Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


70 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A most incredible, beautiful, and moving recording
I first became aware of Hodie when I performed the work in high school. While it is true that Vaughn-Williams does use a variety of styles, this is much more than a compendium of musical approaches. Each style is well chosen to provide an appropriate context for the words in a way matched by few composers - intimate in "The Oxen", hushed and reverential in...
Published on 3 Mar 2002

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointing reproduction
Having sung this work fifty years ago I was very disappointed with the sound which was woolly in places and sounded tired.
Published 23 months ago by Me Rathbone Heather


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

70 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A most incredible, beautiful, and moving recording, 3 Mar 2002
By A Customer
I first became aware of Hodie when I performed the work in high school. While it is true that Vaughn-Williams does use a variety of styles, this is much more than a compendium of musical approaches. Each style is well chosen to provide an appropriate context for the words in a way matched by few composers - intimate in "The Oxen", hushed and reverential in "No sad thought his soul affright", and imposing and even majesterial in "The March of the Three Kings". I can't imagine how anyone could listen to the Epilogue (especially as performed here) with it's quoting of the beginning of St. John's gospel without being utterly moved.
Because of the beauty of the work (only a critic would give it "bad press") and the quality of the performance, it quickly became one of my most beloved recordings, defining for me how this work should be performed just as Karl Richter's Mass in b Minor and Colin Davis's Mozart Requiem have. The singers all have incredibly beautiful voices and each use their voice very sensitively. Just listen to John Shirley-Quirk's simple yet eloquent singing in "The Oxen", describing the animals in the manger on their knees or Janet Baker's "Lullaby" with a beauty that can bring tears to your eyes. Richard Lewis likewise provides a good range from the heroic to the sensitive - one of the best performances of his I have heard. The choral work is likewise fantastic. I have been searching for this work on CD for years to replace my well-loved but somewhat worn-out LP copy and am delighted that it is finally available. If you love choral music, Vaughn-Williams's work, or just appreciate beautiful singing, I would strongly urge you to purchase this recording while it is still available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Christmas Cracker, 11 Mar 2007
By 
G. Riley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought this a couple of years ago and return to it regularly - a sure sign of a good recording. I like the music of Vaughan Williams and this is a good example of his music. The Fantasia was a big surprise - its a lovely setting of some well known carols. John Barrow has a superb baritone voice. The Hodie takes a little more getting into but it is worth the effort. Both choirs and orchestra have good sounds. At this price you can't go wrong!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime, 21 Dec 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The 'Hodie' is sublime, The opening chorus - towering and exuberant - makes one's hair stand on end. The closing line of the first narration "he shall be called great" is thrilling. I can't find anything to fault in this glorious recording - take some time out and catch up with the real spirit of Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Quality, 22 Aug 2010
By 
Michael Davies (Worcestershire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
From the outset this recording shows quality in performance as well as clarity. The voice of Dame Janet Baker has never been bettered and on this recording conveys a dimension of emotion which is
remarkable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 14 Dec 2010
By 
fenlander (lincolnshire UK) - See all my reviews
Hodie - has thrilling settings of wonderful words -
Milton, Hardy, and Herbert and some moving lines from Ursula VW

'Gold from the veins of the earth he brings,
red gold to crown the King of Kings'

The vintage recording is rich and warm and the
singing lives - a real performance.

'Ring out, ye crystal spheres,
Once bless our human ears,
If you have power to touch our senses so;...'

Here, indeed, is music which heralds Christmas,
with power to touch our senses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not just for Christmas, 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Lovely collection of pieces, lyrical and calming rather than jolly. Avoid it if you want music for a Christmas party, otherwise I really recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More delights from RVW, 6 Dec 2013
By 
n3_biker (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Hodie is a huge piece - soloists, choir, orchestra, over 50 minutes long - written in 1954, RVW's last big work. I'm a huge committed fan, but have to confess that, after listening a number of times, I'm not quite there yet with it. However, it's full of recognisable RVW touches and will no doubt repay a few more hearings. Slightly congested sound. Fully engaged performance. The accompanying Christmas Carols Fantasia is terrific.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Vaughan Williams - Fantasia on Christmas Carols, 21 Mar 2013
By 
S. F. Higgins "Lincs links" (NE Lincs England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This recording was destined for success. The LSO and naturally a world-famous conductor, a wonderful cathedral choir, and music by Vaughan Williams admirably suited to the season . It has all the right ingredients.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very pleased, 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Made a great xmas present. why am I wasting time writing sixteen unnecessary words just to fill in space I wonder
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My daughter loved this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Vaughan Williams Hodie
Vaughan Williams Hodie by Sir David Willcocks/Bach Choir/London Symphony Orchestra
Buy MP3 Album£6.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews