Customer Reviews


82 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


135 of 136 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful and brilliant...
This is my favourite album of all time, bar none. I was already a fan of Johnny Cash and Willie Nelson, and to an extent Waylon Jennings, but after buying this album I have grown to appreciate all four of these legends for their incredible contribution to music.

Many of the songs feature each individual singing a verse alternately and then combine for the...
Published on 25 Aug 2006 by Mr Hollywood

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An Aquired Taste
Mustn't sound negative actually about this compilation as I have loved listening to it, but it is a tad depressing and very sort of trad Country stuff. Having said that it was a bargain price, and it will get played on long journeys !
Published on 12 Jan 2012 by Borisdog


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pleasure, 30 Aug 2009
By 
Mrs. Jean Robinson "Little Jean" (Sunbury England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I can not fault this item. Absolutely fantastic. Played it over and over again. If you love country music this is one for your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Introspective collection of great music, 1 Aug 2009
By 
J. M. Salinas (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
So four of country's all time greats get together, and you get what?. Well, brilliance, in short.

The guys get together and reinterpret some of their own songs to great effect. The voices come together fantastially well, trading off each other and adding multiple dimensions to previously fairly flat songs.

For me, the jewel of the crown in this collection is Silver Stallion. Now, if you listen to this song and don't feel like getting a motorbike and riding away from your life, then you are dead or clinically insane. It's scientific, it is THAT good.

And I think there is a DVD out there as well. Well, what are you waiting for, get them both!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An Aquired Taste, 12 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Mustn't sound negative actually about this compilation as I have loved listening to it, but it is a tad depressing and very sort of trad Country stuff. Having said that it was a bargain price, and it will get played on long journeys !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Four Country Superstars, 7 Mar 2010
By 
S. Terry (Southampton) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought this as an introduction to four country greats, they are great together however the songs are safe and predictable and easy to listen to without stretching their individual talents; pleasing but not memorable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Highwaymen, 5 Oct 2009
By 
G. Moore (Burnie, Tasmania Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a classic album with four of the best country stars of all time. I love the way that despite what must be some serious ego's they work so well together and make the listener part of their enjoyment. The album has been around for a long time now but well worth a listen if you have not already heard it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four great voices, 17 Aug 2009
By 
D. S. Hadland (W.Mids England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Loved this album, great mix of songs. If you have never bought a Highwaymen album before I would recommend this one to you, it gives good idea of what these guys are about. I have always loved to listen to these guys sing and when you put them together on one album its pure magic. Try it - these Highwaymen will steal your heart away..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Must have!", 11 July 2009
You have to add this to your collection - the title track will haunt you & nowhere else will you ever find such a combination of shere talent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional CD, 9 July 2009
By 
H. M. Pilott "Maggiepie" (Pembrokeshire, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is just about the best CD I own.
Almost all the songs are great, and though I didn't know all of them before purchasing this CD, the more I play it, the more I like it.
Johnny Cash has always been a favourite of mine, but this is a bit different from his usual records. To be fair he does tend to be a bit gloomy and dark at times, but the combination of the four voices lifts the tone.
I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Country at its best, 22 April 2001
With 4 Mega stars of country on one disc im surprised it stayed in the box, With the unique voices of waylon jennigns, johhny cash, willie neslon and kris krisofferson together you are given a country experience that you wont find on any other complation with songs such as highway man feturing on the greatest hits of each artist you wont be disopointed with songs such as today jim i wore a tie and also the feeling in the last cowboy song. and to quote a song line "ill be back again" (highwayman) I hope they will and soon!!! in short a feast and a must have for any country Fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars If you can get it cheap it's worth it for the opening song, 7 July 2014
By 
S. Clarke (Loughborough uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this soley for the song highwayman as it was cheap.

I like country music and I am a big fan of the four legends performing on this album. If you are a casual listerner and have no specific music genre to call your own (I would class myself in this bracket) then this probably isn't the best album to buy. Yes it is a good album. I like most of the songs but in my opinion there are some poor ones on there also.

If you are new to the genre then you'd proabbly be better off giving this a wide birth and looking for a multi artist compleation instead.

As mentioned I like highwayman which is there but some of the other songs I really like and I know this quartet performed arent. I knew this before I purchased but I was hoping all the songs I didn't know where as good as some of the ones I did (ghost riders in the sky, don't let your babies grow up to be cowboys) and sadly they're not.

overall a nice collection of songs but I find no.1 gets repeated and the rest largely gets ignored.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews