Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


61 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic recording
I was present at the live concert at the Barbican in August 2007 when this was recorded. It was probably the best concert ever attended, and the recording shows this in it's energy, yet passionate and sensitive qualities.Harry Christoper ,The Sixteen and the Academy of St martin's in the field have produced a superb C.D..
J. Battershill
Published on 25 Mar 2008 by Mrs. J. M. Battershill

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars faure's requiem
This is disappointing; the recording doesn't do justice to the singing of The Sixteen. It is a live recording in the Barbican hall, but this sort of singing needs some echo such as a church gives.
Published on 18 Feb 2012 by Fitz


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

61 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic recording, 25 Mar 2008
This review is from: Fauré - Requiem (Audio CD)
I was present at the live concert at the Barbican in August 2007 when this was recorded. It was probably the best concert ever attended, and the recording shows this in it's energy, yet passionate and sensitive qualities.Harry Christoper ,The Sixteen and the Academy of St martin's in the field have produced a superb C.D..
J. Battershill
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 23 Feb 2010
By 
J. Hamilton (Poole, Dorset, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fauré - Requiem (Audio CD)
Theis performance is sublime - I particularly love the fresh open sound of Roderick Williams' Libera Me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Moving interpretation, 28 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fauré - Requiem (Audio CD)
A beautiful synchronising of words and music . Pity about Pie Jesu ! Would prefer the Mozart pieces at the end of disc, tho' on reflection perhaps that would be inappropriate to the contemplative ending of the Requiem
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A near perfect recording, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fauré - Requiem (Audio CD)
A very moving piece of music equisitly performed.
I listen to it again and again and never tire of it.
Music that you can listen to anywhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Choral bliss, 15 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fauré - Requiem (Audio CD)
If you like choral music, you'll love this. It is so relaxing after a hard days work or while writing. Great music to study to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 2 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fauré - Requiem (Audio CD)
The Academy and the Sixteen complement each other so well. Wanted to use the work for a funeral and this recording was so much less brash than most and suited the occassion. Despite that sad occasion it is still something I listen to regularly with awe
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 30 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fauré - Requiem (Audio CD)
This is a joy...let each note caress your ears and fill your heart with peace and joy...I'm a confirmed atheist, so I don't listen to it for any religious experience. It is simply beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely music, 8 July 2013
By 
Mr. B. Frankland "Bruiser" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fauré - Requiem (Audio CD)
I had heard this before on Classic FM so I new that it was a brilliant recording. I recommend this to any-one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great music, 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fauré - Requiem (Audio CD)
It's hard to spoil as gorgeous a piece of music as Fauré's Requiem, and The Sixteen exloited every nuance. Wonderful listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this version, 17 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fauré - Requiem (Audio CD)
This is a lovely recording. By far the best I have heard.
My only small niggle is that Faure Req is not the first piece on the CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fauré Requiem
Fauré Requiem by The Sixteen / Academy of St Martin in the Fields
Buy MP3 Album£4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews