Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars rMPR + 2x Dell U2713M with Apple Dual Link DVI Adapter
I am connecting a Retina Macbook Pro (15", 2.4Ghz, 16gb) with 2 Dell U2713M with resolution of 2560x1440. Works great so far with 2 Apple Dual Link DVI adapters. One thing to note is that these adapters require USB for power and the Y-shaped end of the adapter does not make the USB cable long enough to connect to the second available USB port on the rMBP as it is located...
Published 21 months ago by KN

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Works fine but too expensive
It's the only way to get a resolution higher than 1080p out of a Mac Mini but Apple make you pay too much for what seems an oversight on their part for not providing a Dual-Link DVI output to start with. It's also annoying that only Apple make this cable as it means they can dictate the price.

At least the price on Amazon is cheaper than buying direct from...
Published 17 months ago by James


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Works fine but too expensive, 12 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apple MB571Z/A Adaptor Display Port to Dual Link DVI for MacBook Air / Pro (Personal Computers)
It's the only way to get a resolution higher than 1080p out of a Mac Mini but Apple make you pay too much for what seems an oversight on their part for not providing a Dual-Link DVI output to start with. It's also annoying that only Apple make this cable as it means they can dictate the price.

At least the price on Amazon is cheaper than buying direct from Apple or a from an Apple retailer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars rMPR + 2x Dell U2713M with Apple Dual Link DVI Adapter, 7 Mar 2013
This review is from: Apple MB571Z/A Adaptor Display Port to Dual Link DVI for MacBook Air / Pro (Personal Computers)
I am connecting a Retina Macbook Pro (15", 2.4Ghz, 16gb) with 2 Dell U2713M with resolution of 2560x1440. Works great so far with 2 Apple Dual Link DVI adapters. One thing to note is that these adapters require USB for power and the Y-shaped end of the adapter does not make the USB cable long enough to connect to the second available USB port on the rMBP as it is located on the right side (the Thunderbolt ports are both on the left side, along with one USB port). I wish Apple had put both USB ports next to the 2 Thunderbolt ports. I am also using a Macbook Air which is placed to the left of the rMBP and connecting the second USB cable into the MBA, this works just fine as the USB cable is merely looking for a power source. So I suppose if you only had the rMBP you would have to find a way to power the second Dual Link adapter. I have also tested using the Dell U2713M with the MBA (which can only take one external monitor this way) and works just fine so will consider picking up a third monitor and dual link adapter for a full setup. As a note I am not using this setup for any graphic intensive work, mostly text and charts and as noted it works wonderfully well. Bear in mind the laptop will be hotter at work as it is working harder to support the external monitors and occasionally the fans will be a little noisy but nothing too alarming. I read a lot of negative reviews on the Dual Link Adapter before purchasing but I suspect the problems may arise if using older equipment as most reviewers who were using relatively new equipment (monitor and computer) seemed to be fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Working well with a 3rd party monitor (Hazro HZ27WC), 2 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apple MB571Z/A Adaptor Display Port to Dual Link DVI for MacBook Air / Pro (Personal Computers)
I initially had issues with the well known interference (intermittent colour distortion and artefacts etc) which was pretty unusable.
I was using a cheap DVI dual link cable that I had bought 6 years ago. So I bought a startech branded DVI dual link cable (£8) and now I have no issues at all, working perfectly. My monitor is a Hazro HZ27WC, with a late 2013 Macbook Pro 15".

By the way, the same old cable I had works fine when connected to my PC with the same monitor, but doesn't work with the Apple adapter. My guess is that Apple's adapter has different and stricter time constraints on the digital signals perhaps and therefore requires a decent quality cable.

So my advice is, don't listen to the people complaining about the adapter. Just try is with a decent quality DVI cable for yourself. When I say decent quality DVI cable, I don't mean spending £50 on one, you should be able to get one for under £15 online.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Item was faulty, 23 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apple MB571Z/A Adaptor Display Port to Dual Link DVI for MacBook Air / Pro (Personal Computers)
Item was faulty when received. The Dual Link is causing interference problems on the Apple 30" Cinema Display
(moving streaks across a black background)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Does what it should.., 17 Jun 2011
This review is from: Apple MB571Z/A Adaptor Display Port to Dual Link DVI for MacBook Air / Pro (Personal Computers)
Nice looking and with a USB output that you can connect to the monitors hub. Connected to my new 13" macbook pro with thunderbolt/mini display port. Nothing. Crap I thought. Updated OSX and it sprung to life. So if your having probs update and you may be ok.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Does the job - for a price., 31 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apple MB571Z/A Adaptor Display Port to Dual Link DVI for MacBook Air / Pro (Personal Computers)
Used to connect a 3rd party monitor to my 27" iMac as an external monitor. Item functioned as expected and I am please with its performance. My 2nd monitor was also a very high resolution 27" screen and I needed it to perform up to standard. Although the item is robustly built and high-quality I feel it is slightly expensive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Just so expensive, 22 Jun 2014
This review is from: Apple MB571Z/A Adaptor Display Port to Dual Link DVI for MacBook Air / Pro (Personal Computers)
Does exactly as promised but why does it have to cost so much? Maybe the cheaper versions faults are the answer but I'm sure it's down to corporate greed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect 2560 x 1440 on Shimian Korean Monitor (Dual-DVI), 26 Mar 2014
By 
Seth Goldwin (Zurich, Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apple MB571Z/A Adaptor Display Port to Dual Link DVI for MacBook Air / Pro (Personal Computers)
There are great deals now on Korean monitors at above HD resolution. BUT the one I got is dual-link DVI. The inexpensive single -link DVI adapters will only deliver a maximum resolution of 1920 x 1080. To get 2560 you need an active, dual-link adapter like this one, which is what I got. I plugged it in and it works perfectly. The secret to getting the monitor to work: buy an expensive dual-link DVI adapter like this one. The secret to getting the adapter to work: ensure that the adapter has Firmware Version 1.03 (as do all new ones).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Works ok, 1 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apple MB571Z/A Adaptor Display Port to Dual Link DVI for MacBook Air / Pro (Personal Computers)
A few glitches every now and then.... but i'm informed by other users this is quite normal....

Now get super hi res from my macbook pro onto my NEC PA271W .....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It works perfectly, as it if was new, 21 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apple MB571Z/A Adaptor Display Port to Dual Link DVI for MacBook Air / Pro (Personal Computers)
I was a bit concerned about buying it because it was cheaper than a new one from Apple but it is perfect, good deal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews