Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars End of religion, right here, right now.
as someone who has followed Christ for 33 years it takes one hell of a book to destroy my illusions. This is it. Don't get me wrong, I have had doubts for a long time, but this book demands answers from christianity, answers that are sadly missing. My religion is no more valuable than the worship of RA the sungod. My sacraments no more valid than the cruel demands of...
Published 9 months ago by JohnnyK

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Curates Egg!
Comprehensive & well researched - covers a wide range of arguments against the inconsistencies in the Bible. However, its let down by an immature writing style. It looks as if the Publisher couldn't afford an editor to guide the author. Probably worth it for the amount of information but be ready to wade through some turgid text!!
Published on 16 Jan 2011 by David K


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended for doubters and believers alike., 29 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book takes apart the Bible and exposes the incredible levels of myth, magic, misogyny, and misrepresentation contained therein. You can't read this and not seriously re-think religion. Should be compulsory in schools.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Biblical Nonsense, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent book ,if you are a doubting Christian or just a plain atheist ,this is the book for you ! ,Dr Jason Long's detailed analysis of (especially the old testament ) the Bible is both accurate and amusing ,he goes from verse to verse (and I would say you need a Bible with you so as to judge the accuracy ) pulling them apart in detail ,the Noah story being particularly funny .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sent a Jehovah Witness away with no come back on my questions!, 28 Mar 2010
By 
Having this excellent book, and read it and will re-read it again, I happened to get a Jehovah Witness come to the door yesterday. My girlfriend, an ex-Jehovah W, herself, was talking to him, and of course, from her own 15 years experience, she knew how he was trying to approach us etc etc. However, using the Genesis creation debunking arguments as outlayed in the book, this Jehovah Witness, could not answer, how, in the begining God said let there be light, and yet on the third or fourth day, God created the Sun!! So where did the light come from on the first day? Of course, there was technically no days, until the Sun was created on the fourth day anyhow!! So this answer, sent the Jehovah Witness into confusion overdrive and was muttering something about too much dust in the air to see the sun!! Haha! I thought, God could see everything anyhow! He said he would come back to us after consulting his elders etc and give us the answer! My girlfriend is convinced he won't come back! I also attended a 5 week course, called Christianity Explored not long back and threw so many valid questions into the pot, the organiser, said he would come to my house to answer my questions in depth, I think to shut me up, and not ruin his sales pitch! So far, he has not shown up!! Buy this book, and learn a lot of intelligent arguments to throw back at Christians!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best, 22 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Biblical Nonsense: A Review Of The Bible For Doubting Christians (Kindle Edition)
Thank you for writing this book it has sorted my mind out forever. I have been seaching for answers for the past forty years and this book has given me all the answers. A must read for everyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well done Mr Long., 14 Jun 2011
A very useful, straight forward review of the bible pointing out its obvious flaws to the believers who have not bothered to read the Bible themselves and justification to those who do not believe. After reading this book any logical, critical thinking individual with have either rubbished the claims of the Bible being the word of God, or at least came to the conclusion that this particular God is not the kind and loving one they once thought he was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars i recommend you buy this book why, 20 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i decided to increase my religious skepticism books by buying this on top of brian baker books. this book by jason long is more deeper and thorough than brian bakers books. he analyzes history to a deeper level as well as scrutinizes daft religious verses and dogma plus historical dates with biblical stories. i recommend you buy this book why? at some in your life before you die you will question christian faith so the sooner the better you buy this book and read it now before its too late in your retirement years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, not only for doubting Christians, but for believers too, 11 Jan 2010
By 
S. WEI - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Don't get me wrong, I'm no believer, but this book provides with so much good ammunition when dealing with the believers. Boy, how I love it! A couple of logical holes plus a few detailed factual inconsistencies taken from this book will send your believer friend home to check his Bible then scratch his head, if he's at least somewhat rational!

Thank you, Jason!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The bible debunked, 13 Dec 2010
During my christian upbringing I never took much notice of the bible (probably due to the fact the King James version is written in a centuries old lingo I barely understood) but now as a free thinking agnostic I find myself taking an interest in religion again, reading books such as this one. Biblical Nonsense is general analysis (though not comprehensive) study at the absurdities, hypocrisy and immorality of the old and new testaments, offering scientific and common sense expanations to many bible stories and prophecies, some of the old testament passages studied in this book are quite disturbing while some absolutely hilarious such as the talking donkey, the new testament is'nt quite as bizarre though it's full of glaring contradictions and errors. This book has been an enjoyable and worthwhile read and I highly recommend it to doubters and skeptics as it provides useful ammunition to annoy our christian friends
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Be prepared to throw away your comfort blanket, 4 Mar 2013
By 
L Beck "Riverman" (North Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Biblical Nonsense: A Review Of The Bible For Doubting Christians (Kindle Edition)
Most Christians are Christians, most Muslims are Muslims, most (fill in your own blank) are (fill in your own blank) because of childhood conditioning. No doubt most Atheists are Atheists for the same reason. As a child you accept what your parents and your teachers tell you as the truth. And so it is perpuated generation after generation. You don't have to think about it. By the time you are an adult the conditioning has set like concrete! In my case, reading books like this one by Jason Long, and many others in similar vein has encouraged me to re-visit the Bible with a more open and enquiring mind and a readiness to chip away at the concrete. Reading the Bible from cover to cover is no easy task. My son claims to have done it, but I have not. Fortunately others like Jason Long have made a more scholarly attempt at it, and of course his book gives all the necessary chapter and verse references that you can check for yourself.

Committed Christians, particularly those of a fundamental bent may or may not have read the entire Bible, but somehow I doubt it, because if you have any intelligence at all it is impossible to read the lot and remain a committed Christian. It is so full of fantasies, inconsistencies, historical and geographical innacuracies that one cannot help be amazed that it was ever taken seriously, though to be fair it all started out in an age of primitive tribes and general ignorance.

The Book is described as a Review of the Bible for Doubting Christians, and I'm wondering if it will only ever be read by doubting Christians. It is important that it should be read by committed Christians. It is not easy throwing off the comfort blanket of your childhood conditioning, especially when the blanket is woven with carefully selected, or cherry-picked, material from the "Good Book". But if you can bring yourself to consign the blanket to the trash can the result is strangely liberating, and you are left with your own innate moral code that is found within most people of any civilised society, of whatever religion or absence of religion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 July 2014
By 
Mr. N. H. Jones (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews