Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A brighter star in the Gary Numan collection
This was the first Gary Numan album I didn't have to defend, when playing to my friends! Sure it borrows liberally from Janet Jackson, and even Robert Palmer, but as Gary said himself "We all live in the same museum, we all rearrange the same old songs". To what effect! This album marks a departure from his previous stuff, and gives a suggestion of where he...
Published on 5 Aug 2001

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Better times ahead for Mr Numan
This albums predecessor was the slick hard hitting electro pop funk of 1988's Metal Rhythm. Although in some ways Metal Rhythm continued to divide Numan's fans. On one side, some were still longing for the darker analogue synths of old. On the other side many reckoned it to be his best effort yet! So where to go next?
With Numan retreating into his new...
Published on 12 Feb 2006 by heavyredsky


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A brighter star in the Gary Numan collection, 5 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Outland (Audio CD)
This was the first Gary Numan album I didn't have to defend, when playing to my friends! Sure it borrows liberally from Janet Jackson, and even Robert Palmer, but as Gary said himself "We all live in the same museum, we all rearrange the same old songs". To what effect! This album marks a departure from his previous stuff, and gives a suggestion of where he was to head subsequently. Why only four stars? Because he just keeps getting better! Do yourself a favour - buy this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SUPERB WHITE FUNK !!!!!!!!, 24 Mar 2006
By 
JUAN MARTIN GABASTOU (Weston Hills, FL United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Outland (Audio CD)
This album shows the growing leanings towards funk Gary Numan had adopted circa 91.Funkier than ever before,VERY Prince-influenced,this album is a hard hitting one,with excellent guitar performance and exquisite percussion programming.It has some nice ballads too.Starts out and out funk and gets more industrial towards the end.Gazza's voice is surprisingly less processed on most of this album's songs than on previous offerings,making for a nice,more natural variation.The sound is very good but the remastered version has gorgeous bonus tracks:River and Mistasax,which are 2 nice instrumentals,the excellent Shame single,and two remixes of My World Storm that are way better than the lp version.
Not an essential purchase for the average Numan fun but a treat for those of us who enjoy funk rock with the classic Numan signature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Better times ahead for Mr Numan, 12 Feb 2006
This review is from: Outland (Audio CD)
This albums predecessor was the slick hard hitting electro pop funk of 1988's Metal Rhythm. Although in some ways Metal Rhythm continued to divide Numan's fans. On one side, some were still longing for the darker analogue synths of old. On the other side many reckoned it to be his best effort yet! So where to go next?
With Numan retreating into his new built home studio (which gave this album it's name: Outland) perhaps we could expect some tech-heavy things. With sequencers and samplers aplenty, in some ways this is what we got, but not quite. They are there, but they are buried under all the overdubs.
Maybe the new heavy funk direction would be turned up a bit. The Prince like diva vocals and chick a lickin' guitars are there, but without the heavyweight production budget, we don't quite get them properly either.
Maybe Numan, alone, without anyone looking over his shoulder, would indulge into some of the heart wrenching songwriting or pop suss we all know he can be capable of. But with the hits drying up and his fans divided anyway, his confidence sliding, we don't get that either. Here Numan leans far too heavily on others ideas, Prince, Cameo, Janet Jackson to name a few, to let his own personality shine through.
Even his record company weren't sure where to go. As a result the album was re-altered, re-edited and overdubbed into oblivion. The finish, sounding far too tinny and over produced.
Perhaps if any of these areas had been tackled in a whole hearted manner, although opinion would inevitably have been divided, it may have been a stronger piece.
As it stands, Outland tries so hard to please all of the people all of the time, mostly it fails in every corner.
Never mind. There were better times ahead. If you're a Numan bystander either go for the earlier stuff (Pleasure Principle etc) or the later stuff (Jagged or Pure).
Only hardcore fans may find anything of real interest here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rotten To The Core...Very Sad, 13 Feb 2012
By 
Pink (Great Britain) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Outland (Audio CD)
Whenever I listen back through Gary Numan's catalogue, this is the album that I always look forward to the least. Since its release in 1990 I have tried to like it and hoped desperately that it would grow on me, but to be honest the appeal of `Outland' still eludes me today.

After the upbeat and focussed `Metal Rythmn' I was astonished at the musical decline between that album and `Outland' and hearing it for the first time made me so sad.

It's difficult to pinpoint what makes `Outland' so weak; it could be the total lack of memorable songs; it could be the cold sequenced same-iness of every track; it could be the thin, clattery rythmn programming; it could even be the risible lyrics, repetitive nonsense about `disease' and `infection'. But whatever it is, the result of this unhappy combination is a hollow, joyless experience.

Of course, there are no highlights to speak of, but `Outland' does contain the wretched `Heart' (arguably the most justifiably ignored single of his career) and gaps between lowlights are filled by the pointless `Interval' links, which are little more than a series of `atmospheric' noises.

Numan himself always points out next album `Machine' & Soul' as his creative low-point but for me, that is here on `Outland' and it seems apt that he is on his knees on the cover. Fortunately great things were still to come, but at this point the nadir had truly been reached and there is no indication in this music of the massive creative resurgence that he would later experience.

Can't recommend this one, sorry...it will just make you sad too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SUPERB WHITE FUNK !!!!, 28 May 2006
By 
JUAN MARTIN GABASTOU (Weston Hills, FL United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Outland (Audio CD)
This album shows the growing leanings towards funk Gary Numan had adopted circa 91.Funkier than ever before,VERY Prince-influenced,this album is a hard hitting one,with excellent guitar performance and exquisite percussion programming.It has some nice ballads too.Starts out and out funk and gets more industrial towards the end.Gazza's voice is surprisingly less processed on most of this album's songs than on previous offerings,making for a nice,more natural variation.The sound is very good but the remastered version has gorgeous bonus tracks:River and Mistasax,which are 2 nice instrumentals,the excellent Shame single,and two remixes of My World Storm that are way better than the lp version.

Not an essential purchase for the average Numan fun but a treat for those of us who enjoy funk rock with the classic Numan signature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Below-par Numan - but worth a listen., 2 Jan 2008
By 
M. Evans - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Outland (Audio CD)
Outland is undoubtedly a weak entry in Numan's back-catalogue. Most of the tracks are very bland, repetetive, electro-funk with an over-reliance on female backing vocals (a weakness of nearly all his albums from the mid-eighties to early nineties. Most of the tracks just kind of pass you by without having any impact, they're not bad exactly, just unremarkable. However there are a couple of hidden gems on here: the moody ballad Dream Killer and the brilliantly funky My World Storm, which is actually one of my fave Numan songs. Two of the bonus tracks, Shame and Tread Careful are also very good, better than most of the main tracks actually. If you're new to Numan, I wouldn't start here, but it's still worht a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars autland, 17 Nov 2007
This review is from: Outland (Audio CD)
gary is always surprising. metal rythm was really the low point. now there is comin new stuff before machine and soul, the one before sacrifice. take your seatbelts on. soul protection rocks. please underrate gary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Its FUNK but not as we know it, 21 Oct 2002
This review is from: Outland (Audio CD)
By the late 80's Gary was trying so hard to please the record company (who wanted him more commercial, at the time DANCE!) and his legion of fans. The compromise was "Outland" a departure and much upbeat affair from his previous release for IRS "Metal Rhythm".
The album lends itself to the production more than the musical talents of Mr Numan. This album helped me at the time convert a few people into liking Gary Numan due to the albums commercial appeal, highlights been "Tread Careful", "From Russia Infected" and "Dream Killer".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not his absolute worst but a good stab at it, 27 July 2002
By 
This review is from: Outland (Audio CD)
This album must have been conceived and performed as a contractual obligation. Gary Numan's first er... 'difficult' period began with Dance, but he dragged himself completely out of it with the astonishing Berserker several years later. Then shortly afterwards he stumbled into another creative ditch with Outland, which is quite possibly his second worst album ever (the worst being Machine and Soul). The songs are bland, the production flat, the whole lot sounding like repetitive rehashes of itself. Let's pretend this album didn't happen. Die-hard fans will find something to like here, but for everyone else, Gary Numan created some absolutely fantastic albums (including the very two latest ones) which are better deserving of your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars for the collector, 15 May 2007
By 
Doc (Leafy Devon) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Outland (Audio CD)
Your Gary Numan collection is not complete without this album which seems to have been overlooked in the re-releases of late. Its OK but is still from his less good funk stage. Better than Machine and soul and metal rhythm so in my rating its his 3rd worst! The sci-fi noises are very similar to the machine and soul bsides and the intro to sacrifice so this is moving towards his industrial rock phase.

it can be cheaply downloaded from i-tunes for 6.99
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Outland [Explicit]
Outland [Explicit] by Gary Numan
Buy MP3 Album9.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews