Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Small, compact and reliable solar charger
I travel frequently and wild-camp in remote areas without access to any power supply so have recently become reliant upon alternative power sources for charging phones, sat-nav and camera batteries. I was attracted to this unit due to its compact size and slightly increased capactiy over the similar A-Solar AM-102 Aluminium Solar Power Charger charger.

A wide...
Published on 22 Mar. 2009 by KWren

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great idea, but mixed results
Nice little device this. This solar cell is a handy sized device, about twice the size of a mobile phone. It's very simple to use - you allow it to charge itself up in the sun, and then you can use it to charge up phones, gamces, mp3 players, and so on. It comes with suckers that you can fit to the base to attach it to a car dashboard if you want to use it in a...
Published on 18 April 2009 by Arheddis Varkenjaab


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Small, compact and reliable solar charger, 22 Mar. 2009
By 
KWren "KWren" (Wye Valley) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A-Solar AM-101 Mobile/PDA/Game Solar Power Charger (Accessory)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I travel frequently and wild-camp in remote areas without access to any power supply so have recently become reliant upon alternative power sources for charging phones, sat-nav and camera batteries. I was attracted to this unit due to its compact size and slightly increased capactiy over the similar A-Solar AM-102 Aluminium Solar Power Charger charger.

A wide range of ten connectors are supplied for charging mobile phones (see my uploaded photos), iPods, MP3/4 players, sat-nav units and digital camera which charge via a mini USB and other small electricals to 5.5v, 7.5v or 9.5v (note - the similar A-Solar AM-102 Aluminium Solar Power Charger model only charges up to 5.5v).

Although tempting to put the charger immediately out in the sun, it's worth giving it a good first charge via its US port then subsquent charges can be in the sun. The LED indicator glows red during charging then changes to green indicating a full charge (via USB - not via solar panels) which can then be used to charge eg a mobile phone which takes 1-2 hours (85 minutes for my Sony Ericsson W200i).

I tested my charger on a sunny March weekend by charging firstly via the USB port as advised then draining the battery completely by charging several phones and TomTom sat-nav. The next day, using the supplied suckers (see my uploaded photos) I stuck the panel to an upstairs window in full sun from about 8am - 6pm to test its performance. It charged well and this evening has charged a Nokia 1100 mobile phone and a sat-nav unit and still has some power to spare (although I have no means of testing exactly how much). It will also charge through a double-glazed window but will take longer to reach full-charge. If it performs this well in March then I have high hopes for even better performance mid-summer when the days are longer and brighter - and I will update this review then but, in the meantime, I am very happy with my purchase.

Note: best solar-charging results are obtained by charging outdoors but this unit is not weatherproof and should not get wet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great idea, but mixed results, 18 April 2009
This review is from: A-Solar AM-101 Mobile/PDA/Game Solar Power Charger (Accessory)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Nice little device this. This solar cell is a handy sized device, about twice the size of a mobile phone. It's very simple to use - you allow it to charge itself up in the sun, and then you can use it to charge up phones, gamces, mp3 players, and so on. It comes with suckers that you can fit to the base to attach it to a car dashboard if you want to use it in a car.

It's a shame it doesn't come with a way of fixing it to a bag, as it would be quite useful for hiking trips if you could attach it to the back of a rucksack and let it charge as you walk through the day. That said, you could attach some zipties to the bottom quite easily and make your own.

The only snag with this charger, is it doesn't always seem to work. Trying to charge my Creative Zen mp3 player was a flop - the little charge light comes on, and my zen says it's charging, only actually it isn't. No charge at all. My Sony Ericson mobile had similar results - sometimes it charged up fine, other times the mobile's screen would tell me it was charging, but it wouldn't actually charge up!

Other reviewers may have had better results, and it's a fun little gadget, but don't buy it to rely on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very handy piece of kit, 22 Mar. 2009
By 
The Fat Monk (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A-Solar AM-101 Mobile/PDA/Game Solar Power Charger (Accessory)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
In this review I will actually review and compare two very similar products from A-Solar - the A-Solar AM-101 (this unit) and the A-Solar AM-102 Aluminium Mobile/PDA/Game Solar Power Charger.

At first glance the AM-101 seems to be the inferior of the two products. The build quality is inferior to that of the AM-102, the AM-101 being of lightweight plastic construction. Another concern with the AM-101 is that the solar panel in the unit is very exposed and could very easily become damaged.

The AM-102, on the other hand, is a three-part aluminium construction. The solar panels clip together and then attach to the main part of the unit for storage (the unit is shipped and packaged like this). This means tha the unit is not only sturdier, but when packed away the solar panels are protected.

The style of the AM-101, being similar to a PDA or iPhone (though much cheaper looking) may win some people over but note that the construction really does feel quite flimsy.

The units are functionaly almost identical. Both contain a lithium-ion battery which means that they can be charged whenever there is sufficient light, and then the charge in the Li-ion battery can be used to charge / power your phone or PDA or game etc when you like - whether there is sufficient light or not. What's more, the A-Solar units cen actually be charged themselves by USB and used effectively as a spare battery for your phone / PDA / game.

Connectivity-wise the AM-101 and the AM-102 are identical. Both come with a pretty comprehensive pack of adapters. There are connectors for various phones, Nintendo DS and a mini USB connector. Mini USB has just been selected in Europe as the standard power connector for mobile phones/devices giving this product a certain amount of future-proofing (so long as the internal Li-Ion battery ast long enough).

(By the way, I have 4 HTC devices, and three of them have mini-USB connectors and so can be powered by the AM-101 or AM-102 quite happily. The ext-USB connection may be unique to the HTD Touch HD, so the problem noted by a previous reviewer is unlikely to be an issue.)

Apart from the build quality difference, there is one other important difference between the two. The AM-102 can only supplu 5.5V to the device it is charging / powering, where as the AM-102 can supply 5.5V, 7.5V or 9.5V. Most phones / PDAs require 5.5V but its worth checking your manufacturer supplied charger to make sure. The Nintendo DS charger, for example, shows a 5.2V output, so in theory both the AM-101 and the AM-102 could at worst damage your DS or at least invalidate the warranty!

That said, these are both very handy devices to have around. The AM-102 just manages to take my preference because of its aluminium construction and teh fact that the solar panels are protected when its packed away. But if you need the different voltages, you'll need to go for the AM-101. Price-wise, there's less than 60p between them on Amazon!

[I'll update this review with charging performance details when I've tested the units further]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent with one caveat for HTC Touch HD owners, 21 Mar. 2009
By 
This review is from: A-Solar AM-101 Mobile/PDA/Game Solar Power Charger (Accessory)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This product is absolutely brilliant and I think its an essential piece of kit to keep in your bag but there is a problem for HTC owners. The HTC has an EXTusb socket not a mini USb socket. If you want to use this product you will need to buy an adaptor. Also you really do need to make the first charge from your PC in order to condition it and check the voltage on your device to be charged before using it for the first time as it does 5.5V, 7.5V and 9.5V.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars solar charger , you pay for wot you get...looks better than it performs, 30 Jun. 2009
By 
W. wright (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A-Solar AM-101 Mobile/PDA/Game Solar Power Charger (Accessory)
only charges partially and needs to be charged via Pc's usb on a regular basis, it work works ok on blue tooth headsets but only does a partial charge on my sony erricson phone, doesn't work on my snooper sat nav because it doesn't have the fitting....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Average, 20 Aug. 2012
By 
Kevin Hall - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A-Solar AM-101 Mobile/PDA/Game Solar Power Charger (Accessory)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Not the best made device in the world and recharging devices from it was pretty slow. There are much better recharging devices than this - had this not been a sample to test I would have sent it back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews