Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Head and shoulders above the rest.
Pure class. This album will always stand up there with the greats. The rhymes of lauryn flow smoothly across raw beats. Stand out track without a doubt has to be the no woman no cry cover, it is really phenomenal, can't knock a legend like marley but it is better than the original. Minor fault may be the amount of fu gee la tracks. But this is still truly a masterpiece.
Published on 4 Jun 2003 by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit overrated.
Will probably get a lot of hate for this, but The Score is not that interesting an album. I like it and all, but I'd honestly rather listen to T.I. and Lil Wayne than this.
Before all the hate, just want to point out, that this is MY opinion, and I'm more into Southern Hip Hop.
Published 4 months ago by Andreas


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Head and shoulders above the rest., 4 Jun 2003
This review is from: The Score (Audio CD)
Pure class. This album will always stand up there with the greats. The rhymes of lauryn flow smoothly across raw beats. Stand out track without a doubt has to be the no woman no cry cover, it is really phenomenal, can't knock a legend like marley but it is better than the original. Minor fault may be the amount of fu gee la tracks. But this is still truly a masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Timeless Classic Hip-Hop, 26 Aug 2013
By 
Ibraar 'Le Saracen' "le_saracen" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Score (Audio CD)
Listening to The Score after all these years was so refreshing, the mellow B lines, the rhythm, the Rapping, ambience and samples - it just all made me nod my head and listen to it over and over again on my 5 hour journey to Barmouth from London.
Ok, some of the tracks are naff, but the good ones more than make up for it.
Brilliant classic Hip Hop and Timeless.

4 stars as some tracks are seriously bad
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hip hop classic, 22 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Score (Audio CD)
The Fugees "The Score" sounds as good heard today as 3 years ago. A truely classic album, containing some of the most beautiful covers of the 90s and some seriously dope beats, this is a must have for any hip hop fan wishing to hear the culmination of three great individual talents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The real sound of Hip Hop, 18 Nov 1999
This review is from: The Score (Audio CD)
This is a top rap/hip hop album with a thumping Bassline and a reggae influence. A worthy entry to anybody's CD collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Know your classics, 5 Aug 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Score (Audio CD)
How many of you here danced to "Killing Me Softly" at your school leavers disco back in y6? Come on, be honest... One of the most successful crossover albums of all time, "The Score" put the Fugees on the map in a big, 10 million-plus-selling way. Conversely, it ruined them. Curious for the story behind the pop? Read on...
The year is 1995. After their first album "Blunted On Reality" (1994) caught the ear of rap's underground cogniscenti, the Fugees, then entitled "The Tranzlator Crew" looked for greater commercial success. All but abandonning the fiercely, ferociously energetic sound of "Blunted" for a softer feel, the Fugees pulled off the hardest trick in the book: they kept the respect of the faithful and conquered the charts simultaneously, leaving as their legacy the best East-Coast hip-hop album of the 1990's.
The most celebrated traits of "Blunted" were also its weakest. An album relying on hectic, fast paced beats with occasional bouts of soul and rapid-fire rhymes meant that in many a way, it was too clever. All three members had interesting commentary to make, mostly based on political situations both within and without the New York community, and were given a unique perspective by the Haitian heritage of Pras and Wyclef. However, unless one were a NY native, or listened excessively to the album, much of it sped by. The style was so advanced as to be abstruse, even for dedicated rap-heads. The album was, and is still, nonetheless a fantastic voyage of a CD, but one which was in the end, unsatisfying.
The internal machinations of the Fugees story have yet to be layed candidly bare in the same manner as the dealings of Death Row have been, and thus reasons behind the radical change that hit with "The Score" just over eighteen months after "Blunted" are still unclear. To say that the Fugees switched horses would be an exaggeration. Instead, they simply slowed the break-neck pace of the one they were already riding. Seemingly gaining five years in age by the recording of "The Score", largely complete by spring '96, the new Fugees, no longer the "Tranzlator Crew" but "The Refugee Camp" came with a wholly different sound, one that smacked of youthful wisdom, premature maturity, inside distance, and other such possible oxymorons.
"The Score" bore several fundamental changes. Whilst maintaining the clever commentary on ghetto life, the 'Hatian' content of the album was cut, taking away at a stroke many of the racial issues that the group had. Instead they concentrated on the wider rap community and its problems under the broader banner of 'Black', such as is exemplified on "Zealots". Essentially a call to a freer rap society more accepting of idiosyncracies the group so obviously possessed, tracks and odd lines put across the obvious Fugees' ideals: artistic liberalism ("Zealots"), peace and candour in the treatment of the black populace ("The Beast"), and a call to end black-on-black violence ("Family Business").
Many other groups of the time were trying to put out this message, but few suceeded with the style of the 'Gees. It is clear when listening to the album that what one hears are some very intelligent MCs, able to record both convincing street talk (listen to the incredibly comic "Chinese Take Out" scene at the end of "The Beast") and quote figures such as Nostradamus in clever analogies ("My life is filled with less hope than the prophecies of Nostradamus", "Family Business"). Meanwhile "Fu-gee-la" has the decidedly West-Indian lilt that characterised them on "Blunted", both in musical style and the heavily assonant rhymes, especially those delivered by Lauryn.
It was these songs that kept the rap fans happy; but to conquer the commercial market the Fugees employed the secret power of the cover. Out of their three major smashes off the back of the album, two were covers. "Ready or Not" was a marvellously menacing, laid back track that summed up everything the Fugees were about - relaxed, in control, playing enemies "like a game of chess". The other two were bigger and covered: "No Woman, No Cry" and "Killing Me Softly". Although many use this to diss the group now that they are unable to reply as a whole, the fact that they did admirable covers that did not have the purists up in arms is a real tribute. It also proved that the group, especially Lauryn, were not ghetto-flashes-in-the-rap-pan, and could, indeed would, move out and up. "Killing Me Softly" sold millions worldwide, and still receives commendable airplay today. "No Woman, No Cry" opened up a musically profitable association with the Marley family, and broadened the group's horizon.
The Fugees couldn't handle the huge success that "The Score" brought. Whilst the split was neither public nor especially acrimonious, it quickly became clear that another Fugees album was not immediately on the cards. They handled it in the way the album had illucidated: cool, laid back, keeping business private, but it was nontheless a sad event when three solo albums came out in '98. The eclectic talents of the spiritual, observant MCs and musicians would never come together again. This mix of the philosophical and the street that chracterised "The Score" would fail to work for any individually. Lauryn's work on "The Miseducation..." was amazing, but how infinitely better it would have been with Clef's clever rhymes that so evocatively vivified and vituperated the street life of modern New York. However, the legacy they have left is a timeless classic offering universal wisdom in amazingly fluid language ("Cowboys" is underecognised for its universal truth to all human societies: everyone really does want "to be a cowboy."), and we must be content with that.
by Brian Melican
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing and powerful!, 24 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Complete Score (Audio CD)
The voice of Lauren Hill is just incredible, no one can state otherwise. Her beautiful chords and harmonies aswell as the mellow singing from the Fugees makes all the tracks superbly catchy. It's a must if you love RnB, soul or hiphop! With so many amazing songs that have been so popular, includind dowop and killing me softly you can't resist! Well I couldn't!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great CD, 2 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Score (Audio CD)
I love this album since It reminds me of my childhood. get it as I like nearly every track onit and its great value for money, timeless music!
Packaged beautifully too, rest assured it will arrive in tip top condition. Many thanks Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Do I really need to write this review, 23 Mar 2014
By 
H. Wilkinson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Score (MP3 Download)
If you don't know about this album then I do not know where you have been and who have educated you on music but this is a classic!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars what a blast, 2 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Score (MP3 Download)
Released the same year as my youngest child was born and it was excellent for sedimg her PFF to sleep. Wonderful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A bit overrated., 14 Feb 2014
This review is from: The Score (Audio CD)
Will probably get a lot of hate for this, but The Score is not that interesting an album. I like it and all, but I'd honestly rather listen to T.I. and Lil Wayne than this.
Before all the hate, just want to point out, that this is MY opinion, and I'm more into Southern Hip Hop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Score
The Score by Fugees (Refugee Camp)
Buy MP3 Album4.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews