Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
11
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
5
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£5.99

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 February 2002
In my opinion this is definitely one of Iggy's better solo efforts although not generally classified as a classic. Recorded after his Berlin sojourn with David Bowie and teaming up again with his ex-Stooges partner-in-crime James Williamson this album has a slightly less punky edge than its predecessor 'Lust for Life' probably best described as Iggy's new wave album.
Nevertheless this still sounds like classic Iggy. You can really imagine Iggy bouncing around the stage in his own imitable way to tracks like 'Five Foot One' and the title track 'New Values', both of which are real stormers. The Doors-esque 'The Endless Sea' is reminiscent of the classic Stooges track 'We Will Fall' and on this re-mastered issue you get the original single from the album 'I'm Bored' with its clever wordplay chorus together with its B-side 'Pretty Flamingo' as one of the extra tracks.
If you're not really familiar with Iggy's solo work you can't really go wrong with this album. There's a good collection of styles here that work together to make a cohesive and easily listenable to album. A must for fans and a great starter for future ones.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Iggy recorded three albums for Arista - this is the second best of the bunch ('Soldier' being a real corker!).

At this time, Iggy was in his post-Bowie phase and perhaps looking for a new direction. The result is an album bursting with strong, intelligent compositions, making this a great listen and a worthy addition to the Iggy Pop back catalogue.

Don't pass it by - give it a go; I don't think you will be disappointed.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2011
This album is a joy and it has aged well. Great playing, memorable songs, well produced, some with a mellow, reflective feel. An album you can listen to all the way through without skipping tracks, there just aren't any poor songs. Iggy's singing is as exhuberent as ever, yet also controlled and engaging. It is the first Iggy solo album I listened to and bought, back in 1982, which may help to explain why it is still my favourite, although 'Lust For Life' and 'The Idiot' run it close.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2005
Like those cheesy new bank and car ads? Wanna know where the tunes came from? Feel old and depressed watching the last vestiges of alt culture being sold down the river? That's the New Amerikan Century for yer kids. Most of The Ramones are dead for crying out loud.. The once cool kids from college are now pimping for Saatchi. Its 'The End of the Century.'
This is the real thing, the raw material. Throw out that Shite Wipes/Stwokes quirky formulaic mediocrity. Buy this record, help Iggy gas up the Rolls Royce and go tooling around Miami beach in his old age, Lord knows he deserves it.. A f@ck off classic record from the days when. 'Its good in the jungle..'
11 comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Iggy Pop's Arista Records era is not regarded as one of his classic periods - with some justification, it must be said. However, with 'New Values', he did start off pretty well. The sound of the album - quite lean, with undistorted guitars adding a metallic sheen to the ambience, care of ex-Stooge James Williamson - differs from the harsh sound of the Stooges, and the electronic textures of The Idiot and Lust For Life, and 'New Values' sounds both fresh and refreshed. 'I'm Bored' raises a chuckle, and 'Girls', with it's witty rewrite / steal from the George Gershwin standard 'Summertime', is similarly good. 'Pretty Flamingo', a single B side, is not the Manfred Mann hit, but an Iggy original that's pleasant enough. 'New Values' is not quite five-star Iggy, but gets very close, and is well worth spending time, trouble, and, of course, money, over.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2016
New Values is not among Iggy Pop's most famous studio albums, but perhaps one of his most complete records. Check out New Values, African Man, Girls, Angel, Five Foot One and I'm bored - I am the chairman of the board ...... .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2012
In my opinion, I think this is Iggy's best album. Every song is a winner. Musically it is solid with well structured songs; lyrically it captures the essence of Iggy's sense of humour and rebellious nature. This is a fun album and a must for any wholesome collection. It is so good I had to buy a copy for my daughter, who also loves it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2013
forget lust for life,raw power, the idiot and the rest , this is the best iggy pop album, the best produced and great songs. i love the solo on "Im bored". not sure if its underrated or undiscovered but I love it
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2012
'Billy is a runaway' - a really cool song on an album full of cool songs (except for 'The endless sea', which I think is tedious rubbish). I've never actually considered myself a massive Iggy Pop fan - although I do have 'The Stooges', 'Funhouse', 'Raw Power', 'Kill City', 'Lust for life' and this album, so I suppose I do like him a fair bit - and I never play his stuff much (mostly because it's gathering dust on vinyl I suppose), but it's always a real pleasure to rediscover this music and remember just how good it really is. This has to be my favourite Iggy solo album, with quirky, seemingly made up on-the-spot lyrics, excellent giutars, it's catchy, fun and feel-good and just great original music. 'Girls', 'Five foot one', 'Curiosity', 'New values' - so many to choose from. I'm not sure, but I get the feeling this album is one of, if not THE most under-rated album in his back catalogue. But I'd certainly recommend this album as the one to buy above the others if you're looking for a great Iggy Pop record. Well worth the money. I would also say avoid 'The Idiot' - that album sucks fat ones.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2009
So this is it, the best Iggy solo album by a long shot. Lean and mean and bristling with creative energy. Sure, the Idiot has a certain germanic cool and Lust For Life has it's moments, but compared to this!!! Nuff said.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)