Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE ALBUM MARTINE WAS BORN TO MAKE!!
After 2 pop albums, Martine has finally delivered the album she was born to make - an album of songs from the shows - and she has done a fantastic job.
Forget all the gossip about her personal life, Martine has an amazing voice and shows it off to the fullest on this recording. The selection of songs covers both old and new musicals and includes some real classic...
Published on 13 Dec. 2002

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars sexy sensual showtunes
sexy sensual showtunes
Published 5 months ago by Paul Bradley


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE ALBUM MARTINE WAS BORN TO MAKE!!, 13 Dec. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Musicality (Audio CD)
After 2 pop albums, Martine has finally delivered the album she was born to make - an album of songs from the shows - and she has done a fantastic job.
Forget all the gossip about her personal life, Martine has an amazing voice and shows it off to the fullest on this recording. The selection of songs covers both old and new musicals and includes some real classic show tunes. Highlights include "The Lady Is A Tramp", "Don't rain on my parade" and "Out here on my own" from Fame.
If you love music from the musicals, you will definitely enjoy this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's about time..., 24 Feb. 2003
By 
David W. Bruce-Casares (Long Beach, California United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Musicality (Audio CD)
Overall, I really like this release. She puts a new spin on some old theatrical chestnuts, especially "Zing Went the Strings of My Heart," "Nobody Does It Like Me" (this is, actually, my favorite on this disc right now), and "What I Did For Love." To me, the only missteps are her versions of "There Are Worse Things I Could Do" which I find it somewhat gutless, "Wishing You Were Somehow Here Again" where her voice just sounds too thin and somewhat strained on this -- all in a weak sounding head voice, and "The Winner Takes It All" where I again feel that her performance is somewhat gutless.
But, as I'm only disappointed in 3 tracks out of 16, overall I find this a triumph for her. And, I'm really glad that she recorded and released this (especially, after hearing she was considering not singing anymore).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Mature Face of Martine, 7 Dec. 2002
By 
This review is from: Musicality (Audio CD)
Forget Eastenders and overplayed soft pop ballads. Forget the tabloid attention and stories of her personal life; it is time now to think of Martine as a serious artist.
The songs chosen for 'Musicality' reflect her new found confidence in her own vocal ability and show an attention to detail and a maturity beyond her years.
Anyone watching her recent performance of this material on television could not have failed to notice the passion that she piles into every tune, indeed - into each note.
Whether reprising the wonderful 'Wouldn't it be luverly', or delivering the pure emotion of 'Maybe this time', Martine never fails to deliver the range required or the emphasis needed, often making those little hairs on the back of your arms stand up.
Of course, the songs will not be everyone's cup of tea but for those who enjoy show anthems sung by someone who clearly loves to give it all she has, this is essential stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Martine C - Singing voice is beautiful!, 30 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Musicality (Audio CD)
Excellent LP, Martine's voice is amazing.
I hope one day she will follow this LP up because out of all the artist which have done this type of Lp she beats them all by miles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars sexy sensual showtunes, 27 Jan. 2015
By 
Paul Bradley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Musicality (Audio CD)
sexy sensual showtunes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thanks!, 20 Feb. 2009
By 
Tracey Wright - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Musicality (Audio CD)
Excellent price and very prompt delivery. Very happy with the CD, only bought it for one track really but I'm playing it in the car and singing along! A good buy thank you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievable, 2 Feb. 2003
By 
Peter Howley (Chester, Cheshire Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Musicality (Audio CD)
I find myself totally at odds with my fellow reviewers.
This is dreadful! The very first note on the album sounds flat to me and things get no better. Her efforts on "The Man That Got Away" are really quite poor and her breathing is most peculiar. There seems little point in carrying on to the next line of a song without taking a breath, as the song suggests, if you then have to take a breath after the very first word of that line.
Each song sounds like the first and only take. Possibly, a little longer in the studio might have been advisable.
I give the album one star because the songs are great, but other singers have made a better fist of it than Miss McCutcheon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Musicality
Musicality by Martine McCutcheon
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews