Customer Reviews


173 Reviews
5 star:
 (141)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pinocchio, Blu-Ray
`Pinocchio' is a childhood favourite of many and one I particularly remember loving as child. It was bought for me recently as a present and I was immediately impressed at the quality of the animation; you tend not to notice these things as a kid! I am usually quite dismissive of Disney films for a variety of reasons but say what you will about them, the early films were...
Published on 29 Jan 2010 by Spider Monkey

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This was quite boring, actually.
Old lonely Geppetto builds a marionette or puppet, Pinocchio, and wishes on the Evening Star that he had a real boy. The star, which is really a fairy, hears his wish and grants the public life however, it is still made of wood. It must prove itself worthy to become a real boy. Because Pinocchio was made of wood, he does not have an internal conscience and is assigned...
Published on 11 April 2010 by bernie


Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film for Adult and Kids, 29 Sep 2010
By 
J. Rooney (Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
i would not listern to any of the bad comments this film is still great and i enjoyed it even now.. and im 22
i bought it few days ago... to me they have not ruined it just made the colours much brighter... i give it 5 star me great film for yours kids a must buy...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DVD Pinocchio (2 Dist Platinum Edition), 26 Sep 2010
I received the Pinocchio (2 Disc Platinum Edition) earlier than I expected and it arrived in excellent condition. Most enjoyable DVD and watched it straight away. Well worth the money - highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pinocchio, 23 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
DVD received very quickly and in great condition.
I have put it away for my daughter for christmas but I know she will love this classic DVD from Disney.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars selected cartoon, 21 Jan 2010
An entertainment for my grandchild in which she loves it. She watched it several times,so money worth spent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good value, 27 Dec 2009
By 
Ms. C. Weston - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Really good for the money. You get the Bluy Ray and DVD so at least the kids cant destroy the good copy. Very good quality.
Buy this and keeps the kids busy for a bit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two words - Controversially Brilliant, 10 Nov 2009
By 
When Geppetto wishes upon a star his wooden puppet Pinocchio comes to
life and he must prove himself worthy to become a real boy.

Walt Disney's second major outing as film presenter went rewarded with
a splendid tale of obeying rules and good things come to those who live
without breaking the order and this is one of those films that will
have you laughing and crying.

This picture released almost 70 years ago now has just celebrated a
rerelease DVD packed with numerous bonus features but ultimately this
is all about the main article, the arguably most controversial Disney
picture ever created.

Whilst spurring ideologies of youthful exuberance and a charming array
of musical numbers this picture has been lively debated to contain
concepts of underage drinking and smoking, childhood cruelty and the
superficial concept of wishful thinking.

Given the board of classification rated this as a family viewing U
given today's modern trend of exclusion of truth in animation it is
quite shocking. Recently the much loved Dennis the Menace has abolished
Walter the softy because it represents "gay bashing" somehow and given
the contrast this will be quite something in today's modern era.

Significantly this underage usage of alcohol and cigarettes is a point
to be addressed in today's environment in any country and quite frankly
we need to reflect these modern rules of neglectful safety and show
what life is really like because there are kids who drink and smoke and
obviously it is wrong, and blissfully this animation reflects a motive
of karma and the after effects are exceptionally dramatic. The use of
Jackasses is heavily critical to demonstrate the foul use of the
substance on children.

The use of the evil characters makes them all financially greedy and
self involved which is fine to convey the evilness against the goodness
but the fact that Pinocchio follows in their footsteps initially adds
extra dreaming and controversy to the young wooden boy's persona and
this character development is extraordinarily dependent on the wishes
of a fairy, with the timing a tend to convenient.

Pinocchio, a boy made from wood, is ultimately destined to be a real
boy if he obeys the rules and his acts of selfishness and inappropriate
desires end up giving Jiminy Cricket a case of the blues as he ponders
his usefulness. Pinocchio is a selfish character undeniably wound up in
his new existence that spells disaster for those around him.

And this is fantastic. Nothing represents our modern youthful
stereotypes more than self involvement and given the eventual
conclusion in the whale and the unforgettable nose growing sequence
this demonstrates a time when animation pushed the rules right to the
edge and with a carefully woven music score this is what animation
should be. This is still great to watch for the family, and with an
underlining sense of right and wrong, is an exceptional reflection of
the right and wrong.
8.5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure brilliance, I loved it when I was a littled kid and I still do, 9 Nov 2009
By 
R. Lanting (The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When I was a little kid, I loved watching Pinocchio. One of the best fairytales there was, at least in my opinion. Now, almost two decades later I can see I've enjoyed it just as much on Blu-ray. I have to say that the 4:3 viewing bothered me the first few minutes, but thanks to the great paintings on the sides which you can optionally turn on/off, it gets less irritating. It doesn't distract from the movie itself, it even adds some if you like. All in all, full feature cartoons doesn't come any better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 70 years on, and still a classic, 5 April 2009
By 
Aaron J. Boxley (West Mids, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Pinocchio has always been a brilliant film, but it's magic and beauty still lives to this day, and in brilliant blu-ray, it makes every little detail that much more alive.

A must get for any Disney fan.

10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Early Disney Classic, 3 Aug 2010
By 
T Everson (Shropshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Pinocchio was Disney's second full animated feature, after the gamble of Snow White and the Seven Dwarves had payed off. They again looked to an existing children's story to adapt, in this case Carlo Collodi's 1883 story 'The Adventures of Pinocchio'.

The tale is a touching one, of a wooden puppet created by a carpenter who wanted a "real boy". Geppetto, the woodcarver, wishes upon a star, and while he dreams a blue fairy visits the workshop and brings the puppet to live. However, Pinocchio is still made of wood, and the film follows his adventures and quest to become a real boy. The story really is a timeless one, and the animation throughout really is a joy to behold. Disney have obviously taken the opportunity offered by Blu-ray and high definition, and have pulled out the stops to ensure a flawless transfer. They've hardly put a foot wrong here - the film is in 4:3 aspect ratio, as it was originally released (though there is an included feature to put some charming drawings in those inevitable pillars), and all grain has been removed from the print. This has been slightly controversial, as there is an argument that all movies shot on film should display grain, which is an argument I agree with, but for animation this rule can be relaxed, as it was surely not Walt Disney's intention to have grain on the image. As a consequence, it looks absolutely stunning. You can see all of the little intricacies in the animation that have been lost for years, amazing in a film now over 70 years old. There's also a 7.1 surround sound mix, which, though good to see, I was slightly disappointed not to find an original mono track.

There's also a host of special features on here, catering to both film enthusiasts and children alike. The most substantial of these are an excellent commentary, and a compehensive making-of documentary 'No Strings Attached'. There's some games here as well, to keep the kids entertained.

So, I'll give this film my unreserved recommendation: as a story alone it is one of the very best Walt Disney ever produced, and as a showcase for what Blu-ray can do for animation it is breathtaking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quite pleasent, 19 Feb 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a pleasent movie to watch even for the adults. My son (3yr) is not crazy about it but does admire it every now and then. Considering how old the actual film is, the picture quality on BluRay is quite impressive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb341d1ec)

This product

Pinocchio [DVD] [1940] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
Used & New from: 5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews