Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars140
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 DownloadChange
Price:£5.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 25 August 2006
This is my favourite album of all time, bar none. I was already a fan of Johnny Cash and Willie Nelson, and to an extent Waylon Jennings, but after buying this album I have grown to appreciate all four of these legends for their incredible contribution to music.

Many of the songs feature each individual singing a verse alternately and then combine for the chorus which works very well with their distinctive voices, giving character to their own lines of the song.

The Outlaw songs such as Silver Stallion, Highwayman, and American Remains are fantasticaly powerful songs and you'll never stop listening to their awesome upbeat version of Big River, which is my favourite song on the album.

The songs are all very catchy and believe me when I say taht every song on this album is good, which is not a very common occurance these days. Some of the songs such as Desperado's Waiting For A Train, and We're All In Your Corner are inspiring and some of the songs, despite being covers are sung to perfection.

I can't say anything bad about this album, or albums, (this is two albums in one afterall), it's pure quality, and it's a classic. Every country fan should have it in their collection.
0Comment146 of 147 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2008
Considering this collection is actually "Highwayman" & "Highwayman II" in the exact sequence of the origional albums, it can't be beaten for value or price - faultless
0Comment51 of 51 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2004
This is, without doubt, a classic collection of songs by the real Highwaymen. Every one a gem, every one a personal best performance by four of the Kings of Country.
From old memories like 'Big River' to the plaintive 'Silver Stallion' and to tearjerkers like 'Commited to Parkview' and 'Deportee' the whole collection brings these artists into sharp perspective.
Who could forget their live tours of the UK with this album to revive the memories.
0Comment67 of 68 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2009
First off it's worth noting that this CD collects all of the tracks from the first two albums by the Highwaymen so you're essentially getting two albums for the price of one. Add to this that Amazon are (at the time of writing) asking a measly £2.98 for it and I'd struggle to think of a reason not to buy this CD.

I'm not a typical country fan and came to this album through a love of Johnny Cash and Willie Nelson's Stardust album. I knew next to nothing of Waylon Jennings or Kris Kristofferson outside of their big hits, however I knew enough to gamble that combining the four of them would probably work out well and my gamble certainly paid off.

This is an excellent album and would serve as an excellent gateway into some of the great music that the country genre has to offer for those who wouldn't normally consider themselves fans. At this price you'd be a fool not to give it a try.
0Comment10 of 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Better get this out of the way first. I'm not a fan of Country Music though I am a recent fan of Johnny Cash (an artist I consider to transcend the boundaries of genre) hence my buying this CD.

Super-groups have a tendency to be less than the sum of their individual parts for a variety of reasons. Sometimes it's simply a mismatch. Sometimes the individuals concerned are trying to avoid standing on each others toes and the result lacks any edge. In this case it's a bunch of strong-willed but old buddies who know each other well and the result is a very polite recording, though they are clearly having fun. Each member sings a line or a verse in turn and then they harmonise on the chorus. The musicianship (don't know who played what or what sidemen were employed as there are no details provided on the minimalist inlay) is precise, skilled and tasteful, often moving from Country to Country-Rock.

The two best songs are the 1st and 10th which opened the respective original albums. Not being a country fan, I've no idea if any songs are standards (apart from Cash's Big River) or original to the albums or somewhere in between, but they're largely enjoyable with good hooks. The vocals are all strong and impeccable -you wouldn't expect anything else- and the harmonies are more rough and vigorous but still good and no-one ever expected them to be Crosby Stils & Nash anyway.

The result, an enjoyable accessible CD that's well worth having -a steal at Amazon's current price- but does nothing much to convert me to Country.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2008
I WAS FORTUNATE ENOUGH TO SEE THE HIGHWAY MEN ON TOUR IN ABERDEEN,A BRILLIANT CONCERT AND THE CD DOES JUSTICE TO FOUR OF MY ALL TIME HEROS. IF YOU DONT THOROUGHLY ENJOY THIS YOU AINT COUNTRY.
OR PUT ANOTHER WAY "WHO`S GONNA FILL THEIR SHOES"?
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2009
Four great artists who share their love of music. Each has their own distinct sound but harmonise as they were one. If you like any one of the artists as an individual this is a must to add to your collection. You won't be disapointed.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2009
i enjoy all of these singers but together they are brilliant, their vocies blend together so well, if you like country western then this is one album you should have in your collection
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2009
So four of country's all time greats get together, and you get what?. Well, brilliance, in short.

The guys get together and reinterpret some of their own songs to great effect. The voices come together fantastially well, trading off each other and adding multiple dimensions to previously fairly flat songs.

For me, the jewel of the crown in this collection is Silver Stallion. Now, if you listen to this song and don't feel like getting a motorbike and riding away from your life, then you are dead or clinically insane. It's scientific, it is THAT good.

And I think there is a DVD out there as well. Well, what are you waiting for, get them both!!!
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2010
If you have not got the highway men albums this is the one for you,with a collection of songs from there highway men albums put together on this one album. sadly we lost two of them johnny cash and waylon jennings so no more highway men albums enjoy
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.