Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice Reissue
Pros:

+Fairly good story
+Very inventive battle system
+Very good game; even better looking on the PS3
+A Great soundtrack

Cons:

-Very linear
-Slow story
-Lackluster voice acting
-There are moments when the game is just all out preachy

Eternal Sonata was released on the XBOX360 in 2007 and was...
Published on 29 May 2009 by S. Rhodes

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, but...
In general the game is very fun. Although after 12 hours of gameplay it becomes a bit boring. For example: There are not many different monster-types, they just change in color. The story is greatly told and very interesting for everyone who likes classical music.
Published 20 months ago by K. Witschas


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice Reissue, 29 May 2009
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Eternal Sonata (PS3) (Video Game)
Pros:

+Fairly good story
+Very inventive battle system
+Very good game; even better looking on the PS3
+A Great soundtrack

Cons:

-Very linear
-Slow story
-Lackluster voice acting
-There are moments when the game is just all out preachy

Eternal Sonata was released on the XBOX360 in 2007 and was largely overlooked by gamers. The game is now being given a second chance to appeal to most gamers. For the most part you're getting the same game you got a year ago with a few extras. It's a little hard to say whether or not it's worth getting a second time if you already played it before.

Eternal Sonata is largely focused on Fredric Chopin. He lies on his deathbed, unconscious and dreams of a world. In this world, those who can use magic are terribly sick and dying of illness. The citizens of this world are also in a bit of despair as Count Waltz continues an unpopular rule and stands against the people. The story is actually not a bad one. Unfortunately it isn't always presented as well. In the first place, the voice acting just isn't the best out there. Some of it is rather dry and emotionless. The voices themselves aren't bad, but the emotion is almost non-existent in most of them. The story also moves somewhat slowly, and that's strange given that Eternal Sonata is not a very long game. Also, some will probably not appreciate that the game eventually becomes incredibly preachy throughout its final moments.

While it may not present its story as strongly as it could, it's gameplay is still as strong as ever. The battle system for Eternal Sonata is one of the most inventive in the genre. It's a turn based game but adds an active element. When a character's turn comes up in battle, they all have what's called an action gauge. When their turn starts the action gauge counts down. During this time you can do whatever you like until it runs out. Mostly you'll be mashing on the attack button to get out as many hits as you can. You can also execute special attacks. It's a very easy battle system to grasp, but it's hard to master. This is because the battle system never stays entirely the same. You also have a party level that increases as the game goes on and it changes how the battle system works. For example, at Party level 1 the action gauge decreases only when you move, and stops decreasing when you stop. When you hit party level 2, however, the action gauge never stops. It adds a lot of variety to the game but also makes sure that battling is always interesting.

The battle system also has special moves that characters can use, but they change based on whether or not you're in the light or the shade. Some enemies will also change form depending on if they're in the light or the shade. It adds some strategy to the game, but in the end Eternal Sonata still feels like a button mashing affair. Along those lines, the game is not that hard. When you really grasp the battle system and learn it, accumulating large amounts of damage becomes consistent.

There isn't a whole lot that's been added to the PS3 version, but some of it is rewarding. Characters can change their costumes, there are now two new playable characters who were unplayable in the 360 version and a couple of new dungeons. On the other hand, Eternal Sonata is still short and largely linear game. It's nice that there are a few more extras than the average port but they still don't make a huge difference in the gaming experience as a whole if you have the 360 version. In short, if you haven't played Eternal Sonata and you want to, the PS3 version is the better choice. If you've already played through the 360 version, however, there's not much here to entice you to play through it again.

One huge noticeable difference between the PS3 and 360 versions, however, is by far the visuals. The animations are smoother and more vibrant on the Playstation 3. Eternal Sonata was already an incredible looking game to begin with, but the Playstation 3 brings out a lot more in the visuals.

Musically, Eternal Sonata still has some of the best in the industry. You'll even hear some of Chopin's own music at certain moments and get a little bit of a historical background on him. Eternal Sonata's biggest strength is easily its soundtrack.

In the end, Eternal Sonata is still a good game. If you have it on the 360 it's not really that different, nor does it include enough new content worth making it worth a second buy, but for those who haven't played it, it's another chance to play a pretty good game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars trully a charming experience, 6 Nov 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Eternal Sonata (PS3) (Video Game)
Cannot recommend this game enough. With its beatiful graphics, great soundtrack and a fun battle system, its an gem in the ps3 rpgs catalogue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars buy it now, 24 May 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Eternal Sonata (PS3) (Video Game)
Lets get straight to it this game is amazing very colourful and the music is very good.some r.p.g.s can be a bit of a bore grinding out levels just to defeat the next boss or get a certain trophy.Alas this game has no trophies ( and being a trophy hunter look me up superbaggies)but i brought this game when the psn was down,so i knew that i would be able to just get involved with the plot and the overall game.The difficulty level is set just right not too hard ie demon souls lol or too easy and i like the way you can choose your party with easy to set spells for light and dark magic.Overall I rate this game 8.5 out of ten and at this price its a steal that will also be quite rare one day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but a few problems!, 23 Jun 2010
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Eternal Sonata (PS3) (Video Game)
This game is good, heres the good: Unique art style which looks amazing if not a tad bit girly but none the less its nice looking! The art style is kind of anime-styled and fans of it will love it but anyone else will too! The game has challenges and isnt just easy sailing throughout! Combat is fun with long and short ranged attacks depending on the character and they have different attacks with everyone having different basic attack and different special attacks. The scenery is really beautiful and memorable. Cutscenes look nice and polished and well done and voice acting is avaible in japanese and english which is always a welcomed addition! The music is also amazing and beautiful!The story is good too and it will leave you wondering about what happens and it can leave you confused at the end!

The cons: Combat can be annoying sometimes i had to grind to level up which is boring that you have to repeatively take on enemies also the enemies can become very annoying as there isnt much variation which is a let-down.The learning curve is annoying the end-level bosses always seemed over-powered and I had to go back to level-up by repeatively killing enemies in the enviroment which is boring. Level designs are linear with one path to success and the rest being dead ends and its not very adventurous. Also the japanese voices i found where very annoying in my opinion I liked the english versions better even if they were abit whiny but the japanese was definetly worse to listen to as in combat they repeat phrases over and over and its high-pitched and gives me a headache! Cut-scenes were preachy as in "oh stealing is bad" but it just wasnt effective and you feel its just a pointless remark also cut-scenes were sometimes pointless indeed and they could become boring but there are skippable so thats not a problem! Also you cant just save when you please you have to go to the blue save points throughout the enviroment so you need to play for a while to find one, also sometimes they were badly placed as after i defeated enemies i couldnt save anywhere and ended dying and had to start all over again which is frustrating!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars At Last!, 24 Jun 2009
By 
I. D. Clarke "MouseyC" (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Eternal Sonata (PS3) (Video Game)
At last the PS3 gets a real RPG! Enchanted Arms was ok, and although a great game you couldn't really consider Valkyria Chronicles a propper RPG.

I've given this 4 stars, but i'm really torn on where to place this game. I've played a lot of RPG's over the years and Eternal Sonata felt a little - for lack of a better expression - childish. At least where the story is concerned. Explaining the story of an RPG in reviews is a little difficult as you never want to spoil things, but lets just say you wont have any trouble following it. The characters for the most part are pretty likable appart from maybe one or two who, after a while will just start to annoy the hell out of you if for no other reason then their voices just start to get really irritating, the main charcter Polka, in particular.

Despite what it sais on the case, this is a tri-Crescendo game and anyone farmiliar with their games (Star Ocean) will be pretty farmiliar with the battle system. Equally it's quite easy to pick up. You have a 3d area and move you character around freely untill you pick a spot to execute a move. You've only got a certain amount of time to move so you need to have a clearish idea of what you want todo. Unlike the Star Ocean series though, it's turn based, which was great to see. Nothing in an RPG irritates me more than having characters in my party that are controlled by AI. Anywhoo... As you progress through the game the battles are made harder as your 'Party Level' increases, less time to move a character etc...

Another annoyance with this game was the dungeons, i had to use a walkthrough for some of the areas myself but you might have the patience to work through them. There's a little sense of "How was i expected to know that?" when you solve a puzzle.

For all its little faults Eternal Sonata is still a worthwhile RPG and depending on how much time you spend power leveling you characters (And you will spend time doing this) you'll get a good 30 of 40 hours out of it. There's also a little incentive to replay the game as it has multiple endings, and you get a game plus save. The problem with this is it increases the difficulty of the game accordingly, you can't just blast through the game with massivley leveled characters.

If you've only got a PS3 like me and you like an RPG or two, i can't see how you can go without this game as we've been pretty starved of this genre.

Eternal Sonata is also a great place to start if you've never really played an RPG, the story is easy to follow and the battle system is pretty sensible. If nothing else it'll get you used to the style of story telling and battle systems.

At the end of the day it depends what you want from this game. I bought it because it was an RPG, i didn't care what it was about. But if you're unsure the game is certainly worth your time as there's little choice about on the PS3 at the moment.

Oh yeah, it looks great too, really nice graphics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply magical., 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eternal Sonata (PS3) (Video Game)
Exceptional game, very underrated and a shame it's not more "famous".

This game has a little bit of everything I love in japanese RPGs. Fantastic music, good graphics (as good cell shading gets) and the controls are simple and don't fail on you.

The only thing I did not like about this game is that it is a little too easy. Not a lot of challenge in it. However, the game itself is driven by the story, and the history of Frederic Chopin which is the main focus of everything.But even without the Chopin part, it's still a solid game.

Recommended to any light-weight RPG player who wants a break from American games and shoot-em-ups, FPS games and action games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, but..., 10 Feb 2013
By 
K. Witschas - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eternal Sonata (PS3) (Video Game)
In general the game is very fun. Although after 12 hours of gameplay it becomes a bit boring. For example: There are not many different monster-types, they just change in color. The story is greatly told and very interesting for everyone who likes classical music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic, 27 Nov 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eternal Sonata (PS3) (Video Game)
I love that game. Epic!!!! With a great love history. Rpg with a new way of battle, more fun. Very pretty world with a lot of colours
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Slow but good, 11 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eternal Sonata (PS3) (Video Game)
It's a bit of a drag when they start to tell you all about the composer Frederic although I know you can skip it. The characters seem a bit weak even when they level up but I'm enjoying the game anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great story and decent combat system, 8 Feb 2014
By 
A. Taylor (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eternal Sonata (PS3) (Video Game)
I really liked this game. The storyline is very compelling, and the combat system while overly elaborate, is pretty decent. If you're a fan of RPGs it's a worthwhile purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Eternal Sonata (PS3)
Eternal Sonata (PS3) by Namco Bandai (PlayStation 3)
£19.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews