Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heroes on this album though!
The Stranglers released two albums in 1977, both of which had a plethora of tunes full of dark energy, musical genius and humour. Rattus Norvegicus tested the water, and once they got away with that, they recorded this album without fear.
EVERYONE knows the title track, but there are plenty of other great songs here. Growling bass, thumping drums, swirling keyboards...
Published on 18 Aug 2001 by michael_m

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars .
Not my favourite Stranglers album but the title track is worth buying this for. Some of the other tracks sound very dated now.
Published 8 months ago by James Whitfield


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heroes on this album though!, 18 Aug 2001
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No More Heroes (Audio CD)
The Stranglers released two albums in 1977, both of which had a plethora of tunes full of dark energy, musical genius and humour. Rattus Norvegicus tested the water, and once they got away with that, they recorded this album without fear.
EVERYONE knows the title track, but there are plenty of other great songs here. Growling bass, thumping drums, swirling keyboards and harsh guitar all meld into a complex sound that wraps itself around your head with ease.
If you're easily offended by such topics as an elderly school mam dying from an orgasm induced by watching teacher/pupil sex on CCTV, then this is not for you, but if you like to hear your speakers rattle and want some good, solid songs that sound fresh everytime you pull this album out then buy it. It's a classic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars rattus 2, 25 Jun 2007
By 
M. Baker (rennes le chateau) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No More Heroes (Audio CD)
when this album first came out i was a young herbert of 13 - and just loved the whole sound (clear but aggressive)- i think i liked it more than rattus at the time mainly because it had more swearing on it - now when i listen i find it hard to tell where rattus ends and no more hero's begins - both are masterpieces - rattus with poppies (but no pop - that unfortunately came later )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC, 23 Mar 2007
By 
John Wilkinson "LUKEJAKE17" (cheshire, uk.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: No More Heroes (Audio CD)
this really is a fantastic album, a punk classic. in my opinion, this is one of the stranglers very best albums.

it contains such great songs as, burning up time, something better change,

dagenham dave, and english towns. all stranglers classics.

possibly the stranglers best album. if your having any doubts about buying this, DONT! BUY THIS ALBUM NOW! its real, powerful, rough punk music. its fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars always good to me, 6 Oct 2010
This review is from: No More Heroes (Audio CD)
No examination, When I feel like the worlds against me this music helps me fight back. It has worked for years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it!, 10 May 2012
By 
J.P. (South West UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No More Heroes (Audio CD)
I was 15 when this was first released and I think it has aged well, probably better than me!
JJ's bass, Hugh's guitar, Dave's keyboards & Jet's drums still sound sharp and the songs are aggressive & well written.
Maybe even witty.......
Do yourself a favour, buy this album, put on your old leather and some tatty jeans and sneer. It'll make your day!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The difficult follow up, 22 Oct 2007
By 
D. J. H. Thorn "davethorn13" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: No More Heroes (Audio CD)
Both the single and album, 'No More Heroes,' were eagerly gobbled up by punk fans already familiar with the band's exhilarating mix of brutal bass and keyboard runs. While the single gained a unanimous thumbs-up as did the other hit, 'Something Better Change,' the album took some criticism for being a pale rehash of The Stranglers' debut effort. In truth, some of the lyrical content is too obviously rude for the sake of it, but the band still had some imaginative ideas, notably 'Dead Ringer,' 'Dagenham Dave,' and 'Burning Up Time.' 'School Mam,' which finishes the album, is almost vaudevillean, if tasteless. Bonus tracks bolster the album, however. The cannibalistic vision, 'Straighten Out,' is a superb b-side, while both sides of the inexplicably forgotten hit, '5 Minutes' are also here. Not quite as good as most of their other albums, 'No More Heroes' is nevertheless well worth acquiring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They watched their Rome burn...., 28 Mar 2013
By 
Stephen E. Andrews "Writer" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: No More Heroes (Audio CD)
I'll state my position unequivocally: 'Stranglers IV : No More Heroes' is, after 'Stranglers IV (Rattus Norvegicus)', the best album the band ever made. It's better than 'Black and White', better than 'The Raven', better than 'Meninblack'...and why? Because its genesis lies in the same period of songwriting, touring and living-in-each-others-pockets during the mid -70s that spawned the sublime 'Rattus' and because it was recorded by Martin Rushent and Alan Winstanley, who understood that all they needed to do was capture the finest British rock group of all time in flight, playing together, then add a little sheen....

'No More Heroes' reeks of speed. It's an unforgiving, evil, rasping record, without patience or pity or light, but a record is that nonetheless shot through with humour, elan and martial-arts precision, an album that celebrates the 'Crisis? What Crisis?' state of Britain in 1977, revelling in the blackness of its social setting, dripping with misanthropy and hatred, yet at the same time saying that there is a way to survive Punk Rock UKs awful grimness - and that way was through the expression of vibrant, life-affirming energy. And there's the rub, friends...even at their harshest, The Stranglers offered a positive alternative : while they acknowledged the darkness of our country at the time, they showed that there was a way forward, that the electrical spirit of their angry psychedelia was enough to get us through to better times. 'No More Heroes' may be a hymn to nihilism, but it's also a realists' album - for we all know that despite the blackness that often settles over our lives, there are still blessings to count and that sometimes, kicking against the pricks is enough to get us through.

