Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tour de force: a stunning electronic opera
Michael Cretu, the man who singlehandedly invented an entire genre, is back with the sixth Enigma album: and it's back to basics following the more pop-oriented nature of the previous album, Voyageur, an offering that left fans and critics divided. The shades of europop that tended to overshadow Voyageur have been eschewed and here we have a subtle but powerful odyssey of...
Published on 19 Sep 2006 by Amoyan

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointing
A bit disappointment compared to older Enigma albums. Melody composition is all right, but it is a sound engineering that make it sound so bad! 90% of time sound is like coming through the toilet pipes, like "wah wah" effect, and it is not a CD problem as some parts of compositions have all highs and lows. But someone might like it, bot me though.
Published 1 month ago by Yuri Ivanov


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tour de force: a stunning electronic opera, 19 Sep 2006
This review is from: A Posteriori (Audio CD)
Michael Cretu, the man who singlehandedly invented an entire genre, is back with the sixth Enigma album: and it's back to basics following the more pop-oriented nature of the previous album, Voyageur, an offering that left fans and critics divided. The shades of europop that tended to overshadow Voyageur have been eschewed and here we have a subtle but powerful odyssey of sound that's almost like a soundtrack to the birth of the universe. Intended as a journey through time and space, Cretu has woven an exquisite musical tapestry. The best way to think of this album is as an electronic symphony. The vocals are only sporadic this time, with the first half almost entirely devoid of lyrics. There's an organic feel to the music, as though the music itself is alive: living and breathing, morphing through different emotions and moods as it grows and expands.

More than any of the Enigma albums since the ground-breaking debut, MCMXC AD, there's a sense of space and minimalism that pervades A Posteriori. This is not a collection of songs: rather it's one long piece of music that seamlessly segues through its different movements. The cohesiveness is offset by the depth of sound and emotion: from the atmospherically down-tempo opening track `Eppur Si Muove' and the beautiful and otherworldly ballad `Sitting on the Moon' to the frenetic `Feel Me Heaven' and the stunning tour de force that is `Dancing with Mephisto'; the moods and emotions are interwoven and juxtaposed with incredible finesse. The production is about as good as it gets: this album HAS to be listened to with headphones...apparently a surround sound audio DVD is being released later in the year: I can only imagine how awesome that will sound.

A Posteriori is something special: it's a stunning, exhilarating rollercoaster of sound and emotion that's invigorating, sensual and, by the time the strangely beautiful lullaby `Goodbye Milky Way' ends the journey, is also quite moving. This is the cutting edge of music: it dispenses with the formulaic cut-and-paste mentality that is deadening the music industry and explores a different terrain...on in which the music itself is alive and allowed to unfold of its own accord, gently guided by an overarching vision and purpose. `Follow me, come and feel infinity, eternity...'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 7 Jan 2007
This review is from: A Posteriori (Audio CD)
I have been a huge fan of enigma for the last 12 years, ever since 'The cross of changes' came out in 1994 and i heard 'return to innocence' at the age of 6, so i was very excited and curious to hear this new album. I must admit that on the first listen it took me by surprise at the change in sound on 'Eppur si muove' and 'feel me heaven'. However, the whole album stuck in my head, i played it again and now i love it as much, if not possibly slightly more than, the other albums. The whole album has an air of being in space, flying past planets,moons and stars - which actually i think makes it sound more dynamic and interesting. Its very cool and definitely worth buying whether you're an enigma virgin or if you're a long time fan (like me). A very accomplished album by MC!! xxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enigmatic Music At Its Best !, 14 Mar 2007
By 
This review is from: A Posteriori (Audio CD)
Enigma - a 'band' that evolved from monks chanting to red indians whooping to jungle tribes pounding to dolphins screeching. It could all have gone so horribly wrong - if one was to think about the ingredients placed in the meiltng pot one would intellectually cringe and shy away from the 'themes' that are evident in each Enigma Collection.

But each album has been given a touch so feather light, an ambience so spiritual, so jam-packed with meaning and insight that one cannot help but fall in love with each masterpiece - music that strikes a deep resonant chord in the heart, leaving an imprint or echo that calls you back to it time & time again.

And so we come to expect failure with every new creation - because 'how do you improve on perfection?' But Enigma are special - they move on and away from topics they have tried n tested before - they explore new avenues. They do not try and be clever. They do not re-invent themselves. They remain true. Somehow their efforts transcend music itself.

This new album -in my opinion - is their best work yet. Suitable for every mood, it uplifts and warms the soul. It speaks of faith, hope, love and enlightenment - yet also deep yearning, loss and despair. 'Goodbye MilkyWay' is simply a stunning track - its theme allowing you to realise how far Enigma have come since their initial conception.

This is a superb rendition to any music lovers collection. Atmospheric, beautiful, easy listening - yet quite the most 'bouncy' of Enigma's albums yet (Perfect for driving to!). Do buy this - you wont be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than Voyageur..., 28 Sep 2006
By 
Paul Edwards "eddiep_maddie" (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Posteriori (Audio CD)
As a big fan of Enigma right from the very beginning, I felt a little let down with Michael Cretu's last effort as Enigma, "Voyageur" from 2003. It had none of the qualities that I had found from listening to the other 4 albums. I'd often been asked by people in the past what it actually was I liked about Enigma so much: The answer? It was different. Back in 1990, "Sadeness Part 1" came out and I loved it. Still do. Over the years album after album came out and I loved it still. Again, It was different. Like many fans, I lost a bit of faith when "Voyageur" came out, but some of it grew on me although it is not my favourite (that honour goes to "Enigma 2: The Cross Of Changes".

I am pleased to report then that "A Posteriori" is much better and almost a return to form. Out goes the dodgy singing and Britney-type beats and back in come the terrific soundscapes and floaty atmospherics. It's not an easy listen at first (it would have done really well during the Trance boom circa 1999-2002), but trust me, stick with it and you will appreciate it. I have to say that altough the best way to describe the sound is chill-out trance, Michael Cretu does add a certain something that maybe had been missing from a thousand chill out trance records from 3 years or so back.

In short, it's still very Enigma and similar to "Enigma 3: Le Roi Est Mort, Vive Le Roi!" in mood.

Favourites? "The Alchemist" is a storming number and, for fans of the old style, "Invisible Love" is sure to please. Also, this version of "Hello and Welcome" is much better that the single mix. The singing is also kept to the minimum overall (not always a big hit with me, however thats just my opinion of course). "Goodbye Milky Way" is nice but a bit too Eurovision-a-like for me.

In short, "A Posteriori" has made me feel something "Voyageur" didn't achieve, in that it's made me really look forward to the next one : - )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enigma at their best, 31 Aug 2009
By 
Spudola "Al" (Midlands (UK)) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: A Posteriori (MP3 Download)
Without a shadow of a doubt this is the best Enigma album since Cross of Changes.

I've loved Enigma ever since MCMXC A.D, but the more recent Le Roi Est Morte, Vive Le Roi and Screen Behind the Mirror never quite matched up to Cross as an album. Sure there are some good individual tracks but overall there was just something missing.

Well not with A Posterior, right from the very start with Eppur Si Muove I knew this was classic Enigma, uplifting, etherical and a little kooky.

To me this album is a mix of chillout but with that futuristic philosophical edge that makes it easy to imagine this being the essential soundtrack to an update of Kubricks 2001.

As with all Enigma albums it is clear there is a social commentary running through the tracks but the beauty of listening to them is working out what you think it is saying.

My personal favourites from this gem of an album are Dreaming of Andromeda, Sitting on the moon but most of all The Alchemist, however when ever I listen to these above the others there's always the sense I'm missing out.

And thats what makes this album such a pleasure there is so much to listen to and think about it just keeps me coming back for more and more.

This is like The Cross of changes ... only far far better - More Please Enigma!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dark Side of Enigma, 2 Oct 2006
By 
This review is from: A Posteriori (Audio CD)
The main problem with new album by Enigma - like with new album by, as example, Deep Purple. Everybody (including performers) knows how it must sound and yet - we have what we have... I remember how deeply I was impressed when I saw clip "Sadness" for the first time back in 1991. For me and for many other listeners Cretu opened the beauty of Gregorian chants. Sorry, it`s impossible to repeat for the second time.

Everyone who was impressed by "Sadness" waited for interesting authentic medieval or ethnic samples, meditative atmosphere, erotic voice of Sandra, at least one bright hit... Problem is that all that things aren`t interesting to maestro himself. Sorry, here we got only atmosphere.

When I started to listen to this album for the first time - I was amazed - I waited for something different. I think it is one of the darkest records by Cretu with electronic sound which could remind you of J.M. Jarre.

Still it is true album by Enigma. In time of the second listening "Invisible Love" caught my attention and I started to follow flowing of the music till potential hit - final song "Goodbye Milky Way" with catchy sample. After the third listening I liked the album - there is more in its atmosphere than in catchy melodies.

So here you wouldn`t find new "Sadness", "Mea Culpa" or "Return to Innocence"... But Cretu is interesting musician and his meditative electronic dreamscapes still are interesting. "A Postriori" is the album with the long potential for the listener. You would return to this music many times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars VERY WAVY GRAVY, 25 Feb 2009
By 
Mr. Paul D. Johnston (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Posteriori (MP3 Download)
Having listened to the sampled tracks and listening to some of his older stuff from earlier I agree a return to form which one would have expected to be a natural progression from the first album, as we know we have to cut the wheat from the chaff and there is a lot of chaff following on from the first album to get to here,I think he has now come full circle back to the inspiring ideas from where the idea for the first album came.
You will notice the review is entitled very wavy gravy,why you may ask,well for those of you who have your favourite DJ's and who have been privvy to a bit of djing like me and who happen to like trance,you may wonder as I did if there was a certain mention of a young fellow by the name of Alexander Coe on the production of this so as a clue I did read reviews mentioning it was a bit like a journey through the universe past the stars but you should have added with an airdrawn dagger.
For those of you still not on my track of thinking I wouldnt say so much it was influenced by MJ Jarre but more so possibly as a collaboration by M Cretu and none other than A certain A Coe otherwise known as Sasha.
Has the penny dropped yet?????
Otherwise brilliant album and up there with the likes of the orb,if anyone is into a bit of blending and remixing and a musical journey as one piece of music then this album should definately be on the list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointing, 9 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Posteriori (Audio CD)
A bit disappointment compared to older Enigma albums. Melody composition is all right, but it is a sound engineering that make it sound so bad! 90% of time sound is like coming through the toilet pipes, like "wah wah" effect, and it is not a CD problem as some parts of compositions have all highs and lows. But someone might like it, bot me though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Improves with more listening, 29 Oct 2006
By 
P. Roe (Harrow, London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Posteriori (Audio CD)
Yes, like most Enigma fans I've got all the previous albums, and like a lot of people you expect each successive album to be similar to the previous. With Enigma, most people I guess were captured by the Gregorian feel of their first hit. Second and subsequent albums introduced ethnic and global sounds to complement the western dance/trance/chillout feel. You could easily spot a potential single hit from each album and the quality remained consistent. So is A Posteriori standard Cretu formula? Yes and No. The quality of the electronic keyboard sounds is the same, but the vocals have nigh on disappeared. This album is mainly intstrumental. If you're like me, you'll listen to a new album incessantly for a few times before tiring of it. With this one I had to listen about three times before I really began to appreciate it and by then, YES it is good enigma, YES I like it and YES it should appeal to die-hard Enigma fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely superb, 23 Feb 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Posteriori (Audio CD)
Here am I so many years after the first enigma album, now 55 years of age and I have to say this is a superb piece of music.It reminds me of tangerine dream how they were meant to be! Seriously buy it if you like to drown in sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Posteriori
A Posteriori by Enigma
Buy MP3 Album£10.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews