Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars debut daft punk
I brought this album after discovery, so my expectations were a little skewed. Luckly i am a big house fan and found this album right up my street. The only problem that i have with this album is that the songs are too long, almost to the extreme.
I know i shouldn't compare the two albums, but i feel that homework has the better tracks while discovery has the better...
Published on 22 Jan 2004 by E. Perkins

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More beat and funk-driven than melody-driven
The perfectionistic electronica-wiz duo Daft Punk have only released a handful of albums, growing in strength. Homework is a funk-driven record with little actual emphasis on catchy melodies - though it's got those, too.

The catchy and groovy "Da Funk", the soothing "Fresh" and the exhilirating "Around the World" are all solid and enjoyable listens. Overall,...
Published on 1 April 2012 by Atli Hafsteinsson


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars debut daft punk, 22 Jan 2004
By 
E. Perkins "spideredd" (Suffolk, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Homework (Audio CD)
I brought this album after discovery, so my expectations were a little skewed. Luckly i am a big house fan and found this album right up my street. The only problem that i have with this album is that the songs are too long, almost to the extreme.
I know i shouldn't compare the two albums, but i feel that homework has the better tracks while discovery has the better layout and appeal.
One or two friends of mine won't listen to this album because there is litle to break the album up. This is the only reason that i haven't given this the whole five stars.
All in all a good, if somewhat strange album. I'd recomend that anyone should at least listen to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb debut from the boys from Paris..., 15 Mar 2003
By 
Milt Ingarfield "milt_fm" (Arbroath, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Homework (Audio CD)
This is the 1996 debut album from "Thomas Bangalter" and "Guy Mauuel DeHomem".
This album is truly a test for the bass reponse on the listeners speakers, the opening track has an incredible bass slam as it's opener!The whole C.D. is just asking to be played at the max volume you can get away with,just watch the walls and floors bounce!
They recorded this album on an eight track desk at "Bangalter" home, it's an eclectic collection mixing arcane analogue keyboards with hip-hop talk box effects taking in house,techno,and electro and little hits of disco.As a footnote "Bangalter" father wrote "D.I.S.C.O." for "Ottawan" and "Cuba" for the "Gibson Brothers",so it's no surpise that "Daft Punk" mutated,oddly comforting 70's influnces are all over the hit singles from this album "Da funk" and "All around the World"
A real leap forward in the French music scene they took the lead started by St.Germain and ran with it, this is cracking stuff for the pre-going out party at the weekends,gets you right in the party mood buy for this purpose....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous, 24 May 2013
By 
Harry Smith (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Homework (Audio CD)
I bought this album when it came out. listened to it in my car from Swindon to Leeds between site visits for work and was hooked (took until I was past Leicester Forest East services though). Still the best by far. Play Teachers v loud and just smile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More beat and funk-driven than melody-driven, 1 April 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Homework (Audio CD)
The perfectionistic electronica-wiz duo Daft Punk have only released a handful of albums, growing in strength. Homework is a funk-driven record with little actual emphasis on catchy melodies - though it's got those, too.

The catchy and groovy "Da Funk", the soothing "Fresh" and the exhilirating "Around the World" are all solid and enjoyable listens. Overall, though, the album rarely entices me to listen to it as a whole. It's got more to do, on the whole, with experimental German techno than melody-driven techno-disco or however you can classify Daft Punk's later work. "Rock'n'Roll" in particular seems like it takes an eternity to pass - not only doesn't it have much of a melody to work with, but the main whoosh-like sound that makes up its beat is headache-inducing. "Alive", though arguably with as little melody, works better in that regard.

Homework's primary function seems to be that of a club record, in which capacity it's a good enough release. It doesn't have the melodious fulfillment of Discovery and especially the excellent Human After All. Daft Punk have certainly crafted stronger music than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seminal and one of the most influential 90's sound, 9 May 2003
By 
Mr. Druckman David "duxxyuk" (Lyon, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Homework (Audio CD)
This remains one of my firm favorites. even if I came to it in late 1998. The CD contains well known tracks such as the famous 'Around the world' to the weirder end like 'Rollin' and scratchin''.
My favorite track, one which keeps drawing me back is 'Revolution 909'. This starts very quietly with the sounds of a big beat on a boom box in the street. that's rudely interrupted by an announcement ("Stop the music!") then ... hell breaks loose. All of a sudden you're thrown into an amazing blast of BIG BEAT THUMPING that almost MAKES you reach for the volume knob and BLAST this one from the houses.
It is that good.
When this one ends we hear 'Da Funk' cleverly slide in with it's weird but very additive warbled beat. The album after that is definitely in the realms of experimentation but if you listen carefully to this album you'll begin to notice similar sounds in later dance tracks......
I'm very impressed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 31 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Homework (Audio CD)
love this album its on my ipod, in my car and i listen to it all the time, great album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 5 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Homework (Audio CD)
Bought for a present for a friend. I have owned this since it was first released it's what i regard as proper Daft Punk!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great, 17 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Homework (Audio CD)
Had this cd when I was younger and loved it! Got it for my daughter and she loves it too. Mostly instrumental, prefer this to their new stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 'Iconic Masterpiece' is what this album is., 25 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Homework (MP3 Download)
I first bought this on cassette when it was originally released, and continue to listen to it regularly today. I expect I always will. Daft Punk are an example of actual musical genius. This is them before commercial pressure and mainstream popularity came beckoning. A wonderful mix of pop and hardcore techno.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the best house album ever, 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Homework [VINYL] (Vinyl)
a must have for any daft punk, house, electro and just things that are awesome fan

get it you won't be dissapointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa7b2133c)

This product

Homework
Homework by Daft Punk
Buy MP3 Album3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews