Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Subscribe and Save Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars258
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-rayChange
Price:£14.54+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 November 2006
This is undoubtedly the best comedy in the history of the world. Monty python, airplane!, borat etc etc seem all but mediocre in the presence of dumb and dumber.

The comedy timing and performance is amazing from both carrey and daniels. The script is hilarious and there are numerous occasions when you will be stuggling to get enough oxygen into your blood as you fight histerics.

And this is not a one off, i have watched this film over 20 times ands classic lines such as;

"fell off the jetway again"

"kick his ass sea bass"

"you wouldnt happen to have a cup of warm water would ya"

"that old romantic feeling, when youd do anything to bone her"

"you dont kil people you dont know"

"oh no howd it happen (pet dying) - his head fell off, yeah he was pretty old"

"youre it triple stamp, no erasees"

"an i.o.u is as good as money, sir"

"lets put another shrimp on the barby!"

"i wanna go where the beer flows like wine"

"hey wanna hear the most annoying sound in the world"

"Just gimmme the GOD DA.M NUMBER!"

"For fast effective releif"

"Mary, I desperately want to make love to a school boy"

"look at the fun bags on that horse hound"

Never grow old. If you havent seen this film it is a crime and you need to order it today, if you have watch it again, now.

Granted there are little features on this film but the film will give you everything you need (and the uncut version is not very good). Please dont think that i am just hyping this film up, this is the best comedy ever made, it will be worth the watch, enjoy.
44 comments15 of 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2013
Lloyd and Harry are two very stupid friends, who struggle with every aspect of life. Working as a limo driver, Lloyd drops off the beautiful Mary at the airport and instantly falls in love with her.

Watching Mary through a window, Lloyd witnesses her leave her case behind. Grabbing her case, Lloyd is too late, but soon thinks of the next best thing.

Dragging Harry with him, Lloyd heads off to Aspen to deliver the case to her personally.

However, Mary isn't the only person after the case, as a pair of criminals are after the same case.....

Almost twenty years ago, this was comedy gold. Carrey was the biggest thing on the planet (The Mask and Ace Ventura were huge hits), and this was a really different type of comedy, never really seen before, so it was a huge success.

Watching it now, knowing that The Farellys haven't done anything of note since 2000, and Carrey since 2003, the film is still good, but you really tend to focus more on Daniels, because he really plays against type in this, and he steals the film from Carrey.

Its a simple premise, but the high concept of the two being 'dumb' is just great, and makes a simple premise all the more interesting. Supporting characters are just as funny, and some key scenes play out as sketches, which are funny standalone.

So all in all, its a great comedy, and moved the genre a notch or two up, and paved the way of comedy for the next few years...
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2011
Dumb and Dumber is one of my all time favourite comedy films which I had only ever had on video, up until I bought this copy on DVD. My friend had bought the uncut version on DVD a while ago though it was just not the same as the bits that were added in were slightly rude and took away from what Dumb & Dumber was about, so when I found this version on Amazon I was over the moon thinking it was going to be the original version that I had had on video all those years ago. I was soo dissapointed when I realised that actually some of the scenes had been cut out of it, one being my favourite scene when they pick up the mexican hitch hiking family and sing mocking bird. Sadly this scene was not in it along with other small snippets cut off the end of other scenes. Still one of my favourite films but dont know how many copies I am going to have to but to get the original version on DVD.
22 comments8 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 20 February 2010
Harry (Jeff Daniels) and Lloyd (Jim Carrey) are two losers who manage to scrape a living by limo driving and dog pampering. One day Lloyd drives the woman of his dreams to the airport but before she departs she leaves a briefcase full of money behind. Lloyd manages to persuade Harry to help him take the case thousands of miles to Aspen to give it back to her. Along the way they spend the money and find themselves in lots of hilarious scrapes. The dream sequence where Lloyd fights the kung fu chef is unforgettable and the scene in the Dante's Inferno diner is equally memorable.

The uncut version features more of Seabass including his kinky underwear. The jacuzzi scene is extended and there is more dialogue between Harry and Lloyd in the van. Extras include a retrospective documentary, ten additional scenes, two alternate endings, trailers and more. Picture quality is a step up from dvd with more vivid colours and greater detail in close-ups.

It's not just the crazy slapstick comedy that makes Dumb and Dumber so memorable. It is the great soundtrack, the panoramic shots of America's landscapes and Harry and Lloyd's unbreakable friendship. So is Dumb and Dumber on Blu-ray worth an upgrade from dvd? At such a low price, yes.
11 comment6 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 14 November 2014
Dumb and Dumber is one of my favourite comedies ever - a five star comedy classic.

I decided to replace my DVD with the UK release of the 'unrated' version (rated 12a) on DVD.
I have checked over and over and over again, and maybe I'm dumb, but I cannot find the extended version on the disc.
There is the theatrical version, a trailer, a 17 minute documentary and deleted scenes.
But I'll be damned if there's an extended version on the disc (which according to the cover has 6 minutes added)
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2004
OK, this film creates a new meaning for the word 'silly', but if you are a silly person then you will appreciate this film without a doubt. I have just completed a degree in Media Arts with Popular Culture and am about to go onto an MA, however my favorite actor is still Jim Carrey and my favorate Directors are the Farrelly Brothers. I must say that Dumb and Dumber is my favorite Farrelly Brothers film, with a-joke-a-minute and brillant acting from Jim and that other guy! Must be watched by all!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2014
I remember when Jeff Daniels was doing interviews for ‘Dumb and Dumber,’ he stated that he had to mentally ‘dumb himself down’ when preparing himself for the role of Harry. I think that’s what anyone contemplating watching Dumb and Dumber needs to do in order to appreciate it.

Okay, so Jim Carey is the star (Lloyd) and he and his equally-clueless best mate Harry set off on a road trip across America in order to return what he thinks is a missing briefcase to its rightful owner. So, basically it’s a ‘road movie.’ Now, by definition road movies are pretty ‘low on plot.’ The ‘story’ is simply the two dumb guys moving from one daft setting to the next. Yes, it is low on story. But it is pretty damn funny. And isn’t that the main thing?

It was made at the height of Jim Carey’s fame, therefore he was somehow still fresh. If you’re looking for low-brow humour then you’ll find what you’re looking for here. Yes, it won’t tax you mentally and, by the time the credits roll, you may actually be thinking with a few less IQ points. However, if you’re prepared to trade a few brain cells in for a lot of laughs then you’ve come to the right place.

Best dead bird laughs since Monty Python’s parrot.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2009
Dumb and Dumber is one of my all time favorite funny films. The transfer to blu-ray isn't the best I've seen to date (for a brilliant transfer see I-Robot), but is an improvement visually on the original.
As for the extra scene's, I think the film was funny enough without them and they do not reall add much extra value, infact I think a couple of scene's are better without them!
All in all if you want a good laugh, there is no funnier film for £9.99.
Thanks.
DL
0Comment10 of 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2007
If humour is simply a way of coping with the overriding misery of existence then Dumb & Dumber emerges like a cure for cancer. Lloyd Christmas (Jim Carrey) and Harry Dunne (Jeff Daniels) are the knuckle-headed losers road-trippin' their way to the sunny climes of Aspen to deliver a lost briefcase to the mysterious Mary Swanson (Lauren Holly). (Lloyd fell in love with her, you see, while he drove her to the airport.) Along the way they steal from a blind kid, poison a hitman, and give a motorbike cop a swig of moonshine he'll never forget... And that's before they've even reached Colorado.

Writers and directors the Farrelly Brothers forego the cutesy angst that blunted There's Something About Mary and go flat-out on the sick and the scatalogical. It's puerile, of course, but Carrey's clown has never had a better home, and Jeff Daniels shows expert comic timing to add to his impressive dramatic range. The script they share is sharp as a shiv, as well as being endlessly quotable. Does the gag count sink ever so slightly in the final reel? Perhaps. But just wait for the epilogue: probably the funniest comedy pay-off since Some Like It Hot.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2002
The film is brilliant-funny, clever and...well funny! Thats the good part..the bad part is the DVD itself. There are only a couple of extra features on offer, when there could have been so much more-ie: Commentry, documentary etc.. Also, the film is cut! Although not much is cut, its enough to be angry at..most noticable cut is when they pick up the hitchhikers-in this version..well, they don't. Also the subtitles are off, I mean, when Lloyd says 'You have that crazy look in your eyes', the subtitles say 'You have a crazy look when you arrive'..I mean whats that all about?
A great film, but a very poor DVD, lets just hope they re-release it sometime soon..
0Comment14 of 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)
  -  
See The Very Latest Data. Contact Datamyne for A Free Demo!