'No More Heroes' has always suffered in comparison to its predecessor for one reason: it lacks the gravitas the nine-song 'Rattus' owns simply because it is comprised of eleven tracks. 'Heroes' also lacks an 'epic' of the musical stature of 'Down in the Sewer', 'Toiler on the Sea', 'Hallow to our Men' or 'Too Precious'. But what 'No More Heroes' possesses above all other Stranglers albums is a sonic sheen of chromium colour, a multihued spatter of tonal shades created by deft engineering and clever use of guitar pedals and effects. Flangers, much more synthesizer than the previous album, Dave Greenfield taking two lead vocals, wah-wah pedal on the organ on 'Dagenham Dave', the aural breadth of 'No More Heroes' exceeeds that of 'Rattus'. Instrumentally, the band were rarely better and the tone colours the instruments were given here are, for me, the definitive 'signature sounds' of the bands' instruments. I'll be honest, as much as I love 'Rattus', with its superior, brooding and heavier songs, I wish it sounded like 'Heroes'.

Acid is scattered all over the recording - Cornwell's guitar is a lysergic monster, the unholy offspring of Lou Reed and Robbie Krieger, marrying abrasive amphetamine quirk with off-the-wall lysricism and a threatening, nauseatingly twisted expressive ness that is pure Cornwell - perverse, lecherous, dangerously logical, given to bouts of mean-temperedness and scientific objectivity that borders on the Lewis Carrollian. Greenfield's keyboards sound like nothing else before or since - and if you think he sounds like Manzarek, listen again - just because both were technically more gifted than most keyboardists you were used to hearing don't mean they were the same. Greenfiekd was always more prog, always striving more to steer clear of the blues than Manzarek, for all his genius, ever was. I know it's only a Hammond, a Yamaha Piano and a Moog, but how did he get that metallic sheen on the Yamaha in particular? These are keyboards with attack. In a lesser band, Greenfield would have been dominant, but then The Stranglers were a band in the true sense - nothing extraneous, all important, no-one there just for the ride.

Then there's the bass. Yes, we all know about that bass - in an age of great bassists (Karn, Adamson, Weber), Burnel beat them all. He took a moribund instrument that in most cases was there just for the sake of it and turned it into a religion. Without ever getting funky, without ever having a dull sound that could have issued from anyone's speakers, without ever being a cliche. And why? because he played the bass as if it really mattered and with the understanding that it wasn't there just to play a role, but to lead, just as a guitar or an organ can. Drums - well, Jet's at his most seductive here, in the pocket, swinging, 'Dead Ringer' rocking 'No More Heroes', tribally pounding 'School Mam', like a meteor 'Burning Up Time'. That jazz sensibility comes through just enough...

I could go on and on about the songs, analyse them, explain them, demystify them, talk them up, but I won't. I'll finish by saying this, instead : 'No More Heroes' was the anthem of the age, a sentiment that still rings true, more relevant now than ever before, a resounding judgement upon the state of Western Culture and the glory of our ability to dominate the world through Enlightenment and Romantic reaction, to disgust ourselves and yet revel in out glory. For every 'Nubiles' there is an 'English Towns', for every 'School Mam' a 'Bitching', for every 'Dead Ringer', a 'Burning Up Time'. We love, we despise, there's no time for compromise. We watch our Rome burn. In 'No More Heroes', The Stranglers clarified for us our legacy as Europeans and sophisticates - it is the ultimate Romantic statement, at once world-wweary and boiling with life - tragic, funny, brutal, lustful and heartfelt. There may have been no love in a thousand girls and the towers they built may been of saddenned ivory, but at least we had The Stranglers to make the gritty reality of our lives at the time into Art. There can surely be no greater praise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, 30 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No More Heroes (Audio CD)
One of their best in my opinion, along with Rattus, Black and white and The Raven. If you don't know The Stranglers you could find worse places to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still the best, 3 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No More Heroes (Audio CD)
Short and sweet. IMHO still the best Stranglers album ever. This could be because it brings back so many memories of playing it in my youth, or it could be because it has so many great tunes on it.

Burning Up Time, No More Heroes and School Mam - What more could you want.

They were classed as punks, but they sure could play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Old heroes never die, 9 Oct 2009
This review is from: No More Heroes [Explicit] (MP3 Download)
This is a great album, though sandwiched in between Rattus & Black & White it must take third place in the list of great Stranglers albums. Some truly wonderful tracks, like the title, Bitching, Dagenham Dave, Something Better Change & many more. 5 Minutes, Rok It To The Moon & Straighten Out are killer additions.
What a buzz rediscovering this album along with the others previously mentioned. Very highly recommended. Just buy it & go straight back to '77
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

No More Heroes [Explicit]
No More Heroes [Explicit] by The Stranglers
Buy MP3 Album3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews