Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1996's first classic...
Following 1995's debut album 'Methodrone', The Brian Jonestown Massacre released a trio of albums in 1996 - 'Thank God for Mental Illness', 'Take it from the Man!' & 'Their Satanic Majesties Second Request' - a title as great as the later 'Bringing It All Back Home Again'!

The 18-tracks here are a joy and showcase the typically brilliant sound of the band...
Published on 23 April 2006 by Jason Parkes

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wont use this company again
This was a Birthday present that never Arrived ,This happened once before i thought i would give them a 2nd chance
this was sold by All your music
Published 2 months ago by STEVE S


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1996's first classic..., 23 April 2006
By 
Jason Parkes "We're all Frankies'" (Worcester, UK) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Following 1995's debut album 'Methodrone', The Brian Jonestown Massacre released a trio of albums in 1996 - 'Thank God for Mental Illness', 'Take it from the Man!' & 'Their Satanic Majesties Second Request' - a title as great as the later 'Bringing It All Back Home Again'!

The 18-tracks here are a joy and showcase the typically brilliant sound of the band associated with the documentary movie 'Dig!' and the bands the Dandy Warhols, The Warlocks, BRMC & Beachwood Sparks. While the shoegazing-influences found on 'Methodrone' are here, there's a whole lot more too - notably a psychedelic edge suggested by the title. The first listen made me think of Psychic TV's 'Godstar', The Dukes of Stratosphear, Spinal Tap, Spiritualized, Apples in Stereo, The Jesus & Mary Chain, 'Their Satanic Majesties' Request', The Wondermints, Love & The Beatles...which has to be great?

Not many of these tracks made it to the excellent 'Tepid Peppermint Wonderland Vol 2' compilation - probably due to the fact Anton Newcombe & co have been so prolific. I'd say this and 'Tepid Peppermint Wonderland Vol 2' would be the ideal introduction to one of the great cult bands and a key part of the American post-psychdelic scene alongside Neutral Milk Hotel, The Flaming Lips, The Kingsbury Manx, The Warlocks, Beachwood Sparks, Mercury Rev, & The Animal Collective. Great stuff, though an ideal companion would be the Dandy Warhol's 'Dandys Rule OK' - another great Brian Jonestown Massacre record anyway - don't miss their upcoming tour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars devilishly good, 5 Oct 2006
By 
A. Johnstone "'undertime'" (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Along with 'Give it Back' this is possibly the best offering from the wonderfully insane and prolific BJM. The Rolling Stones comparisons are undeniably just, but this band isn't the Stones 'lite' it's the Stones as they should still be and as they were at the peak of their creative powers. From the first few deliourous moments of 'all around you' (which is their own personal invitation for you to join the party - wait until you hear Anton 'find' the other 'supplies' for you, it's impossible not to smile) this album is instantly infectious. The fact that they've only gained a wider audience after 'Dig' is unfortunate, but, hey, that's what introduced me to them and I've bought almost all their albums since. This is a great introduction to an unfairly derided band - and in Mr Newcombe, by his own admission, a genius - and I very highly recommend it. Other songs to listen out for include - Miss June 75, In India You, Anemone.... oh all of them. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely ill, 10 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this as the first LP to play on my new record player and I could not be happier with it, the sour cream vinyl looks and sounds awesome, the organ sound is particularly epic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars epic, 18 Mar 2010
how does this only have 2 reviews? that seriously pisses me off. anenome makes your clothes fall off and is one of the best songs i've heard in years. anton won't let the band be raped so you have to search but it is completely and utterly worth it, check out methodrone too and take it from the man. this is music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wont use this company again, 15 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a Birthday present that never Arrived ,This happened once before i thought i would give them a 2nd chance
this was sold by All your music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars second helpings for the greedy, 5 Sep 2003
Now there are people out there who belive that the Rolling Stones "Satanic majesties" was a missed and neglected triumph, equal to Peppers & Pet Sounds. Personally I think it was no more than drug addled nonesense, the like of which you can hear the verbal equivalent in many pubs & clubs late in the evening. However this album has taken that message & run with it. Perhaps cos BJM don't take themselves too seriously, but have also tried to create an affectionate tribute to the Jones in the Stones, it works. (Although quite often they end up sounding like the Beta Band).
Not the best by this creative force, but a nice change of pace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No MP3 included ?, 24 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I did not receive the free MP3 version of this album along with the record, however the record was unopened and sounds great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Their Satanic Majesties' Second Request
Their Satanic Majesties' Second Request by The Brian Jonestown Massacre
Buy MP3 Album7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews