Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars30
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 January 2010
This is a very special record indeed. I'd been looking for some music to play over Christmas which was more English than the usual Christmas carol CDs and more traditional than the Slade/Wizard stuff. This fits the bill perfectly. A collection of early English Christmas songs and carols arranged and sung to perfection accompanied by traditional instruments. Some are choral and some are sung solo but the overall effect is to create a marvellous English Christmas atmosphere in the room. You can listen to it on many levels. It is a beautiful piece of atmospheric Christmas backgound music but it also stands up as a glorious collection of early English songs.Sometimes joyful, always moving, this should appeal to those like ambient and folk music as well as those looking for a more classical Christmas.
Buy it!
0Comment|67 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2012
I heard a track from this album and bought the entire recording based on the reviews. They did not steer me wrong - this is stunning work from an incredible group. I love the music and you can listen to it over and over - it is not "Christmasy" in the usual sense, just a balm to the soul. Very well recorded and captures all the nuances of this group of singers. Have put other albums from The Sixteen on my wishlist.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2008
Great cd. Some tracks are quite rustic and refrehingly simple while being thoroughly enjoyable. Others are sweetly exquisite. And they all go together in a wonderful cohesive whole. One of my favourites from The Sixteen.
0Comment|41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2012
This recording is so atmospheric you can almost feel the space it was sung in. A great relaxing listen or alternative background music for the festive season. Beautiful voices and interesting traditional instruments accompanying.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2014
Bought this as a Christmas present for a fencing coach, who says it has not left his CD player since he opened the package. We both big fans of 'The Sixteen'.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2015
Even if you are unfamiliar with mediaeval music, there is much to like and enjoy about this recording. Harry Chrisophers and The Sixteen are superb, as usual. Good listening for Chrismas, and at other times, too.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2015
Some of my favourite music and arrived just before Xmas which was great. The cds not very loud even at the highest setting but I'm still enjoying it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2016
Played it a lot during the period - more as background music than a sit down an listen. It will be out again next ~Christmas, without doubt.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2015
Bought for my son-in-law who sings in an Anglican choir. Well appreciated.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2014
Wonderful music and very enjoyable. The Sixteen are a fantastic group.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)