Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW
As with most people I bought the second album first(I was suitably amazed by that).But the first is just that much better. The guitar riffs and the drum beats are so precise and impeccable. Even if you dont Like SOAD this album will draw you in to their way of thinking.
If you love the second album, prepare yourself for a revelation with the first!!!
Do SOAD...
Published on 12 Mar. 2002

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some suggestions...
Having only recently heard this album (2011) may have marred my view of it but at least it's a fresh and unbiased angle with which to critique the band's critically lauded debut without the baggage of any nostalgia. At the time of its release I made a concerted effort to boycott the new wave of 'nu-metal' groups that were appearing from the ashes of the 90s and the...
Published on 10 Aug. 2011 by ratmonkey


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW, 12 Mar. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: System Of A Down (Audio CD)
As with most people I bought the second album first(I was suitably amazed by that).But the first is just that much better. The guitar riffs and the drum beats are so precise and impeccable. Even if you dont Like SOAD this album will draw you in to their way of thinking.
If you love the second album, prepare yourself for a revelation with the first!!!
Do SOAD rock??!!? HELL YEAH!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Free thinkers are dangerous.... but they make killer music!, 19 Dec. 2001
By 
This review is from: System Of A Down (Audio CD)
I am asking myself why the hell I didn't get this CD three years ago? I must have been either deaf, insane, or possibly both!
I don't know why so much is made of SOAD being if Armenian descent - like it means the won't rock as much as an all American homeboy band or something? They kick ass and do it with an intelligence that is rare in music nowadays.
This band make you THINK - from their intelligent lyrics to Serj's vocal ability. How the hell can one man sing like an angel one second and scream and growl like a loon the next... often in the same sentence? Throw in some killer guitar riffs, lots of heavy grind and a healthy dose of black humour and there you have it - complete genius on a CD!
Did I mention the diversity too? There isn't a single track that you will ever confuse for another. 'Spiders' is, well, beautiful - no other word for it - the closest I think they're ever going to come to a ballad (thank god!). 'Peephole' is like some weird fairground trip. 'Mind' start off with Serj singing "Oh baby come close to me, let me love you" - the LAST words you'd ever expect to hear coming from Serj's mouth and sounding so.... well, erm, sexy (don't panic, I'm a girl - he-he). The song then spirals into a cacophany of rage. As for the rest, you'll have to see for yourself or I'll be here all night!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best metal debut ever?, 23 Nov. 2004
This review is from: System Of A Down (Audio CD)
This is one amazing album by one of the best bands around at the moment. SoaD's music is filled with pure aggression and heavily influenced by politics. Every song on the album is listenable and there isn't a dull moment on any track, even the slower songs are great. Serj Tankian is one of the best vocalists around mainly because of the variety of his voice, from melodic singing to high pitched screaming. THIS IS one of the best debuts/albums i have ever heard from the band that reinvented a dying genre of music. Why are u still reading this? This album (and all their others) should be in your basket and for that price above its practically robbery. You won't be disappointed so get it cus i sed so. >:-D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply brilliant, 21 Mar. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: System Of A Down (Audio CD)
Since it was first released coming up four years ago, the question has to be asked- why didnt System get big from then? Systems debuet is definately better than Toxicity.Every song on this album is sheer quality, and no matter what your favourite style of metal is there is something here for everyone. From the opening ringing of "Suitepee" to the sheer chaos of "P.L.U.C.K." this album does not disappoint. Taking influences from all genres and succesfuly mixing them together to form a superb mix of musical diversity, this is one not to be missed.John,Shavo and Daron provide what is the perfect metal soundtrack with Serj's voice acting as a fourth instrument.He sings better than Chino and screams better than Phil Anselmo, with a host of crazy,quirky sounds you normally wouldnt expect from metal thrown in for good measure.
Its hard to choose "Best" tracks but id hafta go for "Know","Soil","War?" and the crazy polka beats of "Peephole".Better than its sucessor,and like Star Wars, every home should have a copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a rareity at it's finest, 15 Jan. 2003
By 
This review is from: System of a Down (Audio CD)
When i got this, i was really pleased because most system of a down fans would know that this is a special rare edition cd. It's not much better than the other one, as it's the same except for the cover and a bonus cd with live tracks, but never the less this is a great collectible for any system of a down fan. The songs itself on the album are just mad metal, with post jazz, post noisecore riffs and political lyrics that will keep you hooked on system of a down for life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing band, Godlike, 23 Nov. 2002
This review is from: System Of A Down (Audio CD)
From the start of the album with Suite-Pee right down to P.L.U.C.K., the music is of the best quality and astounishing variety that I was privelleged to listen to in my years of wandering for a band good enough to grace my poster-filled walls. This album delivers everything from Dark Humour, such as Sugar and Peep-Hole, to amazing bass and guitar riffs which completely blow your mind away. This amazing album should be listened to by any lovers of Korn, Ramnestein, Black Sabbath [if you've still got it ;-)] and defenately by lovers of Alice Cooper and Iron Maiden. The vocals done so brilliantly by Serj Tankian deliver an astounishing variety of sound, depth and feeling during each and every song of this album. From the different ways that he delivers with such incredible timing each of his well-thought out lyrics to the way that he does it so amazingly well live as well.
I myself respect SD for what they have tried, successfully, to do by this variety of ideas and riffs. This is defenately an amazing album which should be enjoyed by all, even if you go for softer, more "civilised" music, please, listen to this and discover a whole new world of witty heavy metal.
Oh, just for me, i would like to thank.... yeah right! Suggestions is a defenate "listen to" song, as is P.L.U.C.K. (politically lying, unholy cowardly killers) and Soil.
Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars system of a two thumbs up, 11 Dec. 2001
This review is from: System Of A Down (Audio CD)
Wow.
Although it's their debut album it's that much better than the latest one.
How can Serj scream, croon and whisper in the same sentence? It's near impossible!
But the thing that clinches this album for me has to be Daron's guitar riffs...they are so good.
If you have their latest one but not this one get it, it will blow your mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A absolutely breathtaking debut album for system, Full of angsty goodness, 31 Aug. 2007
By 
James Petford (Stourbridge) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: System Of A Down (Audio CD)
Well im usually weary of metal bands as they usually put me off with their totally illegible and untelligent lyrics, but after listening to system i have completely changed my mind, its quite hard to say what kind of music system can be catogerised by as their musical style never remains the same which is quite impressive for any band i must say.

This is certainly one of their strongest albums, probably their second best behind the sequel toxicity with stronger variety of tunes. If u like metal and rage, system of a down is the perfect companion for you. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 29 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: System Of A Down (Audio CD)
System of A Down first started me on my journey to rock and metal from a rather indiefied existence and it has been a slippery slope since then! This album is excellent, very listenable, varied, catchy and believe it or not quite sing (or rather wail) a-long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heavy metal at its best, with loads of tunes!, 16 Mar. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: System Of A Down (Audio CD)
The thing that sets these guys apart from slipknot, korn, and many other metal bands, is that these guys have tunes. Tunes to sing along to.
The raw energy of suite-pee and the addicitvely catchy CUBErt bring out the talent of these Armenian guys.
So if you are a metal fan and want an album with an agressive edge of punk to it, then this album is definitely for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

System Of A Down [Explicit]
System Of A Down [Explicit] by System Of A Down
Buy MP3 Album£5.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews