinion this is definitely one of Iggy's better solo efforts although not generally classified as a classic. Recorded after his Berlin sojourn with David Bowie and teaming up again with his ex-Stooges partner-in-crime James Williamson this album has a slightly less punky edge than its predecessor 'Lust for Life' probably best described as Iggy's new wave album.
Nevertheless this still sounds like classic Iggy. You can really imagine Iggy bouncing around the stage in his own imitable way to tracks like 'Five Foot One' and the title track 'New Values', both of which are real stormers. The Doors-esque 'The Endless Sea' is reminiscent of the classic Stooges track 'We Will Fall' and on this re-mastered issue you get the original single from the album 'I'm Bored' with its clever wordplay chorus together with its B-side 'Pretty Flamingo' as one of the extra tracks.
If you're not really familiar with Iggy's solo work you can't really go wrong with this album. There's a good collection of styles here that work together to make a cohesive and easily listenable to album. A must for fans and a great starter for future ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bit of a gem, this 'un..., 9 Dec 2008
By 
Og Oggilby "Og Oggilby" (North London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: New Values (Audio CD)
Iggy Pop's Arista Records era is not regarded as one of his classic periods - with some justification, it must be said. However, with 'New Values', he did start off pretty well. The sound of the album - quite lean, with undistorted guitars adding a metallic sheen to the ambience, care of ex-Stooge James Williamson - differs from the harsh sound of the Stooges, and the electronic textures of The Idiot and Lust For Life, and 'New Values' sounds both fresh and refreshed. 'I'm Bored' raises a chuckle, and 'Girls', with it's witty rewrite / steal from the George Gershwin standard 'Summertime', is similarly good. 'Pretty Flamingo', a single B side, is not the Manfred Mann hit, but an Iggy original that's pleasant enough. 'New Values' is not quite five-star Iggy, but gets very close, and is well worth spending time, trouble, and, of course, money, over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ARISTA ERA ALBUM, 22 Oct 2013
By 
HAYLING BOOK & MUSIC VENUE (HBMV) "Hayling Is... (26 Rails Lane Hayling Island) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: New Values (Audio CD)
Iggy recorded three albums for Arista - this is the second best of the bunch ('Soldier' being a real corker!).

At this time, Iggy was in his post-Bowie phase and perhaps looking for a new direction. The result is an album bursting with strong, intelligent compositions, making this a great listen and a worthy addition to the Iggy Pop back catalogue.

Don't pass it by - give it a go; I don't think you will be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review Title, 16 Mar 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: New Values (Audio CD)
Like those cheesy new bank and car ads? Wanna know where the tunes came from? Feel old and depressed watching the last vestiges of alt culture being sold down the river? That's the New Amerikan Century for yer kids. Most of The Ramones are dead for crying out loud.. The once cool kids from college are now pimping for Saatchi. Its 'The End of the Century.'
This is the real thing, the raw material. Throw out that Shite Wipes/Stwokes quirky formulaic mediocrity. Buy this record, help Iggy gas up the Rolls Royce and go tooling around Miami beach in his old age, Lord knows he deserves it.. A f@ck off classic record from the days when. 'Its good in the jungle..'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Iggy's best solo album?, 9 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Values (Audio CD)
This album is a joy and it has aged well. Great playing, memorable songs, well produced, some with a mellow, reflective feel. An album you can listen to all the way through without skipping tracks, there just aren't any poor songs. Iggy's singing is as exhuberent as ever, yet also controlled and engaging. It is the first Iggy solo album I listened to and bought, back in 1982, which may help to explain why it is still my favourite, although 'Lust For Life' and 'The Idiot' run it close.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Iggy at his best, 28 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Values (Audio CD)
In my opinion, I think this is Iggy's best album. Every song is a winner. Musically it is solid with well structured songs; lyrically it captures the essence of Iggy's sense of humour and rebellious nature. This is a fun album and a must for any wholesome collection. It is so good I had to buy a copy for my daughter, who also loves it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best Iggy solo album by quite a shot, 1 Jun 2009
This review is from: New Values (Audio CD)
So this is it, the best Iggy solo album by a long shot. Lean and mean and bristling with creative energy. Sure, the Idiot has a certain germanic cool and Lust For Life has it's moments, but compared to this!!! Nuff said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars UNDISCOVERED GEM, 16 Jan 2013
By 
P. Storey "pstorey" (newcastle upon tyne, tyne and wear United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: New Values (Audio CD)
forget lust for life,raw power, the idiot and the rest , this is the best iggy pop album, the best produced and great songs. i love the solo on "Im bored". not sure if its underrated or undiscovered but I love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE solo Iggy album to buy, 8 Feb 2012
This review is from: New Values (Audio CD)
'Billy is a runaway' - a really cool song on an album full of cool songs (except for 'The endless sea', which I think is tedious rubbish). I've never actually considered myself a massive Iggy Pop fan - although I do have 'The Stooges', 'Funhouse', 'Raw Power', 'Kill City', 'Lust for life' and this album, so I suppose I do like him a fair bit - and I never play his stuff much (mostly because it's gathering dust on vinyl I suppose), but it's always a real pleasure to rediscover this music and remember just how good it really is. This has to be my favourite Iggy solo album, with quirky, seemingly made up on-the-spot lyrics, excellent giutars, it's catchy, fun and feel-good and just great original music. 'Girls', 'Five foot one', 'Curiosity', 'New values' - so many to choose from. I'm not sure, but I get the feeling this album is one of, if not THE most under-rated album in his back catalogue. But I'd certainly recommend this album as the one to buy above the others if you're looking for a great Iggy Pop record. Well worth the money. I would also say avoid 'The Idiot' - that album sucks fat ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

New Values
New Values by Iggy Pop
Buy MP3 Album£5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews