Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars if you're a Meek fan, 21 Dec. 2011
By 
Dr. David Griffiths (Perth, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lets Go Joe Meeks Girls (Audio CD)
Anybody who only knows Joe Meek as the homosexual producer of Telstar will be surprised by the extent of his work with female singers. This fascinating CD is essential for anyone who wants to expand their knowledge of the mad genius although it's important to realise that it is a collector's item aimed specifically at Meek enthusiasts. Eleven of the twenty nine tracks were never released and in some cases it isn't hard to see why. Anybody who believes Joe could do no wrong runs the risk of having their illusions shattered! The music ranges from inspired (I Lost my Heart at the Fairground by Glenda Collins and, above all, Dumb Head by the Sharades) through morbidly delightful (My Friend Bobby by Pamela Blue) and peculiar (Let's Go See Gran'ma by Joy and Dave) to frankly dreadful (Little Star by Lea and Chess and the two tracks by Yolanda). Of course it goes without saying that bad Joe Meek is a lot better than no Joe Meek and if you're already a fan the album is a "must have" for a properly rounded collection although I'm not sure if anyone who doesn't already "get" Joe will be converted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wall of Sound? He invented it!, 8 Jun. 2009
This review is from: Lets Go Joe Meeks Girls (Audio CD)
One of the most interesting bits in the Meek biog is about the day Phil Spector rang him and asked "why are you copying me?" to which Joe replied "why are you copying ME?"
Nice one-I mean Joe Meek was messing about with sound when Spector was still a Teddy Bear and I reckon that if Phil ever heard any of the Meek productions made before Telstar he might have noticed the John Leyton stuff.
Not that he'd have given anyone any credit because Phil was the great I AM.
In 1958 he heard a hit single by the Aquatones called YOU and its this white doowopper with a soprano voiced girl lead that inspired the Teddy Bears as Annette Kleinbard was moulded in the image of Lyn Nixon
As Carol Connors by 1962 she cut a series of great Pixie Girl things and it soon became obvious that she was the reason Spector ever became a star.
Phil was already acting oddly and there's now 3 books to say just HOW odd!
Joe Meek was also another erratic genius who was never especially associated with girl singers but what few he produced ended up on this CD.
The Sharmettes for some reason became the most valuable-they were really the Liverbirds and made a cover of Ginny Arnell's sole hit Dumbhead while Flip & the Dateliners covered Jan Bradley's Mama didn't lie.
No Meek girls however were succesful in Spector terms
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars essential early sixties girl pop!, 16 July 2006
By 
Mr. B. Fraser (London United Kindom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lets Go Joe Meeks Girls (Audio CD)
The other reviews for this CD album I endorse wholeheartedly! it's great!

Many of these Meek gems include fantastically rare "B" sides to the original 45's.

You have to listen to Valerie Masters "He Didn't Fool Me" a track that has piano bass chorus percussion and a wicked guitar instrumental break which is no mean feat in under three minutes. Really essential listening for Meek fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Meek Shall Inherit The Earth, 28 Aug. 2005
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lets Go Joe Meeks Girls (Audio CD)
Really excellent compilation worth buying for Dumb Head alone (the vinyl original recently fetched £102 on eBay) but there are several outstanding tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars joe meeks girls fantastic!!, 7 Oct. 2008
By 
Mr. S. L. Smith "musicman" (england carlisle cumbria) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lets Go Joe Meeks Girls (Audio CD)
this album is fab love it joe meek need i say anymore i love joe meek everyone knows him for telstar or what do you want to make those eyes at me for or just like eddie etc but he is a genious and is responsible for loads and loads of fab records and the original green door forget shakin stevens version!! this is a good collection of him with the girls as most of his hits where with the boys!! telstar the film premieres this month cant wait im excited!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One sad omission, 16 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lets Go Joe Meeks Girls (Audio CD)
One of the greatest tracks by 'Joe Meek's Girls' has to be Kim Roberts' 'For Loving Me This Way'.
Why it isn't on this great compilation remains a mystery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Joe Meek Excellence, 15 Jun. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Lets Go Joe Meeks Girls (Audio CD)
Some real gems here on this Joe Meek CD, especially the unreleased items such as "Mama Didn't Lie" by Flip and the Dateliners. Every track an otherworldy classic. Get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential purchase for Pop fans, 13 May 2009
By 
S Jones (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lets Go Joe Meeks Girls (Audio CD)
This is a fantastic fun album, ideal for both collectors who can get their hands on rare tracks at decent price and for the casual listener who wants to learn a bit more about Joe Meek and his "sound".

In a 29 track compilation, there's inevitably a couple of duff tracks, but there are at least half a dozen bona-fide pop classics which more than make up for them. Stand out track is "Dumb Head", which takes a fairly average American girl-pop song and turns it into a sinister masterpiece, with the Sharades banshee-like reproaches. But also worth a place in any music collection are Flip and the Dateliner's "Johnny Doesn't Come Around Any More" (Flip is easily the best singer on the album), "Who's The Girl" by Diane and the Javelins, Glenda Collins "I lost my heart at the fairground", Denise Scott's "Your love keeps me going" and Pamela Blue's "My Friend Bobby". And there's plenty more

Buy it - you won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of Joe's girl singers, 7 July 2009
By 
Mr. D. J. Brooker Snr "DJBmusicman" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lets Go Joe Meeks Girls (Audio CD)
Let's Go - Joe Meek's Girls

Excellent CD if you are into Girl groups and this is the Best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews