Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars By the fans for the fans
This Greatest Hits compilation CD has been released following the complete remixes of Megadeth's albums released by Capitol records. This is indeed one of the albums strengths: all the songs now sound better than ever and since they were personally remixed and remastered by Dave Mustaine himself sound the way they should.
The tracks on the compilation give an...
Published on 19 Aug 2005 by babyg_pe

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor quality
I bought this to add to my itunes library as I have lost some Megadeth CD's over time. The selection of songs is as you would expect from Megadeth all the best ones, however the quality of these songs is very poor and very low volume compared to other digital purchases I have made both on amazon and itunes.

Better grabbing the CD!
Published on 12 Nov 2010 by Simon Donald


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars By the fans for the fans, 19 Aug 2005
This Greatest Hits compilation CD has been released following the complete remixes of Megadeth's albums released by Capitol records. This is indeed one of the albums strengths: all the songs now sound better than ever and since they were personally remixed and remastered by Dave Mustaine himself sound the way they should.
The tracks on the compilation give an excellent overview of Megadeth's back catalogue and since they were chosen by Megadeth fans, no good song has been overlooked. There's even tracks from Megadeths pre-Capitol records days and from their post-Capitol days: Mechanix from Megdeth's 1985's "Killing Is My Business...and Business Is Good!" which is no doubt to draw in some Metallica fans curious to hear this version of a song written by Mustaine when he was in Metallica, and Dread And The Fugitive Mind from 2002 "The World Needs a Hero". Unfortunatltly there is nothing from "The System Has Failed" which is by far Megadeth's strongest album since the mid 1990's, but legal issues more than any other reason have stood in the way of putting any more songs released on the Sanctuary label.
Still, this album is packed full of great songs, solos, riffs, lyrics that will have any metal fan banging their head.
The DVD is also an excellent bonus. The sound levels are really poor in the live section (you can barely hear Marty Friedman's guitar!) but the songs included are great and to watch Dave Mustaine doing what he does best is worth more than what you pay extra to get the DVD - check out his solo in Symphony of Destruction and Hangar 18 is even better live.
Overall, this is a much better Greatest Hits compilation than "Capitol Punishment" and with the extra live DVD it is definitely worth a listen/watch. Its just a shame there is no songs from "The System Has Failed" and the notes in the booklet have had little or no input from Dave Mustaine, which is a shame as his notes in the remixed albums are superb...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars starting point, 14 Jun 2007
the best of megadeth....never gonna be easy to whittle it down to 15 odd tracks but they have done a pretty good job at representing the bands back catologue on this cd.

the majority of the essentials are here from the insane thrash of hangar 18 and holy wars through to the drug fuelled paranoia of sweating bullets and in my darkest hour(arguably one of the finest songs any of the big 4 wrote)

they are even brave enough to include tracks for the slightly sub standard albums of the late 90`s...not to everyones taste bu they have a part to play in the evolution of the band

you can see as the band evolved they got more groove and more melodic....the only poor effort is a pointless remix of the mechanix... only done to allow them to put it on this compilation (so in that respect job done) as it is a great reworking of the metallica version.

but we can argue about Horsemen and the mechanix for years...that is not what we are here for....this is a very solid collection of songs....not the best overall but a very good cross section for new comers...if you own the albums leave this alone if you have only heard about the band start here to see what style of megadeth suits you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mustaine Fights Til The Deth, 3 April 2006
By A Customer
Who would have thought that 20 odd years after Dave Mustaine was told by James Hetfield and Lars Ulrich to clear up his alcohol problems (quite ironic given later alochol related events within Metallica) that he would be able to offer this collection of Metal majestry to the world, appropriately titled Back To The Start (which I still believe is a dig at Metallica for abandoning their musical roots.)In terms of the musical content within this album, well there really isn't any filler whatsoever, the classics come thick and fast (Symphony of Destruction, anyone?) and the album does a very good job of charting the bands alteration in sounds throughout the 20 years since there conception. Whilst diehard 'Deth fans have been (quite rightly) quick to criticise individual album releases (Risk has reserved it's place in the Patheneon of most Overrated Metal albums ever) the collection of songs extrated from those albums on Back To The Start is flawless. If you have any sort of passing interest in Metal music or want to develop your musical taste, Back To The Start is just about the perefect place to,well, Start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A pretty good remastered "encapsulation" of Megadeth's career, but not really a proper best of!, 21 Aug 2009
By 
I've listened to my share of thrash in the past many years, and Megadeth always remained a favourite for their uncompromisingly heavy sound and great snarling vocals. Or should I say "did" remain up until around the mid 90s when they fell into the mellow and soft trend that Metallica set with their Black Album and became a bore. Thus I was curious at this Greatest Hits; would it be all of their *best" songs or just a bunch of tracks from each album in order? Well I'm glad to say it is more of the former and less of the latter. First off, I need to just get out of the way that the songs on here sounds absolutely favbulous after the remastering that they've been put through. They aren't radically different, just enhance with better clarity, balance and whatnot - for instance the drums on Holy Wars are pushed higher into the mix so the already great song sounds even fuller and richer. So the songs do sounds great. But the more pressing issue of tracklisting: well, from a purely subjective fan standpoint, here's what I think.

Most of Megadeth's commercial hits, like Hangar 18, Symphony of Destruction, Wake Up Dead, Holy Wars and Peace Sells are all here. There are also some bogeys in the form of Kill the King, Trust and the truly dreadful Prince of Darkness. Also slightly suspect is the inclusion of Tout Le Monde, a poor song in my opinion but apparantly popular amongst others. There are some pretty glaring omissions too: Tornado of Souls? Lucretia? Frankly I would've expected practically the entire Rust in Peace album to be on here, it's clearly their best work. But as a summary of Megadeth's whole career, it doesn't do a bad job. It could've been a bit better, but it does encapsulate the whole Megadeth library pretty well with plenty of songs from their other two great albums (Peace Sells and Countdown). Sure, it could've had a few more good songs in place of the late 90s filler material, but hey, Mustaine chose the songs and is supposedly proud of *all* his work (eyeroll at this point).

Overall, this album is hard to dislike: only a few songs off their best album (Rust in Peace) are on here, but the rest of the songs are pretty good too. The songs also sounds fantastic now, so it's probably just worth picking up to hear the great songs even better. For a newcomer to Megadeth, I almost reluctantly recommend this, but let's hope someday they just remaster Rust in Peace and we get that too - would be the perfect pair :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor quality, 12 Nov 2010
By 
Simon Donald "thugernomics666" (Scotland, Montrose) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits: Back To The Start (Digital Only) (MP3 Download)
I bought this to add to my itunes library as I have lost some Megadeth CD's over time. The selection of songs is as you would expect from Megadeth all the best ones, however the quality of these songs is very poor and very low volume compared to other digital purchases I have made both on amazon and itunes.

Better grabbing the CD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Megadeth Greatest hits,a definate buy !!!, 30 Jun 2008
By 
A. Compton "Tc" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have just purchased megadeths greatest hits from amazon and what a collection of total masterpieces they are.
I have listened to megadeth for about fifteen or so years and have heard every song over and over but despite that this collection is proof that theyre music stands the test of time.
Most of the songs have been remastered and the clarity and punch of every beat hits you in the face when turned up.
The best thing about this compilation is that every song one after the other are good and work well until the end, not like some comps you get when half the songs tend to be skipped, you can leave it to play and its cool. so from a total fan from me to you" BUY BUY BUY IT "
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An awesome introduction to an awesome band, 15 Jan 2008
By 
I recently got into megadeth having been a fan of stuff like AC DC and iron maiden for a while now. I can honestly say that this band is totally amazing, vocals and lyrics are sublime and the music its self will have you gently head banging whereever you are listening to it.

Would highly recommend to anyone interested in megadeth
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deth., 13 Jun 2007
By 
Jasper Wong "jbywong" (Canterbury, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Devistatingly Heavy, megadeth are the band that metallica once were. Megadeth was formed when the guitarist of metallica was fired due to 'substance abuse'. Hopping mad, he decided to start a band called Megadeth, which has been going for over 20 years now. Megadeth's 'Greatest Hits' compilation really has the best songs from their many CD's, including Peace Sells, Wake Up Dead, Holy Wars: the punishment due. Megadeth's rage filled music is very helpful to relieve anger; but is still a great listen netherless.

My ratings for the songs:

01 Holy Wars: the punishent due 10/10 One of my favourite metal songs of all time

02 In My Darkest Hour 9/10 Somewhat directed towards Metallica.

03 Peace Sells 10/10 Heavily catchy, amazing beginning.

04 Sweating Bullets 7/10 Good song, catchy beginning. (still very good, but the other songs ecllipse it)

05 Angry Again 9/10 Another angry anthem (featured in a movie on superheros...i forgot the name)

06 A Tout Le Monde 10/10 A slower megadeth song (I slightly prefer the newer version on United Abominations)

07 Trust 10/10 VERY catchy metal song, would probably appeal to non-metal listeners most.

08 Kill The King 8/10 Very Heavy Riff, but gets boring after a while

09 Symphony of Destruction 6/10 Gets a bit boring after a while

10 Mechanix (2002 Remix) 8.5/10 Mechanix by metallica, sped up, and angry.

11 Train Of Consequences 8.5/10 Great song

12 Wake Up Dead 10/10 METAL ANTHEM

13 Hangar 18 9/10 Apocalyptic vision of post nuclear earth

14 Dread and a Fugitive Mind 9/10 Let me introduce myself...

15 Skin of my teeth 6/10 Ordinary song

16 She Wolf 8/10 Strong and heavy song

17 Prince Of Darkness 8/10 Command and power...

As you can see, i really love megadeth. Dave Mustaine has carved out a band unlikely to be forgotten in the next 50 years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 8 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Everything was well done
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars description, 27 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i am sure this says this is the cd and dvd!where is the dvd as this is just the cd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews