Customer Reviews


95 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tool box on wheels
The original 2 toolboxes where held together with plastic clips and they break especially going up steps. The new ones have metal clips and take more knocks than the original. I find this toolbox easy to use and now the clips are metal it has lasted me longer than the first one.
Published on 27 Aug 2011 by Mike B

versus
52 of 54 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Expensive sandwich box.
RUBBISH!!
Avoid this at all costs.
The box is badly designed and badly made with cheap materials and a working life expectancy of about a week. This is not for the professional, it may be of some use to transport someones sandwiches around site, as long as there wasn't too much filling in them.
The lower box is so thin as to be almost useless, as when tools...
Published on 20 Oct 2010 by D. C. P. Hills


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

52 of 54 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Expensive sandwich box., 20 Oct 2010
By 
D. C. P. Hills (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stanley 193968 Mobile Work Center (DIY & Tools)
RUBBISH!!
Avoid this at all costs.
The box is badly designed and badly made with cheap materials and a working life expectancy of about a week. This is not for the professional, it may be of some use to transport someones sandwiches around site, as long as there wasn't too much filling in them.
The lower box is so thin as to be almost useless, as when tools are put inside the thing distorts, so as to make the top box difficult to attach. The pulling handle is too short, so making the pulling of the thing almost impossible unless you bend both knees and walk around like a chimp, which always raises a smile with the other trades on site!
The wheels are so small the gap between the bottom of the box and the ground is paper thin, so if you do manage to pull the bloody thing, the box scrapes along the floor and is a real pain.
Stanley used to be synonymous with professional quality tools, no more. It seems that they have taken the route of poor quality, cheap materials and manufacturing and minimum design specification to make a quick profit.
This may work in the short term, but if it becomes the norm, their tools will soon be seen by the professional tradesmen for what they have become, and they will avoid them as they do other tools of 1 shop quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars If I could rate 0 out of 5 I would, 7 Aug 2011
This review is from: Stanley 193968 Mobile Work Center (DIY & Tools)
My partner bought this following some back problems, we thought wheeling his tools around would be useful. However after lightly filling the bottom box we tried to wheel it around. It proved shockingly useless, the wheels hardly moved so it was more like dragging it around. We have returned ours!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars PIECE OF "S***"..DO NOT BUY..(You're going to waste your money), 4 May 2013
By 
Yvette Janse Van Rensburg "Yvette" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stanley 193968 Mobile Work Center (DIY & Tools)
**PIECE OF "S***"..DO NOT BUY..(You're going to waste your money)**

Toolbox arrived today and Im already "dissapointed" by the cheap quality (You get what you pay for I guess),that has been used to stick this (Not moulded) unit together,and sending it straight back from where it came from (AMAZON).

The wheels is way to "small" or positioned incorrectly for this unit,since it scrapes on the floor when dragged along (Which is what the main use is when you buy such a mobile work station,since you want to transport your toolbox around with ease). I cant imagine what the outcome would be if I have to wheel it from my car (Over my pavement) into my garage..(after about doing it a couple of times there would be NO base left if one carries on).

The handle of the unit is also really flimsy..and would honestly break off,as soon the unit is filled with tools..

Do yourself a Massive favour and rather spend your money (Paying abit extra) on something decent,which will stood the test of time.

The delivery service of Amazon is the only good and decent thing about this purchase..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not worthy of Stanley name, 19 April 2010
By 
Dr. John P. Yardley "djpy" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stanley 193968 Mobile Work Center (DIY & Tools)
I always associated the name Stanley with good quality tools, but I am afraid this lets them down badly. "Flimsy" is the understatement of the year. It has the look and feel of a cheap imported plastic toy. Thin plastic with low quality castings. It looks great in the picture but the real thing is something different. On mine, the wheels did not revolve properly unless the it was empty. It would be a good design if only it was manufactured to a professional quality - in which case I would happily have paid more. Don't buy this unless it is going to get very light use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Fake toolbox, 11 Jun 2012
This review is from: Stanley 193968 Mobile Work Center (DIY & Tools)
Dont buy! Poorly designed and manufactured The lid fell off of mine under its own weight plus a few fuses stored in the lid and parts fitted badly to gether. Stanley have risked the reputation of their good name with this and should recall immediately .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good storage for diy work, 17 Feb 2009
This review is from: Stanley 193968 Mobile Work Center (DIY & Tools)
Basically two toolboxes, one on top of the other, Linked together by clips. The handle unfolds to a trolley. Small amount of room on the top for small bag perhaps. It does the job but probably not up to too much battering as plastic a bit flimsy. Little compartments for tools and screw/nails as you would expect from a toolbox. Moves well on the wheels. A good space saver, can just about fit all our bits from several bags into this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Stanley, you can do better than this!, 2 May 2010
This review is from: Stanley 193968 Mobile Work Center (DIY & Tools)
Oh dear. Stanley have let themselves down with this one. The construction is far too flimsy to carry any sort of weight. Load up the bottom box and the sides distort making it difficult to fix the top box back on. Mine arrived split blow the rotating screw/bits holder. The design is fine, but it's build quality is simply not good enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stanley 193968 Mobile Work Center (DIY & Tools)
lots of storage space, my partner loves it, uses it everyday for work purposes. the only thing is when you lock the bottom bit on its quite loose so when your carrying it around it feels like its going to just come off, I can imagine all of his stuff all over the floor one day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not man enough, 16 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stanley 193968 Mobile Work Center (DIY & Tools)
Thought the name was good enough but was disappointed with the product Within 1 week the lid had distorted and the hinges were beginning to crack after two weeks the lid had completely broken from the upper case. The whole box kept falling over when the lid was opened being top heavy. Not enough clearance, continually scraping on the ground when being moved, unless it was tilted and the handle lowered.Good for shorter people, but not the average Joe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tool box on wheels, 27 Aug 2011
This review is from: Stanley 193968 Mobile Work Center (DIY & Tools)
The original 2 toolboxes where held together with plastic clips and they break especially going up steps. The new ones have metal clips and take more knocks than the original. I find this toolbox easy to use and now the clips are metal it has lasted me longer than the first one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stanley 193968 Mobile Work Center
28.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews