Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars VIVA LAS FEARLESS
I've said it before and I'll day it again, Richard Fearless is a musical genius and this album is definitive proof of this. In the shadow of the Chemical Brothers and other Big Beat bands, 'Dead Elvis' failed to receive the critical acclaim and exposure that it deserved.
This follow-up is just as innovative but perhaps more mature in its production. 'Lever Street' is...
Published on 10 May 2001 by Mr. Abbas Rana

versus
1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Buy it for track 6
As above - track 6, Lever Street will slowly tear your heart apart, with its poignant chords, that build into the aural equivalent of a broken heart. Hear the sobbing, dig out those pictures of your first, lost love, and wallow in what is a masterpiece. Even if it is only a ninth of the album.....
Published on 23 Jun 2001 by Oscar's Czerny


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars VIVA LAS FEARLESS, 10 May 2001
By 
Mr. Abbas Rana "abbas_rana" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Contino Sessions (Audio CD)
I've said it before and I'll day it again, Richard Fearless is a musical genius and this album is definitive proof of this. In the shadow of the Chemical Brothers and other Big Beat bands, 'Dead Elvis' failed to receive the critical acclaim and exposure that it deserved.
This follow-up is just as innovative but perhaps more mature in its production. 'Lever Street' is the best and most simple track on the album. It's basically a beautiful peice of organ music, which really pushes the boundary of Fearless' talent. The track that follows ('Aladdin's Story') is a chilled out, guitar-laced ditty with a lazy summer bass line. Excellent Stuff!
'Aisha' and the collaboration with Bobby G. are a change in mood and explore the more funky, moody and angry sounds of Fearless's music. Whilst 'Dirge' is an ultimately cool groovy track, 'Flying' is a floating psychedelic journey and impressive guitar hooks run through both tracks. In terms of both technical production and accessibility, this is a truly excellent album and one can't help but anticipate the next Death In Vegas record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A piece of unadulterated dark joy, 31 Dec 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Contino Sessions (Audio CD)
Their first album, the fine Dead Elvis, contained a few tracks worthy of the 'dip-in' status that most albums deserve.
This new one however is a different beast; each track is a stand alone treat - Check out Soul Auctioneer, a rambling poem by Bobbie Gillespie with a killer treatment by Fearless:
'The Stones in my shoes get sharper all the time, The soft, sick underbelly and the carcass of these times.'
Like eating opiated Turkish Delight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Album for the twilight hours!, 30 Sep 2000
By A Customer
You come in at 3.00am, you want that certain sound to relax and unwind...then this album is for you. It has a quality that makes you want to put your head back and unwind, with the first trak Dirge being almost an instrumental number with a gentle voice in the background. I would recommend this Album anyone and everyone, old or young...it will find a place in any collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Album of the Year, 7 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Contino Sessions (Audio CD)
This latest Death in Vegas record has got to be one of my favourites purchases so far this year! It reminds me a little of Chemical Brothers... but with much more of a live sound, especially the drums. It also has a much darker sound than most big beat tunes. With tracks called 'Dirge', 'Soul Auctioneer' you even begin to wonder if there is a Goth revival going on! The current U.K single 'Aisha' portrays a mass murderer, and features vocals by Iggy Pop. Funnily enough, although there are happier tracks on the record (the closing track 'Neptune' for example), I prefer the intense, claustrophobic sound of the tracks mentioned above. In any case, this extraordinary album is a must have for any music lover!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An electronic, minimalist hidden gem., 8 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Contino Sessions (Audio CD)
I bought this on the strength of the song 'Aisha' and whilst all the other songs aren't quite as good and certainly not as intense, there are some really strong songs. Being a rock and metal fan, this was quite a departure for me. Apart from calling the sound 'Death in Vegas' the best pigeon hole or label for the band would be electronic minimalism...I guess, with a little bit of rock thrown in as well. Opener 'Dirge' is exactly what the title suggests, an eerie atmospheric number with a melody beatifully sung by a female voice. 'Soul Auctioneer' featuring Bobby Gillespie is slow and sleazy and one of the best tracks to feature the frontman for a long time. My personal favourite 'Aisha' featuring Iggy Pop on vocals portraying a murderer confessing his crimes to a girl he's just met (that's basically a large chunk of the lyrics!), is dark, intense and features heavily distorted guitars and reasonably similar to Nine Inch Nails.
Despite its attention grabbing moments, this album is also great background music as well. A lost classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vital, 23 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Anyone with the slightest interest in music should own a copy of this seminal work from DiV. Even if you hate it, you will have experienced something unique by listening to it. If you like it then many new musical paths lay before you. Go exploring!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One that stands the test of time, 21 Oct 2009
By 
This review is from: The Contino Sessions (Audio CD)
This is a great album. I bought it when it first came out and I am still enjoying it all now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Genius - Everyone should own this album!, 27 April 2011
After hearing the song Aiesha on the radio I decided to investigate Death in Vegas more so purchased this album.
It is a phenomenal peice of work. If you are into The Prodigy and that type of music then check out this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars VIVA LAS FEARLESS, 10 May 2001
By 
Mr. Abbas Rana "abbas_rana" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Contino Sessions (Audio CD)
I've said it before and I'll day it again, Richard Fearless is a musical genius and this album is definitive proof of this. In the shadow of the Chemical Brothers and other Big Beat bands, 'Dead Elvis' failed to receive the critical acclaim and exposure that it deserved.
This follow-up is just as innovative but perhaps more mature in its production. 'Lever Street' is the best and most simple track on the album. It's basically a beautiful peice of organ music, which really pushes the boundary of Fearless' talent. The track that follows ('Aladdin's Story') is a chilled out, guitar-laced ditty with a lazy summer bass line. Excellent Stuff!
'Aisha' and the collaboration with Bobby G. are a change in mood and explore the more funky, moody and angry sounds of Fearless's music. Whilst 'Dirge' is an ultimately cool groovy track, 'Flying' is a floating psychedelic journey and impressive guitar hooks run through both tracks. In terms of both technical production and accessibility, this is a truly excellent album and one can't help but anticipate the next Death In Vegas record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 31 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Contino Sessions (Audio CD)
Top tunes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Contino Sessions
The Contino Sessions by Death In Vegas
Buy MP3 Album£6.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews