Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


58 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect atmosphere for Christmas
This is a very special record indeed. I'd been looking for some music to play over Christmas which was more English than the usual Christmas carol CDs and more traditional than the Slade/Wizard stuff. This fits the bill perfectly. A collection of early English Christmas songs and carols arranged and sung to perfection accompanied by traditional instruments. Some are...
Published on 15 Jan 2010 by Simon Harper

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Rather dreary
I know the old days were miserable. I usually like this kind of stuff but it's all a bit downbeat and dreary - even the familiar tunes. I played it through once but haven't bothered again.
Published 9 months ago by Dr. A. Choules


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

58 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect atmosphere for Christmas, 15 Jan 2010
By 
Simon Harper (Aldershot UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a very special record indeed. I'd been looking for some music to play over Christmas which was more English than the usual Christmas carol CDs and more traditional than the Slade/Wizard stuff. This fits the bill perfectly. A collection of early English Christmas songs and carols arranged and sung to perfection accompanied by traditional instruments. Some are choral and some are sung solo but the overall effect is to create a marvellous English Christmas atmosphere in the room. You can listen to it on many levels. It is a beautiful piece of atmospheric Christmas backgound music but it also stands up as a glorious collection of early English songs.Sometimes joyful, always moving, this should appeal to those like ambient and folk music as well as those looking for a more classical Christmas.
Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just for Christmas, 14 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I heard a track from this album and bought the entire recording based on the reviews. They did not steer me wrong - this is stunning work from an incredible group. I love the music and you can listen to it over and over - it is not "Christmasy" in the usual sense, just a balm to the soul. Very well recorded and captures all the nuances of this group of singers. Have put other albums from The Sixteen on my wishlist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rustic and exquisite, 12 Dec 2008
By 
Great cd. Some tracks are quite rustic and refrehingly simple while being thoroughly enjoyable. Others are sweetly exquisite. And they all go together in a wonderful cohesive whole. One of my favourites from The Sixteen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime, 28 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This recording is so atmospheric you can almost feel the space it was sung in. A great relaxing listen or alternative background music for the festive season. Beautiful voices and interesting traditional instruments accompanying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real Christmas Music, 30 Dec 2013
This makes a wonderful change from the usual offerings of massed choirs, the latest talent show winner, or pop singers' versions of corny Christmas songs. It is really worth sitting and listening properly without any interruptions, but, it also provides an excellent background to a family Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wonderful music and very enjoyable. The Sixteen are a fantastic group.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, 6 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really lovely - nice choice of carols and as usual, brilliantly sung by The Sixteen. Have listened to it lots. Would recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Rather dreary, 22 Jan 2014
By 
Dr. A. Choules (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I know the old days were miserable. I usually like this kind of stuff but it's all a bit downbeat and dreary - even the familiar tunes. I played it through once but haven't bothered again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 13 Dec 2013
By 
F. J. Court "Fenton" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christus Natus Est/An Early English Christmas (MP3 Download)
This is Medieval rock and roll at it's best. 20 tracks of Harry Christopher genius.
All great seasonal tracks, including Gaudete made famous by Steeleye Span and to be honest not much different here, just less accompaniment.
Also track 5 is fantastic and track 6 has the most obvious melody, but for the money you can't go wrong. Shall be playing this at any time of year and a good introduction to Tallis and Byrd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great CD For Christmas, 10 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Lovely background music for a warm Christmas atmosphere. Really chilled out old school chanty kind of music, very relaxing and festive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Christus Natus Est/An Early English Christmas
Christus Natus Est/An Early English Christmas by The Sixteen And Harry Christophers
Buy MP3 Album£5.09
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews