Customer Reviews


83 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


135 of 136 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful and brilliant...
This is my favourite album of all time, bar none. I was already a fan of Johnny Cash and Willie Nelson, and to an extent Waylon Jennings, but after buying this album I have grown to appreciate all four of these legends for their incredible contribution to music.

Many of the songs feature each individual singing a verse alternately and then combine for the...
Published on 25 Aug 2006 by Mr Hollywood

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An Aquired Taste
Mustn't sound negative actually about this compilation as I have loved listening to it, but it is a tad depressing and very sort of trad Country stuff. Having said that it was a bargain price, and it will get played on long journeys !
Published on 12 Jan 2012 by Borisdog


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

135 of 136 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful and brilliant..., 25 Aug 2006
By 
Mr Hollywood (Hollywood UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This is my favourite album of all time, bar none. I was already a fan of Johnny Cash and Willie Nelson, and to an extent Waylon Jennings, but after buying this album I have grown to appreciate all four of these legends for their incredible contribution to music.

Many of the songs feature each individual singing a verse alternately and then combine for the chorus which works very well with their distinctive voices, giving character to their own lines of the song.

The Outlaw songs such as Silver Stallion, Highwayman, and American Remains are fantasticaly powerful songs and you'll never stop listening to their awesome upbeat version of Big River, which is my favourite song on the album.

The songs are all very catchy and believe me when I say taht every song on this album is good, which is not a very common occurance these days. Some of the songs such as Desperado's Waiting For A Train, and We're All In Your Corner are inspiring and some of the songs, despite being covers are sung to perfection.

I can't say anything bad about this album, or albums, (this is two albums in one afterall), it's pure quality, and it's a classic. Every country fan should have it in their collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Highwayman Collection, 16 Jan 2008
By 
T. Whitney - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Considering this collection is actually "Highwayman" & "Highwayman II" in the exact sequence of the origional albums, it can't be beaten for value or price - faultless
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


65 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TOP OF THE PILE, 16 Jan 2004
By 
R. L. KEW "Richard KEW" (ALICANTE, Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is, without doubt, a classic collection of songs by the real Highwaymen. Every one a gem, every one a personal best performance by four of the Kings of Country.
From old memories like 'Big River' to the plaintive 'Silver Stallion' and to tearjerkers like 'Commited to Parkview' and 'Deportee' the whole collection brings these artists into sharp perspective.
Who could forget their live tours of the UK with this album to revive the memories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well Worth Buying, 19 July 2009
By 
C. Griffiths (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
First off it's worth noting that this CD collects all of the tracks from the first two albums by the Highwaymen so you're essentially getting two albums for the price of one. Add to this that Amazon are (at the time of writing) asking a measly 2.98 for it and I'd struggle to think of a reason not to buy this CD.

I'm not a typical country fan and came to this album through a love of Johnny Cash and Willie Nelson's Stardust album. I knew next to nothing of Waylon Jennings or Kris Kristofferson outside of their big hits, however I knew enough to gamble that combining the four of them would probably work out well and my gamble certainly paid off.

This is an excellent album and would serve as an excellent gateway into some of the great music that the country genre has to offer for those who wouldn't normally consider themselves fans. At this price you'd be a fool not to give it a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best albums i have heard from these brilliant men, 10 Aug 2009
By 
Mrs. Josephine Young (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
i enjoy all of these singers but together they are brilliant, their vocies blend together so well, if you like country western then this is one album you should have in your collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stands and delivers, 30 Jan 2009
By 
Mr. Roderick S. Barnes (Porthleven, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Four great artists who share their love of music. Each has their own distinct sound but harmonise as they were one. If you like any one of the artists as an individual this is a must to add to your collection. You won't be disapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HIGHWAYMEN NO WAY THEY DONT ROB YOU, 23 Nov 2008
By 
John Logan "johnnyrondo" (not sure some barroom/honkytonk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I WAS FORTUNATE ENOUGH TO SEE THE HIGHWAY MEN ON TOUR IN ABERDEEN,A BRILLIANT CONCERT AND THE CD DOES JUSTICE TO FOUR OF MY ALL TIME HEROS. IF YOU DONT THOROUGHLY ENJOY THIS YOU AINT COUNTRY.
OR PUT ANOTHER WAY "WHO`S GONNA FILL THEIR SHOES"?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Country Music, 23 July 2010
If you have not got the highway men albums this is the one for you,with a collection of songs from there highway men albums put together on this one album. sadly we lost two of them johnny cash and waylon jennings so no more highway men albums enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Definitely not highway robbery, 27 Mar 2010
By 
Ian Williams "ianw" (Sunderland, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Better get this out of the way first. I'm not a fan of Country Music though I am a recent fan of Johnny Cash (an artist I consider to transcend the boundaries of genre) hence my buying this CD.

Super-groups have a tendency to be less than the sum of their individual parts for a variety of reasons. Sometimes it's simply a mismatch. Sometimes the individuals concerned are trying to avoid standing on each others toes and the result lacks any edge. In this case it's a bunch of strong-willed but old buddies who know each other well and the result is a very polite recording, though they are clearly having fun. Each member sings a line or a verse in turn and then they harmonise on the chorus. The musicianship (don't know who played what or what sidemen were employed as there are no details provided on the minimalist inlay) is precise, skilled and tasteful, often moving from Country to Country-Rock.

The two best songs are the 1st and 10th which opened the respective original albums. Not being a country fan, I've no idea if any songs are standards (apart from Cash's Big River) or original to the albums or somewhere in between, but they're largely enjoyable with good hooks. The vocals are all strong and impeccable -you wouldn't expect anything else- and the harmonies are more rough and vigorous but still good and no-one ever expected them to be Crosby Stils & Nash anyway.

The result, an enjoyable accessible CD that's well worth having -a steal at Amazon's current price- but does nothing much to convert me to Country.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 4 Oct 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this album with the reservation that it had a 'budget' tag and did not expect much. However, I have been pleasantly surprised. Good songs, good mixing, great performances and incredible value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews