Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars16
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 October 2012
Although the topic is interesting and the book gives some sort of superficial insight into a world which is fascinating, the writing style almost killed it for me. Rarely have I read a book where the author (although it'd be probably more accurate to call him a 'gatherer of facts and anecdotes') repeated the same facts over and over and over and over - it was truly maddening at times. This book is in dire need of a good edit, but I bet that if all the repeatitions were removed, the book would be hardly half the size, so probably too short to justify the price.
Other flaws included the sloppy research (No! 'Bonheur' does NOT mean 'Good luck' in French! Surely that would have been easy enough to check!), the far-fetched extrapolations and over-interpretations and the annoying and pointless hindsights. I wouldn't recommend.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2013
Fab loads of information you would not normally know about even working for the company does not tell you all this
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2016
Loved this 'seat of your pants' story about the Widow Clicquot who was clearly an entrepreneurial and astute businesswoman. Entertainingly told. Someone should buy the film rights - it's that good!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2016
received it for xmas and loved it. True that there are some repetitions but reading was smooth and enjoyable.
Highly recommended!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2015
Bought for a friend who loves this champagne so was nice for her to read about the history
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2016
Happy with it will shop again with this shop
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2015
Great book for all Champagne lovers!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2011
This book gave me a complete and fresh idea of Chanel No. 5 history, from the time of its creation until it became a huge success.

Mazzeo's writing is simple so one can understand some things like the production of a fragrance since its creation until it is out in the market for sales.

The reports of Coco Chanel's life and the detailed description of the facts that occurred at that time (since the 1920's) gives us a full picture of what that fragrance went through to become a legendary scent.

If you are a fanatic perfume lover such as I, then you owe to yourself to read and finally learn of how some perfumes where created. The writer has transferred to me her passion of an understandable and incredible reading, meaning to me a worth-reading book!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2010
Absolutely loved this book - Champagne is the subject and is certainly my taste! You learn a lot from this as well as a great story.
22 comments|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2013
A bit rambling in places but an interesting read. Lots of interesting information about the historical and modern methods if Champagne production. There are obviously only sketchy details about certain aspects of the Widow Clicquots` life, but I was a bit disappointed that her death was described rather vaguely as her having "breathed her last". Written with empathy by someone who truly loves her subject.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)