Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great 80's rockabilly
this is a brilliant album combining both the stray cats slapping rockabilly classics as well as a couple of nice ballads thrown in great buy it!!
Published on 4 April 2005 by mick_tenko

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars bought for one track
bought this for one track thinking I may like some of the others, I was wrong, not really my scene.
Published 6 months ago by Robbo


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great 80's rockabilly, 4 April 2005
this is a brilliant album combining both the stray cats slapping rockabilly classics as well as a couple of nice ballads thrown in great buy it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable new find of an old band, 21 Aug 2013
By 
theTramp "thetramp" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As heard at a bar and then had to be purchased, this is rockabilly and this is fun. If you like this sort of music then one to seek out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the tin!, 24 July 2013
Probably like many I never really took much notice of The Stray Cats except for a couple of singles but decided to give them a try on a whim. I was certainly surprised and this is a great CD for the car. Brian Setzer is definitely a far better guitarist than many give him credit for. If only 'Rumble In Brighton' had been omitted though! That said this CD is still worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good best of, 15 Mar 2012
If you don't have any disc from Stray Cats, this best of is a good resume from all best song of this group. (Sorry for my bad english)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good starter, 1 Feb 2009
By 
Jonathan Madden "Jonathan Madden" (Esbjerg, Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Allready own just about everything by Stray cats. When my 7 year old son wanted some Stray Cats, this was the right choice. All the major hits and good quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars THE VERY NEARLY ROCKABILLY MEN, 4 Jan 2011
By 
DOPPLEGANGER (TEDDY B) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Rockabilly was one of the earliest styles of Rock'n'Roll music, emerging at the start of the 1950's and is an amalgam of Rock and Hillbilly (the original name for Country music in the 30's and 40's). Stars that 'flirted' with the 'Rockabilly Sound' as emanating from the Sun Records studio and elsewhere, were Eddie Cochran, Carl Perkins, Elvis Presley, Bill Haley, Johnny Cash, Buddy Holly, Jerry Lee Lewis and many others.

The genre went in decline in the 60's and 70's but when a revival of interest was rumoured The Stray Cats formed (Brian Setzer, guitar, bassist Lee Rocker and Slim Jim Phantom, drums) and on hearing of the 'rising from the ashes' of the 50's Teddy Boy culture in England, moved there. They then spearheaded the nascent rockabilly revival, by blending the 50's Sun Studio sound with modern punk musical elements and dressing 50's style with drape jackets, drainpipe trousers, brothel creepers, western shirts and modern takes of 1950's hairstyles.

In 1982, their UK fame and work with 'rocker' turned record producer, Dave Edmunds, attracted the attention of EMI America, who issued an album (Built For Speed) of the best tracks from their 2 UK albums. The record went on to sell double platinum in the US and Canada and was the #2 record in the Billboard Album chart for 26 wseeks.

Unfortunately the group did not handle success very well and personal conflicts began to emerge which limited the potential to build their united careers beyond occasional tours, the last being in 2008 to Australia and New Zealand. They do, however, have a dedicated and rather strange group of fans in Japan, called the "Tokyo Rockabilly Club", which comprises of usually slightly tipsy, leather clad 'punk' bikers who meet every Sunday in Yoyogi Park, Harajuku, Tokyo, with the men dancing a very 'odd' version of Rockabilly. 'YouTube' has several clips - very amusing.

Tracks that I liked were "Runaway Boys", "Wicked Whiskey" instrumental, "18 Miles From Memphis", and "Too Hip, Gotta Go".

The Stray Cats were the leading proponents of a recognised popular branch of Rock Music and produce a bright, breezy, foot-tapping, rhythmic and most listenable music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album if you love this band., 4 July 2014
By 
Mrs. G. Smith "gg" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you are a fan of this band, buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Absolutely brilliant. If you love stray cats you'll love this. Even some songs I didn't know on here. Long live rock n roll.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 21 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a big fan of Brian Setzer and this CD does not disappoint. I do not consider this to be 'The very best' but it is still a great CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars gr8 album, 2 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of (MP3 Download)
this is a gr8 album if you like stray cats this is a real trip down memory lane. foot tapping stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Very Best Of
The Very Best Of by The Stray Cats
Buy MP3 Album3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews