Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful voice, fantastic tunes
Minnie Ripeton's voice is one of the most versatile and rich instruments ever heard. Her range, as showcased in 'Lovin You' was incredible, but it's the seductive tones of songs like 'Inside my Love' that really shine. 'Les Fleurs' is a trimphant and joyous psychedelic treat, the single most uplifting piece of music I know. There are a couple of filler tracks on here, but...
Published on 2 Aug. 2004 by S. Taylor

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars 'Loving you' is much better than the rest
Sounds as if most tracks are from an improvised jam session. 'Loving you' is much better than the rest.
Published 9 months ago by Brownshoe


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful voice, fantastic tunes, 2 Aug. 2004
By 
S. Taylor (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Minnie Ripeton's voice is one of the most versatile and rich instruments ever heard. Her range, as showcased in 'Lovin You' was incredible, but it's the seductive tones of songs like 'Inside my Love' that really shine. 'Les Fleurs' is a trimphant and joyous psychedelic treat, the single most uplifting piece of music I know. There are a couple of filler tracks on here, but there's too much quality to let that detract. A fantastic woman (she was a crusader for women's and cancer charities before she died) has left a legacy of unique music for us to enjoy. It would be rude not to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Near perfect, angel, 19 Jun. 2008
A well-chosen anthology spanning Minnie Ripperton's most creative and musically satisfying decade from the late sixties onwards.

Minnie is best known for LOVIN' YOU - which is rightly included here as, despite a little over-familiarity, it still stands as a deeply affecting performance of a truly great song. But evidently there is much, much more to Minnie than that.

As LOVIN' YOU demonstrates, Minnie was in possession of a breathtaking multi-octave vocal range. However, this collection also testifies to the sheer quality of her songwriting and breadth of musical vision. Minnie's talent clearly included the ability to co-produce her own songs, choose the best producers and musicians to work with and the refusal to waste her vocal talent on throwaway material (a frequent flaw in so many performers in this field). It is true that this is an album of mostly sweet, mid-tempo soul rather than out and out dance floor material but it really does encompass most of the enduring sounds and textures of 1970s Black American music.

The price of the album is justified on its own for the pair of Charles Stepney productions (LES FLEUR and I AM THE BLACK GOLD OF THE SUN), which are two achingly beautiful acoustic-psychedelic soul masterpieces dating from the very late '60s. Both were revived much later on by DJ Gilles Peterson and later covered by 4 Hero and Masters At Work (as Nu Yorican Soul).

You could also say the same for the much-sampled soul-jazz of INSIDE MY LOVE from 1975, which, like so many of Minnie's songs is just incredibly yet understatedly sexy. It was co-written and produced by Minnie and will also be familiar to anybody who has seen Quentin Tarrantino's "Jackie Brown". MEMORY LANE, from 1979, is very much in the same rich vein as Curtis Mayfield's best `70s output and is probably my favourite tune on the whole album (and, as I recall, a big Norman Jay tune from the days of his Original Musiquarium show on KISS FM). Another highlight is YOUNG, WILLING AND ABLE, with its jazzy, Roy Ayers-like feel.

In all, there are 15 tracks - with no fillers as far as I am concerned. As you will learn from Dean Rudland's excellent sleeve notes, in 1979 Minnie died tragically young at the age of just 31. This album is a fantastic tribute to her amazing, enduring talent and is ultimately a great collection of top quality soul music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Listening to this is like letting sunshine pour in., 24 Jan. 2002
By A Customer
This is an album you put on when it's cold and dark outside, and just let it warm you up! There are some fantastically funky tracks like 'Black gold of the sun' and the truly uplifting 'Les Fleurs'- which is quite possibly my favourite record of all time. Minnie Riperton has a voice that seems to float higher than anyone else's and then dip down so effortlessly, Whitney and Mariah should take note. Just a great collection, nicely done. No frills, good old fashioned soul with a lovely gospel edge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seminal artist sadly no longer with us, 29 Jun. 2007
By 
N. Hall "nh3136" (Berks, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If it wasn't for Nuyorican Soul, The Orb and filmwise Tarantino's Jackie Brown and Road Trip, I think I would have missed out on Minnie. She has a truly sexy voice and any album - which has Lovin' You (sampled by the Orb's A Huge Ever Brain...), I am The Black Gold of The Sun (as covered by Nuyorican Soul) and Inside My Love which featured on those aforementioned two films - gets my vote. True class - even if you discount everything else on the album, buy it for the sheer class of these tracks. I have not found any other song like Inside My Love to evoke, yes, such sexiness. Minnie and Jose Feliciano's cover of Light My Fire (well, OK Felicano's) is from where a certain Will Young (allegedly) plundered such an amazing rendition of The Doors' classic. Just buy this CD, if you love wonderful music with beauty and soul.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful voice, 25 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I can't express how much I love Minnie Ripertons's voice; such a beautiful voice, my favourites on this album are: I Am The Gold of The Sun & Les Fleurs - very uplifting songs. Inside My Love beautifully sung. Back Down Memory Lane; I defy anyone who cannot relate to this song. It brings back many memories of a very special friendship I had that came to an abrupt end. Loving you is by far by favourite, I first heard it when I was a teenager and loved it. Whenever I listen to this song I always think of this person. I would definitely recommend this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars minnie riperton a good collection to start with!!, 27 Aug. 2008
By 
Mr. S. L. Smith "musicman" (england carlisle cumbria) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
this is a good collection to start with put theres plenty other albums she has done that are fab!! the petals minnine riperton collction 2cd is a better collection then this!! but overall a good collection and the picture inside is lush the flowers!! thers is a few stand out tracks here les fleur loving you,perfect angel ,iam the black gold of the sun and others this is a good introduction but need more albums because there all essential!! bought this a few years ago its a good album for a goodnight in!! disco jazz soul!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A unique musical gem, 15 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Whilst not all of the tracks on this compilation are of the quality the shear bewildering strength of black gold, loving you and les fleurs means just these alone make this an essential purchase. You must but must have these tracks in your music collection. Sonic gold!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars minnie.., 5 Mar. 2010
By 
Simon Victor "soulman65" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I think it goes without saying, minnie was one of the greats, she had her own style and her music was very sexual. she reminds me of patrice rushen, when you hear thier songs you simply never forget them... R.I.P miss ripperton , you are missed by many x.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful voice, and some lovely songs, 1 Nov. 2001
By A Customer
This is a really lovely CD, without any weak tracks. However, there aren't that many fantastic tracks either, the whole thing is just solid and uplifting and joyous. A few of the songs start to sound the same after a while, but Riperton has an ability to move you through just the timbre of her voice, in a similar way to Aretha. Certainly a unique talent, and a valuable addition to any record collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars 'Loving you' is much better than the rest, 4 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sounds as if most tracks are from an improvised jam session. 'Loving you' is much better than the rest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Les Fleurs
Les Fleurs by Minnie Riperton
Buy MP3 Album£4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews