Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heroes on this album though!
The Stranglers released two albums in 1977, both of which had a plethora of tunes full of dark energy, musical genius and humour. Rattus Norvegicus tested the water, and once they got away with that, they recorded this album without fear.
EVERYONE knows the title track, but there are plenty of other great songs here. Growling bass, thumping drums, swirling keyboards...
Published on 18 Aug 2001 by michael_m

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars .
Not my favourite Stranglers album but the title track is worth buying this for. Some of the other tracks sound very dated now.
Published 8 months ago by James Whitfield


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars What a magnificent album, 31 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No More Heroes (Audio CD)
Loved it before and love
it now too, sounds great with 'modern' equipment, evocative of strange but wonderful times, brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Update!, 29 May 2013
This review is from: No More Heroes (Audio CD)
Bought this on vinyl many moons ago! Decided to update and bought this cd. Still like Hugh Cornwell and JJ snarling away. A complete band with everyone contributing, love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Album, 18 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No More Heroes (Audio CD)
One of the albums I've been meaning to get for years. Finally got round to it... classic tracks and an absolute bargain for less than a fiver!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT STUFF, 22 Jan 2012
By 
Mr. Gary P. Rose (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: No More Heroes (Audio CD)
This album was rushed out by the record company, having said that this is what made it different to other Stranglers albums, there is nothing like it and you won't hear anything like it ever again.

I think Rattus Norvegicus seemed more like the second album you know more of a progression musically and yet as much as I love Rattus I love this more, it has a certain mood to it.

In its own way it has very important topics, ie: racism, the death of a friend close to the band and a needed change in society. In the track Burning up Time the band say it how it really is, how degrading and how real things can be, check out the end of the song. Some people can't handle reality, if that's the case it's not for you. As for Bring on the Nubiles that's the band being tongue in cheek (pardon the pun)and controversial.

Like somebody said in a previous review if it's been a bad day at the office then stick this on and it will definitely help.

I've had this album since 79 but it always seems fresh when I play it.

I recommend this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stranglers No More Heroes LP, 23 Mar 2011
By 
Very pleased with this item. It arrived in no time at all. I would definately do business with this seller again !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars no more heroes by the stranglers, 4 April 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: No More Heroes (Audio CD)
as the other reviews have already stated it's a wicked album but
probably one of the more straight forward albums they did but still with more imagination than the other punk stuff that was around at the time and good thumping aggressive tracks with some seedy moody ones relating to taboo subjects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK - not great., 11 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No More Heroes [Explicit] (MP3 Download)
It's ok, but not great as a Stranglers comp goes. Some proper classic tracks seriously missing, others I wouldn't have included (you look at the track list & make your mind up). I got this to replace my old vinyl ( which has seen better days). I DID look at the track list & got it anyway so I wouldn't have to buy everything from scratch (pun intended), again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars WHATEVER HAPPENED TO CONSISTENCY?, 16 May 2007
By 
Kelvin J. Dickinson (Leeds, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: No More Heroes (Audio CD)
God, what a mixed bag of music NO MORE HEROES is. The promise of RATTUS NORVEGICUS is followed up only marginally successfully by a thin-sounding and poorly produced album - a rush job by any other name - containing just two songs of real merit: the now legendary title track and SOMETHING BETTER CHANGE, Jean-Jacques Burnel's screaming punk classic. Two shining lights in the musical equivalent of a multipack of bulbs, most of which have blown due to serious manufacturing errors. Never mind whatever happened to Lenny Bruce, the great Elmyra or Sancho Panza - whatever happened to consistency?

So, had I been a fickle teenager in 1977, the disappointment of THE STRANGLERS' second album may have signalled curtains for any future love and support for the band. Fickleness, fortunately, got itself behind me and I'm very grateful it did, in hindsight, as the marvellous BLACK AND WHITE was only just around the corner.

Getting back to the grim task at hand, NUBILES is peurile stuff, as is PEASANT, and both are almost unlistenable today. Likewise, SCHOOL MAM is an idea stretched - or flogged - way beyond what it can ever hope to deliver. Indeed, some of the sentiments alluded to on this album (first prize going to the tacked-on and tasteless fade-out to BURNING UP TIME) belong firmly in the sewer...and perhaps that's the point, rat motifs and all, but it still leaves an unpleasant taste in the mouth. Potentially, I FEEL LIKE A ***, BITCHING, DAGENHAM DAVE and ENGLISH TOWNS could all have been Stranglers classics. As it is, they live out eternity in an elephants' graveyard of underdeveloped ideas and lost opportunities.

Bonus tracks STRAIGHTEN OUT and FIVE MINUTES are magnificent singles and help to prop up what is undeniably THE STRANGLERS weakest album. An album that, ironically, has one of the best ever (vinyl) covers, front AND back. Got one framed at home, no less.

It hurts me to be so negative about a band I love, but own NO MORE HEROES because YOU love the band too, or own it for completist's sake...even own the damn thing because you know that it leads to far greater stuff than this. But, whatever else you do, don't own it because you actually like it.

RECOMMENDED
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

No More Heroes [Explicit]
No More Heroes [Explicit] by The Stranglers
Buy MP3 Album3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews