Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


57 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 50's, Noughties
The 2006 Mercury Music prize went to The Arctic Monkeys. On accepting the award, their spokesman said "someone call the police, Richard Hawley has been robbed". Now bearing in mind that Hawley is a fellow inhabitant of Sheffield ... forgive my ignorance people of Sheffield, but I haven't a clue what they call you... even so I made a mental note. Months before, Verity...
Published on 8 Jan. 2007 by John Tree

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Coles Corner- thoughts
In some ways- considering the hype that surrounded its release - this album disappoints. It is a good album but not that special as an example of Hawley's work, exploring some themes (relationships chiefly) but neglecting others.
It is for me an album I always meant to buy, but then forgot. Now I suppose I know why I forgot it, and I believe that Hawley's work has...
Published on 30 Oct. 2009 by D. Bew


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vintage, 19 May 2006
This review is from: Coles Corner (Audio CD)
Richard Hawley's music takes us back to an era where the song & the singer mattered, not just fashion & hype. Whether on the sparse Sun Studios sounding tracks or the lush orchestrated numbers, this really is timeless stuff.

As singer songwriters go, he's so much better than the turgid likes of Blunt & Johnson but as usual, the CD buying public choose to ignore him. Its time his talent was recognised.

JUST BUY IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A modern classic, 28 Nov. 2006
This review is from: Coles Corner (Audio CD)
ok - for those expecting anything brit-poppy or pulp-like - walk on by.

however if you like sun records, lee hazlewood, johnny cash, nick lowe, early solo scott walker and the big "O" himself, then this album is definitely a must listen.

for those who criticise it for not being '2006' enough - grow up. this is gorgeously made, passionate music which cares not one jot for the vagaries of 'modern' music and more power to it. Hawley knows his strengths and here he displays them to their fullest. If you listen to 'wait for me' and fail to find it beautiful then - honestly i just feel sad for you.

along with 'funeral' from the arcade fire, animal collective's 'feels' and vashti bunyan's 'lookaftering', my favourite record of 2005.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars heartfelt, 5 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coles Corner (Audio CD)
This is perhaps my favorite Richard Hawley album. They are are all soothing, romantic, sincere, heartfelt and able to shove the listener into a melancholic state that is sure to last even after the record stops playing. Everything form the elegant packaging to the classy and sweet sound on the record complement perfectly how these songs were so masterfully crafted. Recommended for anyone that likes the early albums of Scott Walker, mid-era Roy Orbison, the more sensitive side of the Johnny Cash catalogue and Burt Bacharach compositions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty damn good . . ., 7 Jun. 2006
By 
This review is from: Coles Corner (Audio CD)
In an age of artists ramming their view-points down your throat over mediocre riffs . . . to hear something as original and as brave as this lifts the soul! If you like Scott Walker, but with a Sheffield twist, then this is your taste. The production is outstanding and the songwriting craft is exceptional - and I am hard to please! (Honest!) There will be some point in all our lives where something sensual, quiet and even a little bit down is required - and this is the perfect music for such a moment. My only reservation is the slight country twang on some of the tracks, but hey-ho. Buy it, enjoy it. And then wonder how you ever got by without this man's voice in your life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Richard Hawley is a Melodic Genius, 12 Jun. 2009
By 
This review is from: Coles Corner (Audio CD)
Coles Corner was the first Richard Hawley CD I bought and his songs have been whirling around my head ever since. Peaceful, heart warming, rich, dreamy melodies which fill your emotions and stay with you day after day. Hawley has become my all time favourite artist after holding Joni Mitchel, Steely Dan and Jewel on the top spot for years. No artist's songs have been able to occupy my thoughts and feelings with such intensity and fullness since I began listening to music. Quite simply I love him to bits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars melancholy but good .., 15 Nov. 2005
This review is from: Coles Corner (Audio CD)
"Hawley revels in melancholy" - apologies I cut n pasted that line from the Amazon write-up to LowEdges. But ... it fits this album perfectly, I am guessing that Coles Corner doesn't veer too far from the style thats already made Hawley popular. I don't have any of his other albums ... yet.
If you've not heard of him before and you see he's worked with Pulp & Robbie Williams then this album sounds sooo different to what you might expect - no offence intended but its the kind of album your Mum or Dad would like.
And yet ... here's the killer - I really like it too. Put it on late at night and wow - its perfect for that mood. The songs kinda create one big cool vibe, simplicity of intrumentation and melody is the key. Overall a 4 **** album almost a 5 but I am getting picky now about dishing that rating out.
The sum of the whole exceeds the parts - and the parts are very good indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Near Perfect, 25 Nov. 2006
This review is from: Coles Corner (Audio CD)
"Coles Corner" is easily one of the best albums I have heard in years. Unashamedly old fashioned, Hawley's album is filled with catchy, mellow songs and it proves once again that he is one of the greatest songwriters around. Perfect music to sit back and relax to.

Believe the hype and the accolades and ignore the negative reviews, this is as close to perfect as possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BIG HEART-BEAUTIFUL MIND., 21 Dec. 2011
This review is from: Coles Corner (Audio CD)
My favourite Album in the 21st Century, which is rather ironic as the songs are primarily captured from the 1950's. Definitely born at the wrong time, but boy am I glad he's around now!...The songs actually made me cry!!!...I can't give higher praise than that. Gentle, Beautiful, Beguiling and Achingly Heartfelt. FOR LOVER'S OF GOOD MUSIC!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime Music, 11 Mar. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coles Corner (Audio CD)
I'm just discovering Richard Hawley's work and think he is one of the best musicians around today. This CD is worth buying for The Ocean and Hotel Room, both of which are so lovely they almost move me to tears. However, the other tracks are brilliant as well. The instrumentals, the lyrics, the passion, and intelligence...I love this man!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Going downtown where there's music...., 7 Sept. 2006
This review is from: Coles Corner (Audio CD)
One of the best albums released in 2005, "Coles Corner" is a collection of beautiful songs with in places some lush production. "Born Under A Bad Sign" is a mournful and melodic song that embeds itself in your brain. The title track is a swirling triumph.

The instrumental closer is stunning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Coles Corner
Coles Corner by Richard Hawley
Buy MP3 Album£5.29
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews